PDA

View Full Version : server rentals?



blkmgc
02-04-2006, 02:47 PM
Can anyone suggest any companies that rent decent dedicated servers for IL2 PF+FB+AEP?

blkmgc
02-04-2006, 02:47 PM
Can anyone suggest any companies that rent decent dedicated servers for IL2 PF+FB+AEP?

vanjast
02-04-2006, 04:40 PM
Be cheap, and run a server from your own PC
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

VFS-22_SPaRX
02-04-2006, 05:01 PM
there are no companies that rent IL2 dedicated servers. There is no way for them to automate and control access to IL2 dedicated servers. To start and stop an IL2 dedicated server, you basically neeed to have full access to the server it is running on. The only option you have is to rent a complete server and then setup a dedicated server on it yourself. These will run you anywhere from 60$+ a month.

blkmgc
02-05-2006, 05:59 AM
Are there companies out there that do this?

Tully__
02-05-2006, 07:38 AM
Numerous. Google is your friend. So is your local yellow pages / business directory.

blkmgc
02-05-2006, 11:13 AM
Now theres a helpfull no answer answer, thanks a heap dewd.(psst...why do you think I'm asking here? Google produced little to nothing for IL2 server rentals http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif )

Tully__
02-05-2006, 11:44 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by blkmgc:
Now theres a helpfull no answer answer, thanks a heap dewd.(psst...why do you think I'm asking here? Google produced little to nothing for IL2 server rentals http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif ) </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
As SparX said, IL2 specific servers aren't practical and wont be available. You want general server rental. Look for a server that you have sole use of and that has a nice fat internet pipe. You'll need to install either the game or the dedicated server software on your server and negotiate with the hosting company to have the appropriate ports forwarded through any security they run. If you want scripted DF missions you'll also need to install Server Commander or FBDaemon.

WB_Outlaw
02-05-2006, 02:22 PM
I rent a dual 2.8 Ghz Xeon Red Hat AS 4 server with 3 Gig of RAM from www.krypt.com (http://www.krypt.com). Don't get Linux unless you plan on running virtual windows boxes b/c there is no Linux version of IL-2.


--Outlaw.

BaldieJr
02-05-2006, 10:29 PM
I hosted on a win2k server at serverbeach and got lots of connection-related compliments.

www.serverbeach.com (http://www.serverbeach.com)

i dont use thier services any longer because i struck a sweet deal with an insider, but if i didn't have the hookup i'd be with serverbeach. they are good.