PDA

View Full Version : Removing AE/FB/PF?



doghouse1962
01-25-2008, 08:35 AM
Hello everyone, I have, what I hope is, a simple question, with an obvious answer. I have just installed the downloaded version of Il-2 1946 and it of course includes every thing from AE/FB/PF. Am I able to uninstall the my previous AE/FB/PF merged disk version and just run 1946? They do not rely on each other to run, correct? The Il-2 1946 IS a complete standalone right? Just had to ask before I do something I might regret.

doghouse1962
01-25-2008, 08:35 AM
Hello everyone, I have, what I hope is, a simple question, with an obvious answer. I have just installed the downloaded version of Il-2 1946 and it of course includes every thing from AE/FB/PF. Am I able to uninstall the my previous AE/FB/PF merged disk version and just run 1946? They do not rely on each other to run, correct? The Il-2 1946 IS a complete standalone right? Just had to ask before I do something I might regret.

dbillo
01-25-2008, 09:04 AM
Right, 1946 intalls completely separately. You can verify that in Explorer by looking for the separate folders of your old FB+AEP+PF and the new IL-2 Sturmovik 1946.

RAAF_Furball
01-25-2008, 09:29 AM
You may want to copy whatever settings, missions etc you want from the previous version:

- rcu file ==> http://raafsquad.com/msgbrd/viewtopic.php?t=410
- doe/settings.ini (keyboard/joystick config)
- missions

and maybe:
- any unique skins (don't overwrite new ones of same name) from paintschemes/skins
- console.cmd (chat history)
- compare your old & new conf.ini files to see if there's anything worthwhile copying across

doghouse1962
01-25-2008, 09:44 AM
Hi RAAF_Furball
Thanks for the information. I am having a different problem though. I am unable to access the internet and emails when Il-2 1946 is installed. I have removed BOTH sims (AEP/FB/PF and Il-2 1946) and have the internet and email back. Very strange to say the least? I am attempting to just re-install Il-2 1946 only to see if this fixes the accessablity and try it again. Will post a my results...

doghouse1962
01-25-2008, 10:40 AM
Well, this is strange. I have completely removed AEP/FB/PF and the Il-2 1946 from the computer. Access to internet is normal. I installed the Il-2 1946 setup that I downloaded and ran the sim. No problems. (Flight dynamics are greatly improved by the way, great Sim.) I quit the sim as normal and could not access internet. I uninstalled the Il-2 1946 and access is normal. I had to un-install it to get on this forum. ?? I am out of my league here. Any ideas? As a side note, what started this all was during the first run of the Il-2 I tried to access multiplayer and it shut down ???

doghouse1962
01-25-2008, 01:43 PM
Update; I have used 'selective start up' on the MSCONFIG menu and that seems to , so far, solved the problem. I have run the Sim a few times now and am still able to access other computer funtions normally. The Ubisoft.com site has excellent support. They were very helpful.

RAAF_Furball
01-25-2008, 09:21 PM
OK, your question has changed and your current solution appears to be a temporary workaround, rather than a fix.

If my straw-clutching suggestions (below) don't work, I recommend you create a new Topic in the Community Help Forum with a title that better describes your current problem. That will attract appropriate viewers / problem solvers.

===============================

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">I am unable to access the internet and emails when Il-2 1946 is installed. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>That is indeed, very strange.

Perhaps what you chose to not run using 'selective start up' can pinpoint the cause of the problem?

Does il2fb.exe remain running after you close the game? Try stopping it via Task Manager.

With one or both sims installed, is everything OK after a reboot perhaps?

Here are some links for you to review:

- http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/49310655/m/8511076645

- http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/49310655/m/928...281010155#9281010155 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/49310655/m/9281010155?r=9281010155#9281010155)

The game will crash to the Desktop from time to time (very occasionally in my case). I can't help you there.

GL
Fur