PDA

View Full Version : tubes queing - waiting tb loaded



matjoeban
04-29-2005, 09:33 PM
hy guys
i am finally starting to play this game properly ( at least i think so ) and found my first large convey. sank a couple of ships and wanted to save my tubes for the biggest mercahnt . when i go on weapon managment, i see the tubes there, but the fire buttons are red. if i go there with the cursor , it says to me that they are queing and waiting tb loaded. how long does it take?will they load or not?with the previous type of submarine i had, they were telling me the time needed to have the full load again.all the crew is set also for loading in the various comaprtments, so i think i did everything what i had to do ?
any comments?
also how do you guys attak the ships. first deck gun to slow them down and than torpedos, or the contrary?

matjoeban
04-29-2005, 09:33 PM
hy guys
i am finally starting to play this game properly ( at least i think so ) and found my first large convey. sank a couple of ships and wanted to save my tubes for the biggest mercahnt . when i go on weapon managment, i see the tubes there, but the fire buttons are red. if i go there with the cursor , it says to me that they are queing and waiting tb loaded. how long does it take?will they load or not?with the previous type of submarine i had, they were telling me the time needed to have the full load again.all the crew is set also for loading in the various comaprtments, so i think i did everything what i had to do ?
any comments?
also how do you guys attak the ships. first deck gun to slow them down and than torpedos, or the contrary?

Mylo42
04-29-2005, 09:56 PM
Mat,

I feel like an idiot giving advice as, I'm just a newbie at this thing too. Mind you, I'm sure to be corrected if I say something wrong.

As far a the loading of the torpedoes is concerned: (Red fire button means the tube is empty).

1) Have enough crew in the torpedo room doing the loading.

2) Don't be in "silent running" mode (loading torps makes noise so the crew won't do it if ordered to silent run.

3) Have a Weps Officer at his station so that you can check on the weapons loadout screen how the reloading of the tube is coming along. The crew will only reload one torp at a time (at least on my VII it's that way). When you put your cursor over the tube with a red number, it will show you time remaining until the torp is loaded. The other tube that is red (if there is more than one) will show "waiting in que" or something like that. This tube will start to reload once the first tube is finished. Of course, you have to have torpedoes available in storage that can in fact be loaded.

....That's about all I think there is to it.

As for attacking ships. I listen a lot with my sonar when a contact is established. I try to figure out which way the contact is going in relation to me by how the bearing changes on the sonar (it's all just guesswork really). When I think I have an idea how the contact is travelling, I will plot his course on the nav map using the ruler tool. I will then plan the best way to intercept the contact's route, trying to line my sub up on a 90 degree angle as well as get within 1000 metres. If everything goes right (big "IF"), the contact will come along as planned. I will get a visual on my periscope to confirm my target solution. When the ship is within the 1000 m or so, I let fly with a couple torps, for good measure. Again, everything working the way I planned, one of the torps will hit. If it doesn't sink the ship, I'll line up another shot with a torp to try and kill it.

To answer your question, the only time I will reveal my location by surfacing and using the deck gun (to finish off a crippled ship only), is at night and ONLY if there are no escorts around. ...but that's just me. I try and remain and stealthy as I possibly can. I don't feel the deck gun is modeled very realistically as it seems too easy to aim and hit things with it (there are a few threads debating this very issue).

...anyway, that's how I do it. Torps, torps, torps. Deck gun to finish off ship at night on calm seas.

matjoeban
04-29-2005, 10:01 PM
mylo
thanks a lot !
i think that the reason i can't load is that i should be in silent running!!!
can't wait now to finish work ( working in hong kong )lunch time now. heading home sonnest!!!
will follow yr advise as rgds to the deck gun/torpedo attacks!...who knows
thanks again

Mylo42
04-29-2005, 10:13 PM
Mat.

You did not understand.

You can NOT be in silent mode to reload your torps.

matjoeban
04-29-2005, 10:16 PM
yes i did . my english is maybe not among the best ones:-)
thanks again