PDA

View Full Version : Buggy IL2 1946



willsim1946
04-18-2007, 11:04 AM
I recently installed IL2 1946. I have been playing IL2 with Pacific Fighters add on for several years and didn't uninstall it as I didn't want to lose the hundreds of missions that I have completed. Since installing IL2 1946 it has been buggy. The most obvious problem is losing the aircraft icons after a few missions. I have uninstalled the game twice and the same thing happens. Do I have to uninstall the previous game to get IL2 1946 to work correctly?

willsim1946
04-18-2007, 11:04 AM
I recently installed IL2 1946. I have been playing IL2 with Pacific Fighters add on for several years and didn't uninstall it as I didn't want to lose the hundreds of missions that I have completed. Since installing IL2 1946 it has been buggy. The most obvious problem is losing the aircraft icons after a few missions. I have uninstalled the game twice and the same thing happens. Do I have to uninstall the previous game to get IL2 1946 to work correctly?

FluffyDucks2
04-18-2007, 12:50 PM
You lost the icons? only way that happens is if you either select NO ICONS or you have mapped a key to toggle the icons... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif

Maybe you should RTM...http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif

I would, however refrain from calling the game BUGGY because it ISN'T http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/disagree.gif

FoolTrottel
04-18-2007, 01:36 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Do I have to uninstall the previous game to get IL2 1946 to work correctly? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
No need to do that.

Better yet, make good use of that install, by copying the Users\Doe\Settings.ini file from PF to the same folder in the 1946 install. (Better make a backup copy of the 1946 Users\ folder first)

This way all key settings you've assigned in PF will be taken from 1946.
(Might not be 'Doe' in case you've created new pilots http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif)

Me thinks the missing Icon problem may be fixed this way too, as FluffyDucks2 indicated...

Have Fun!

WWSensei
04-19-2007, 07:33 AM
No way for icons to just "disappear" once you start a campaign. Almost certainly you have mapped a key for toggling the icon types and you are hitting that key while flying. The bug isn't in the software but in you. ;-)

willsim1946
04-19-2007, 12:57 PM
Your right about the icons. Yesterday after posting I sat down and started working on some of the issues such as sound problems and I think I've solved most of them. Thanks