PDA

View Full Version : torpedo question



Colwell1199
08-23-2006, 09:49 PM
-S- all.
My question is why does it defult to TI(g7a) torp? i know the g7e is the standard torp according to the info it gives. my next question is which is better? the g7a can have its speed changed, does that make a big differents?
I'm in 1940 in my career so they are the weapons i have. i don't know if there is another torpedo down the road.
Thanks,
-S-

Colwell1199
08-23-2006, 09:49 PM
-S- all.
My question is why does it defult to TI(g7a) torp? i know the g7e is the standard torp according to the info it gives. my next question is which is better? the g7a can have its speed changed, does that make a big differents?
I'm in 1940 in my career so they are the weapons i have. i don't know if there is another torpedo down the road.
Thanks,
-S-

Danelov
08-24-2006, 01:27 AM
THe G7a work with comprimed air and had a visible bubbles track in his way.Certainly had a good speed of 44 knts but can be spotted easily in good weather.The G7e is electric and dont had the vissible track but were only capable of 30 kts, his range of 5000 m was improved by 1944 to 6500 m.
Both torpedos are fair good , no so good like the Japanese,British,Russian or Italian torpedos ,but better than the americans torpedos of 1940-1942. For the choice ,night attack with G7a , day attacks with G7e , destroyers or escort attacks always with G7e.
Latter in 1942-1943 you have acoustic torpedos like the T5 Zaunk├┬Ânig for use againt convoy escorts or T-III FAT torpedos with programmed circle heading after initial straight one.

Goose_Green
08-24-2006, 02:28 AM
I never bother with any torpedo other than the original steam torpedo that was available from the start, it's speed is always a winner for me and I never engage targets any further away than 1000 meters so I never worry about the air bubbles leaving the wake of the torpedo - an obvious sign of an incoming torpedo.

For fast moving targets the T1 is the best - get the job over with due to it's 44kts speed!

The electric ones are very annoying as they run slower than their indicated speed and they never hit the ship where you want them to hit them and are more prone to malfunction.

Never bother with homings are the fancy FAT torpedos as my attack pattern and tactics don't match their design and usage.

Not sure if you know, but when you are in the modifications page listing all the bits you can add to your sub including changing your torpedo set up look at the bottom right hand corner opf the screen and click on the question mark. A chart will be brought up showing the availability of upgrades and their availability date - you can then guage how long you have to wait for your next available upgrade.

lecek
08-24-2006, 08:11 AM
I always use electric. I have even changed the default load of torps so that the steam is changed for g7e's as soon as 1940 comes around.

When I am in a convoy I can do things like sink 4 ships at the same time with 4 torpedos with high accuracy. I can't do this with steam. The ships would start to zig zag before I am done shooting.

I can hit even single ships with higher precision then I ever could with a steam simply because they don't even try to dodge the torp.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">
The electric ones are very annoying as they run slower than their indicated speed and they never hit the ship where you want them to hit them and are more prone to malfunction. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I am going to answer those mistakes in backwards order.

1) They are not more prone to malfunction. They are my favorite torpedo and I go several patrols in a row without duds. The duds I do have are all my mistake.

2) I always hit my ships exactly where I want. If I have 14 torpedos, I get 14 ships killed. C2's, C3's whatever. This is true right up until Victorys and Liberties come along because I don't know where to hit them.

3) They travel as advertised. The bug is in the TDC. You know if you load a new torpedo and the depth meter doesn't show you the correct depth until you cycle out and back to that torpedo again? The same bug exists for speed. You have to cycle the speed setting for the electrics before it updates. Only the T2 has that bug, once you get to a T3 it goes away. This is because the T2 defaults to 28.5 knots when the TDC defaults to calculate at 30.

NaKacu
08-24-2006, 08:47 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">why does it defult to TI(g7a) torp </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Well, feel free to edit the C:\Program Files\Ubisoft\SilentHunterIII\data\Cfg\basic.cfg

in there you will find sections similarto this one:
[SUBMARINE_AMMO#] (where # is a number)

then you will see lines like:

ForeTube##=0
ForeResIntern##=0
ForeResExtern##=0
ForeResExtra##=0
AftTubes##=0
AftResIntern##=0
AftResExtern##=0
(again ## is a number indicating the tube internal count)

The 0 indicates a T1 but you can change it to the desired layout to make it historically accurate.

1 indicates T1
2 indicates T2
3 indicates T3
4 indicates FaTI
.....5,6,7,8,9,10

You will have to set this for each submarine, for each year.... Here you can also set their availbilty date... Bit of work, but it is there for your enjoyment!


Have fun!

Ali_109
08-25-2006, 03:21 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Goose_Green:
I never bother with any torpedo other than the original steam torpedo that was available from the start, it's speed is always a winner for me and I never engage targets any further away than 1000 meters so I never worry about the air bubbles leaving the wake of the torpedo - an obvious sign of an incoming torpedo.


For fast moving targets the T1 is the best - get the job over with due to it's 44kts speed!

The electric ones are very annoying as they run slower than their indicated speed and they never hit the ship where you want them to hit them and are more prone to malfunction.

Never bother with homings are the fancy FAT torpedos as my attack pattern and tactics don't match their design and usage.

Not sure if you know, but when you are in the modifications page listing all the bits you can add to your sub including changing your torpedo set up look at the bottom right hand corner opf the screen and click on the question mark. A chart will be brought up showing the availability of upgrades and their availability date - you can then guage how long you have to wait for your next available upgrade. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/agreepost.gif
I posted a similar question not so long ago, and i took Goose's advice then, i have now swapped all my torps for the fast steam, and i have a much higher % rate of hitting the destroyers/escorts and the merchants, if you get a shot at a destroyer it's inevitably gonna be 400m - 1000m away anyway, and they will be moving anything from 9 - 30kts so with a slower torp it's virtually impossible to get a hit. Also, at least you can switch the speed depending on your target, so they are a good all rounder, and of course it doesn't eat your renown.
With this config i am finally getting very close to the 100k club http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

mariuszj1939
08-25-2006, 04:24 AM
I load usually 50/50 steam and electric torps and use them like this :

in the beginning of War - all type except day attact against convoys (agree with lecek expanation) and port raids

after '41 - T1 at night attacts only