PDA

View Full Version : My Thrustmaster Cougar review

lbhskier37
02-23-2005, 07:18 AM
Well after 3 years on my X45 I decided the play in the handle has gotten to much for me. I noticed flying level was becoming impossible because the stick wouldn't center fully, I know I could have used some dead zone, but I feel dead zone kills your accuracy near the center. So with my big fat tax return check, I went in search for a new stick. I dismissed saitek because their driver support is horrid (I know, I was a driver beta tester for them). I needed a HOTAS setup so it was between a CH Products fighterstick and throttle, and the Thrustmaster Cougar. I had read a lot about the Thrustmasters durabaility problems, but after spending a bit of time on this site, http://cougar.frugalsworld.com/ I saw that all the of the problems could be overcome with a bit of work. Not wanting to work to hard I first looked at the CH setup. The stick looked great, lots of buttons and hats, good looks, would've fit my needs fine. But then on to the throttle. The CH throttle has lots of hats, but NO ROTARIES! I couldn't go back to no rotaries after my X45, I was spoiled by the nice prop pitch and elevator trim control I had. So that settled it, durability be ****ed I had to have a Cougar.

A week after placing my order at amazon.com this huge box arrived. They are not kidding when they say it is heavy. I'd say the throttle and stick together weigh close to 20lbs. The initial feel out of the box was impressive to say the least. All the buttons, hats, switches were metal. Everything had a feel of quality. Then when I began to work the stick I found my first problem. It was really easy to move the stick side to side or front to back, but combining the two movements was difficult. There seems to be a transition between the axis'. After a few initial flights I began to almost get used to this, after about a week of flying on it, I dont even think about the transitions.