PDA

View Full Version : New Vid Card....a whole *new* FB



LEXX_Luthor
02-20-2004, 09:04 PM
Wow! I should have done this long ago. Gotta cheapo Working-Class Trailer-Park style Radeon made ATI~9200 to replace my Homeless-style Savage Integrated Mobo Video living under the bridge grafix lifestyle.

Went from a miserable 800x600x16 @ 12fps with moderate settings to a whopping 1152x864x32 @ 40fps over Kuban forest mountains with Excellent/Detailed settings. No AA nor AF don't need them at high res. Flying at rooftop level over Berlin fps drops to about 15fps but I never fly missions over cities I am impressed with the FB. Even before I was impressed but now... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif For you out there needing a cheap upgrade from Voodoo or motherboard video, 9200 works Awsum.

Who needs a 9800$ Ultra or a 5900$ Pro? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-happy.gif Well maybe someday when their equivalent can be found for less than 100$, maybe for BoB.

What happened to LOMAC?

I saw LOMAC on the shelf at a regular price of 29.99$ http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/icon_twisted.gif hahaha FB still Rules!



__________________
New Zealand's Cleopatra2525 Sunday mornings USA StarGate Channel[/i] (5-6 AM EST lol http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif )
http://www.xenite.org/exchange/standard/cleorenpictures.jpg (http://www.sf-fandom.com/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=19)

LEXX_Luthor
02-20-2004, 09:04 PM
Wow! I should have done this long ago. Gotta cheapo Working-Class Trailer-Park style Radeon made ATI~9200 to replace my Homeless-style Savage Integrated Mobo Video living under the bridge grafix lifestyle.

Went from a miserable 800x600x16 @ 12fps with moderate settings to a whopping 1152x864x32 @ 40fps over Kuban forest mountains with Excellent/Detailed settings. No AA nor AF don't need them at high res. Flying at rooftop level over Berlin fps drops to about 15fps but I never fly missions over cities I am impressed with the FB. Even before I was impressed but now... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif For you out there needing a cheap upgrade from Voodoo or motherboard video, 9200 works Awsum.

Who needs a 9800$ Ultra or a 5900$ Pro? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-happy.gif Well maybe someday when their equivalent can be found for less than 100$, maybe for BoB.

What happened to LOMAC?

I saw LOMAC on the shelf at a regular price of 29.99$ http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/icon_twisted.gif hahaha FB still Rules!



__________________
New Zealand's Cleopatra2525 Sunday mornings USA StarGate Channel[/i] (5-6 AM EST lol http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif )
http://www.xenite.org/exchange/standard/cleorenpictures.jpg (http://www.sf-fandom.com/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=19)

WUAF_Badsight
02-20-2004, 09:10 PM
& im glad for you

i got a very cheap Nvidia GF4 Ti4200 & it gives me 25 fps average but thats with max AA & AF

AA & AF do a great deal to make the game look better & my cheap GF4 gives fantastic Screenshots

LEXX_Luthor
02-20-2004, 09:17 PM
Ouch they say Nvida cards drop *alot* of fps with AA and AF but the ATI does not. I dunno. I will give those a try, but they also say AA and AF are bad for the aircraft dots. I dunno.

One reason I decided against the Ti~4x000 is to save a few dollars but mostly cos I like the washed out colours I had with my Savage video and I heard Nvida has extreme colours that don't appeal to me. I was hoping for a minimum of 1024x768 @ 15 fps but this just blew me away.

__________________
RUSSIAN lexx website http://www.lexx.ufo.ru/members.shtml
Stanly is a moron, kai is a walking dead beet, Xev just want sex.
:
you will still have FB , you will lose nothing ~WUAF_Badsight
I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait... ~Bearcat99
Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age ~ElAurens

TooCooL34
02-20-2004, 09:18 PM
Congratulations.

Anyway, lomac is like our brother. I mean..Lomac also need success not just for them but for us.
Let's not laugh at neighbor's misery. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif



=815=TooCooL34 in =815=Squad, South Korea

--Quick Spec--
WinXP Pro, AthlonXP 3200+, 1024DDR, FX5900XT 128MB, two SW pr2, TIR2

arcadeace
02-20-2004, 09:21 PM
Going this long with integrated graphics shows what a diehard enthusiast you are. Good for you Lex. I hope the new card keeps you satisfied as long as you desire http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/ah_222_1073167658.jpg

Tooz_69GIAP
02-20-2004, 09:52 PM
I was running with Intel Extreme integrated gfx on my p4 1.8ghz board with 256mb RAM. That was fine.

I got a 32mb Nvidia GeForce 2 MX 100/200 from a friend, and I can now fly on medium-ish settings (aircraft detaill on medium only, ground on lowest possible), and that is better. Far better.

I am looking forward to the next wee small upgrade. Little steps, hehe.

Tooz

whit ye looking at, ya big jessie?!?!

http://www.baseclass.modulweb.dk/69giap/fileadmin/Image_Archive/badges/69giap_badge_tooz.jpg
Za Rodinu!

LEXX_Luthor
02-20-2004, 09:56 PM
Well, I just tried flying at treetop level in a forested valley in the south Kuban map where the mountains are really tall and then I get a good 30fps from wide view inside I~16 cockpit with near and distant mountains in view...settings used below...actually I think its a bit below "Excellent." http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

-- 9 other AI aircraft +1 wingman were flying in the test FMB "mission." When I accel time the fps does drop much more severe than before, I assume because the CPU load from the AI aircraft drags down the fps.

But Me~262 muzzle FLASH gives much less fps hit now. It used to just freeze up for like 1/2 second.


TexQual=2 ---Exellent should be = 3 I think
:
:everything here = 1
:

HardwareShaders=0

Shadows=2
Specular=3
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=2
Forest=3
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=1
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=2
TexLandLarge=0

VideoSetupId=1


Don't know what drivers I am using, just the "Express" setup off the CD.

__________________
RUSSIAN lexx website http://www.lexx.ufo.ru/members.shtml
Stanly is a moron, kai is a walking dead beet, Xev just want sex.
:
you will still have FB , you will lose nothing ~WUAF_Badsight
I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait... ~Bearcat99
Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age ~ElAurens

p1ngu666
02-20-2004, 10:05 PM
get some later ones http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

http://www.pingu666.modded.me.uk/mysig3.jpg

WUAF_Badsight
02-20-2004, 10:11 PM
yes with AA & AF on the dots at long distance had harder to spot : (

Old_Canuck
02-20-2004, 10:30 PM
Good to hear about your enhanced visuals LEXX.

OC

"You don't stop playing because you grow old, you grow old because you stop playing."

Slammin_
02-20-2004, 11:39 PM
Man, thre are some really good cards out there for cheap $$$ these days and with FB, a good card makes a world of difference!

So many people blame lag on AAA or too many ground objects when in fack, the lag they are seeing is their own local video lag.

These days, a $100 video card allows you to turn up the eye candy quite a bit and get good fps.

SeaFireLIV
02-21-2004, 01:51 AM
Yea, I got a TI4200 and I must say it`s an excellent card considering its age. I don`t use AA or AF `cos of the FPS cost, but the visuals are excellent in 32 bit anyway and I`m really not THAT fussy about sparkling graphics (I want it to run well!)

Glad you upgraded Lexx, sounds like you needed it!http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

SeaFireLIV...

http://img12.photobucket.com/albums/v31/SeaFireLIV/wrestlearm.jpg
The Fights continue out of the Servers...

Menthol_moose
02-21-2004, 01:54 AM
most video cards will work fine, unless you select the dreaded "perfect" settings. A total frame rate collapse.

With a lowly FX5600 i get a nice 55 fps at 1024X768 on high settings

http://simpsons.metropoliglobal.com/fotogramas/2f13/09.jpg

Eh, mates! What's the good word?

Bearcat99
02-21-2004, 07:14 AM
I just gtot a 9800Pro on sale at CoimpUSA for $230 after a $70 instant rebate and a $30 mail in rebate bringing it down to $199. I had a 9500Pro.... there is a difference and Im not dissapointed... That was a good move Lexx.... although you should have tried to spring for a 9600 if you could have...more bang for the buck. I have had 3 Radeon cards...a 9000, 9500 and a 9800 Pro and I must say Radeon is great. I have a Ti4400 that I put inmy wifes box....its OK..but as far as I am coincerned..Radeon rules...

<UL TYPE=SQUARE>http://www.jodavidsmeyer.com/combat/bookstore/tuskegeebondposter.jpg (http://tuskegeeairmen.org/airmen/who.html)[/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>vflyer@comcast.net [/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>99thPursuit Squadron IL2 Forgotten Battles (http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat)[/list]
UDQMG (http://www.uberdemon.com/index2.html) | HYPERLOBBY (http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/) | IL2 Manager (http://www.checksix-fr.com/bibliotheque/detail_fichier.php?ID=1353) | MUDMOVERS (http://www.mudmovers.com/)

theknightsofni
02-21-2004, 07:53 AM
i have a ti4200 and performance aint that great, probably i run too high, but coz ive gopt a tft i like to run at 1024*768 or it looks pants

how do i turn off aa or af? i think ive got aa off but thats through gfx card options

bird_brain
02-21-2004, 08:05 AM
I accidentally upgraded from a Ti4200 64MB to a Ti4600 128MB when my card fried. I sent it in to NVidia and they sent me back a brand new 4600.
Unfortunately, I still can't get great frame rates on "Perfect" settings. I have thought about getting a 9800 pro to see if there is any difference, but I just turned down the detail instead.
BTY it is with a AMD 2000+ & 1 Gig of RAM.

http://hstrial-jyarbrough.homestead.com/hhsig2.jpg
**** The Hell Hawks Campaign is available @ ****
http://hstrial-jyarbrough.homestead.com/Files.html

VW-IceFire
02-21-2004, 08:16 AM
I put a Radeon 9200 in another one of my computers around here. (its an older system so it didn't need the latest) It cost me $80 and it was well worth it...ATI's been making some great cards for all sorts of purposes recently and the 9200 is a great example of that. Its not for the more die hard performance nuts like myself but its a great card to run as a stable platform for 2D graphics work and slightly older 3D games.

http://home.cogeco.ca/~cczerneda/sigs/temp_sig1.jpg
The New IL2 Database is Coming Soon!

Copperhead310th
02-21-2004, 11:54 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Bearcat99:
I just gtot a 9800Pro on sale at CoimpUSA for $230 after a $70 instant rebate and a $30 mail in rebate bringing it down to $199. I had a 9500Pro.... there is a difference and Im not dissapointed... That was a good move Lexx.... although you should have tried to spring for a 9600 if you could have...more bang for the buck. I have had 3 Radeon cards...a 9000, 9500 and a 9800 Pro and I must say Radeon is great. I have a Ti4400 that I put inmy wifes box....its OK..but as far as I am coincerned..Radeon rules...

http://tuskegeeairmen.org/airmen/who.html_vflyer@comcast.net_ http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat
http://www.uberdemon.com/index2.html | http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/ | http://www.checksix-fr.com/bibliotheque/detail_fichier.php?ID=1353 | http://www.mudmovers.com/<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Bearcat check you pt's

http://imageshack.us/files/copper%20sig%20with%20rank.jpg
310th FS & 380th BG website (http://www.members.tripod.com/tophatssquadron)