PDA

View Full Version : Manifold Pressure on screen instead of Power %



MEGILE
12-14-2006, 10:29 AM
This was an idea I had months back, but forgot about it. I don't think I've ever seen it mentioned in ORR.

I think it'd be cool for the screen messages to display MP, like Boost, ATA, Inches etc. on the screen instead of a %. IMO it'd be more immersive if you have to concentrate more on power settings for the particular aircraft you're in, and it makes more sense.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img75.imageshack.us/img75/7683/starostauc4.jpg
If you see this man.... it's probably too late
Oleg - I was dreaming to make Meteor, but third party didn't make it finally (left unfinished)

MEGILE
12-14-2006, 10:29 AM
This was an idea I had months back, but forgot about it. I don't think I've ever seen it mentioned in ORR.

I think it'd be cool for the screen messages to display MP, like Boost, ATA, Inches etc. on the screen instead of a %. IMO it'd be more immersive if you have to concentrate more on power settings for the particular aircraft you're in, and it makes more sense.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img75.imageshack.us/img75/7683/starostauc4.jpg
If you see this man.... it's probably too late
Oleg - I was dreaming to make Meteor, but third party didn't make it finally (left unfinished)

PlaneEater
12-14-2006, 11:08 AM
You know, I really, really like this idea.

Count me in too.

Diablo310th
12-14-2006, 11:27 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/agreepost.gif a very good idea.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img54.photobucket.com/albums/v166/310thDiablo/DiabloSig.gif

Chuck_Older
12-14-2006, 03:09 PM
I just read the gauge

Capt.LoneRanger
12-14-2006, 04:16 PM
Does it make more sense? The percentage is a hint for where the throttle is standing, not for speed or something. For people without a seperate throttle I'd see some problems with that setting.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

greets
Capt.LoneRanger

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v411/Arcadiac/Lone1copy.png

FritzGryphon
12-14-2006, 05:16 PM
The throttle -is- a percentage.

0% is closed (idle) and 100% is open. 110% is when the throttle tries really really hard and gives more than 100%.

Akira_sama
12-14-2006, 09:32 PM
Really a good idea man!! especially "inch"!

Ugly_Kid
12-14-2006, 11:25 PM
It would require that MP output actually worked correctly for all planes - it does not. Nor is the behaviour MP vs throttle very correct anyway - all planes act as if they had an automatic boost control,, which was not the case.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://www.f19vs.se/fokker_now.jpg

MEGILE
12-15-2006, 05:56 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Chuck_Older:
I just read the gauge </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

And a wise man you are chuck.
But for me, I find it difficult to switch views in combat, as I don't have TIR.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Capt.LoneRanger:
Does it make more sense? The percentage is a hint for where the throttle is standing, not for speed or something. For people without a seperate throttle I'd see some problems with that setting. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Why need a hint? Your holding the throttle in your hand, you know when you can physically go no further. I realize it would require you to be aquainted with the aircraft, but alot of these guys have been flying the same few planes for years.


<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content"> It would require that MP output actually worked correctly for all planes - it does not. Nor is the behaviour MP vs throttle very correct anyway - all planes act as if they had an automatic boost control,, which was not the case. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Agreed, it was more an idea for BoB.
I just figure, real pilots didn't think in percentages, they thought in power settings.

Similaraily... 100% means of available power, it is relative.
so 100% could be 75 inchs MP, or it could be 60, depending on the altitude your at.
Doesn't that mean more to you, than just.. 100%.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img75.imageshack.us/img75/7683/starostauc4.jpg
If you see this man.... it's probably too late
Oleg - I was dreaming to make Meteor, but third party didn't make it finally (left unfinished)

TC_Stele
12-15-2006, 10:53 PM
I'd like to see it that way too. Sounds like it could be a nice option the same way you can switch from metric to imperial. You could always just turn it off through the .ini file and rely totally on the gauges, the way it should be. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

=====================
http://img85.imageshack.us/img85/9899/il2siggx3.gif

Philipscdrw
12-16-2006, 12:22 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by TC_Stele:
I'd like to see it that way too. Sounds like it could be a nice option the same way you can switch from metric to imperial. You could always just turn it off through the .ini file and rely totally on the gauges, the way it should be. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
I'd like to do that, but I can't universally trust the gauges! How do I set radiator when there's no cockpit indicator of radiator setting?<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

------------------------------------------------------------
PhilipsCDRw

PF_Tini's Simple Guide to Switching 4.04m, 4.05m, and 4.07m. (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/7351046415)
Flying on Hyperlobby as EAF_T_Dozer

vocatx
12-16-2006, 09:12 PM
I've been flying HUDlog off for a couple of weeks now, and I really enjoy it. To figure out how hot too hot is for a particular engine, I intentionally over-heated it with HUDlog on, paused, and noted the temp.

Some aircraft have everything animated that you need, some are very lacking.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

4H_V-man
The 2nd Horseman

TooCooL34
12-17-2006, 12:17 AM
I like as it is now, % of throttle position.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">


=815=TooCooL

VMF-214_HaVoK
12-17-2006, 10:43 AM
+1 And this would also make it unique when compared to other sims. Superb idea.

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/agreepost.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v604/vmfhavok/theBlackSheep.jpg

VMF-214 The Original Black Sheep Squadron of the IL-2 series are currently recruiting dedicated and mature pilots. Visit us at http://vmf214blacksheep.com/

Capt.LoneRanger
12-17-2006, 12:25 PM
Megile wrote:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Why need a hint? Your holding the throttle in your hand, you know when you can physically go no further. I realize it would require you to be aquainted with the aircraft, but alot of these guys have been flying the same few planes for years. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

You know that not all players have a HOTAS??? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

With the same reasoning you can ask to remove the posibility to move your sight by keys, as everybody is using a TrackIR anyway and this is more real than the keyboard-movement.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

greets
Capt.LoneRanger

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v411/Arcadiac/Lone1copy.png

NonWonderDog
12-17-2006, 01:51 PM
I don't like this idea. If I pushed '9' on my keyboard I want it to tell me I've selected 90% throttle, not 41" MAP. I can always look at the engine gauges if I want to know manifold pressure. Manifold pressure varies with altitude, mixture, and RPM, too, so you'd never know how much more throttle you could give it if you used a keyboard!

I also really think the throttle text should be hidden when I'm using the throttle on my X-52. I neither need nor want it. I do need the radiator position printout and overheat warning because the visual radiator lever doesn't work in most planes and the temperature dials are wrong in just about EVERY plane, so I can't turn the hudlog off. "I know it's overheated when all three temperature dials are pegged, reading twice the redline, for over 10 minutes" just doesn't cut it.

I do so wish I could turn the hudlog off without blowing my engine up.