PDA

View Full Version : Patch:: "...Landing on roads..."



XyZspineZyX
07-23-2003, 04:28 AM
The posted readme file said..."Landing on roads."

Would this include takeoff, for AI aircraft too?

Right now, the following aircraft, AI or Player, cannot start engines and takeoff outside of official FB airfields...

I~153
I~16
Ju~87
He~111
Me~262
He~162
Me~323
G~50
...and possibly several other non~combat aircraft.

Thanks.

XyZspineZyX
07-23-2003, 04:28 AM
The posted readme file said..."Landing on roads."

Would this include takeoff, for AI aircraft too?

Right now, the following aircraft, AI or Player, cannot start engines and takeoff outside of official FB airfields...

I~153
I~16
Ju~87
He~111
Me~262
He~162
Me~323
G~50
...and possibly several other non~combat aircraft.

Thanks.

XyZspineZyX
07-23-2003, 04:36 AM
LEXX_Luthor wrote:
- The posted readme file said..."Landing on roads."
-
- Would this include takeoff, for AI aircraft too?
-
- Right now, the following aircraft, AI or Player,
- cannot start engines and takeoff outside of official
- FB airfields...
-
- I~153
- I~16
- Ju~87
- He~111
- Me~262
- He~162
- Me~323
- G~50
- ...and possibly several other non~combat aircraft.

Heck in v1.1 test08 about 1/3 of the Me262 pilots cant start engines(s) and takeoff from official FB airfields either! In that they only get ONE started... Sad thing is that does not stop them from trying... and trying... and trying... to the point they decide to go 4x4 in the Me262s... Would be funny if it was not so sad! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif



TAGERT
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If WAR was not the ANSWER.. Than what the H was your QUESTION?

XyZspineZyX
07-23-2003, 05:06 AM
Heck that happens in 1.0

Maybe the official patch will be slightly better...

<center>
Read the <a href=http://www.mudmovers.com/sturmovik_101/FAQ.htm>IL2 FAQ</a>
Got Nimrod? Try the unofficial <A HREF=http://acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=4&sid=4870c2bc08acb0f130e5e3396d08d595>OT forum</A>

XyZspineZyX
07-23-2003, 05:36 AM
hobnail wrote:
- Heck that happens in 1.0
-
- Maybe the official patch will be slightly
- better...


Well... as you noted... BEEN that way for awhile... and *they* say test08 is near final and it STILL is that way... Hmmmm I think Ill have to keep my money on the 4x4 Me262 horse! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif



TAGERT
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If WAR was not the ANSWER.. Than what the H was your QUESTION?

XyZspineZyX
07-23-2003, 05:38 AM
Pappy took it off in multiplayer. Stop whining noobers.

XyZspineZyX
07-23-2003, 07:18 AM
spose you could always program the AI to start in the air but that rules out offline air superiority missions where the objective is to prevent them taking off

XyZspineZyX
07-23-2003, 07:31 AM
this needs to be fixed!!!!!!!!

HONK HONK HONK - TheGoose

XyZspineZyX
07-23-2003, 04:54 PM
Author: Flying_Merkava
Rank: Newbie
Date: 07/22/03 09:38PM

Pappy took it off in multiplayer. Stop whining noobers.

-- -- --

Ok. Thanks, man.

XyZspineZyX
07-23-2003, 04:56 PM
Seriously, though.

Some great missions can be designed, considering the extensive object list, of bases being made inside towns with appropriate roads to take off and land from.

The bouncy-ground affect on roads and railways has been toned down in beta08, but you still have to be creative if you want all humans to take off from an airfield.

AI CAN, but you have to place them extremely far away from an airbase, and it's hard to get "just right."

As far as the planes that can only START at an airbase, it would be nice to be able to place an object nearby that would tell the game logic that "starting the plane within this range circle is allowed."

XyZspineZyX
07-23-2003, 08:46 PM
-- Me~262
-- He~162

It is fair if these can't start anywhere but
an airfield, as they need external generators
to get the engine up to speed.

XyZspineZyX
07-24-2003, 01:41 AM
AaronGT wrote:
-
-
--- Me~262
--- He~162
-
- It is fair if these can't start anywhere but
- an airfield, as they need external generators
- to get the engine up to speed.
-
-

AFAIK the me262 actually operated from hidden forest strips a lot in the last days of the war. I assume they had some sort of starter on a trailer or half-track parked in the trees out of sight

XyZspineZyX
07-24-2003, 02:45 AM
- It is fair if these can't start anywhere but
- an airfield, as they need external generators
- to get the engine up to speed.

Where are the External FB Generators? Have we seen any in FB. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

For those of you who have witnessed a flight of four (4) Pe~2s taking off in formation from a flat valley in the extreme south~east corner of the Kuban map between mountains, you will appreciate the desire to have the more popular AI/Player aircraft not being limited to official FB airfields. This includes Ju~87 and I~16.

There was extreme use of visually guided ground control intercept on Eastern Front, yet it is not available in FB and FMB. But popular aircraft are confined to official FB airfields because of invisible FB external generators. Full Real. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Where are the External FB Generators?

XyZspineZyX
07-24-2003, 04:02 AM
AaronGT wrote:
--- Me~262
--- He~162
-
- It is fair if these can't start anywhere but
- an airfield, as they need external generators
- to get the engine up to speed.

huh.. figured a jet eng might (262), but 1st time I heard anything about an external generator being needed for a rocket eng (162)?


TAGERT
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If WAR was not the ANSWER.. Than what the H was your QUESTION?

XyZspineZyX
07-24-2003, 04:22 AM
ur talking about the 163 komet with rocket engine, the 162 is using one jet engine.

XyZspineZyX
07-24-2003, 04:57 AM
RoughReligion wrote:
- ur talking about the 163 komet with rocket engine,
- the 162 is using one jet engine.

DOH! Your correct, my bad! I stand corrected!



TAGERT
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If WAR was not the ANSWER.. Than what the H was your QUESTION?

XyZspineZyX
07-24-2003, 06:06 AM
IIRC, both the 162 and 262 had a little Riedel 2-stroke 'donkey' motor mounted on each engine (running on standard B4) which was used to spin the turbine(s) up to startup speed.
Presumably this obviated the need for any external ground compressor to fire up these birds.
Indeed, in FB one can hear the Riedel motor farting busily away prior to the turbine whine taking over.
Cheers.

<center>http://mysite.freeserve.com/Endodontics/ForgottenFighter/crikey!.jpg?0.9947684259733767

XyZspineZyX
07-24-2003, 06:11 PM
LEXX_Luthor wrote:
- The posted readme file said..."Landing on roads."
-
- Would this include takeoff, for AI aircraft too?
-
- Right now, the following aircraft, AI or Player,
- cannot start engines and takeoff outside of official
- FB airfields...
-
- I~153


The chaika I-153, needed "handpower" to start the engine, that´s why you can only restart the engine on homebase!

www.f19vs.tk (http://www.f19vs.tk)

http://www.gbg.bonet.se/bjorta/F19-Gazoo-IDCard-sm.gif