PDA

View Full Version : IL_2 crashes stutters bad



misgav
11-29-2004, 02:58 PM
I reinstalled IL-2 after a o/s upgrade ( no patch installed yet).
One install option was the DirectX 8.0, to which I said no. I thought I have DirectX 9 pont something (how does one check this?)
In the hardware options I chose Open GL, thinking the DirectX was invalid.
After loading the game, the mouse was moving with a real slow stutter, and so were the graphics.
I never had this problem before on my previuos system.
Help!
Eytan Ornstein
old specs:
windows 2000 pro
the rest same as below.

new specs:
P4 2.4GHZ
GeForce 2 MX 200 64MB
512DDR
Sound Blaster 128 sound card
30GB hd
Windows XP

misgav
11-29-2004, 02:58 PM
I reinstalled IL-2 after a o/s upgrade ( no patch installed yet).
One install option was the DirectX 8.0, to which I said no. I thought I have DirectX 9 pont something (how does one check this?)
In the hardware options I chose Open GL, thinking the DirectX was invalid.
After loading the game, the mouse was moving with a real slow stutter, and so were the graphics.
I never had this problem before on my previuos system.
Help!
Eytan Ornstein
old specs:
windows 2000 pro
the rest same as below.

new specs:
P4 2.4GHZ
GeForce 2 MX 200 64MB
512DDR
Sound Blaster 128 sound card
30GB hd
Windows XP

Herr_Rausch
11-29-2004, 09:43 PM
Thats is probably a video driver issue, and I suspect an openGL driver.

Things you can check:

Run IL2 config and make sure you have your V-card's proper driver selected. Having the wrong driver sected is cause of 90% of the stutters.

You may also want to try directx and see how that works.

And finally, update update update. Get WinXP service pack2 installed, and check the Nvidia site for updated drivers.

good luck.

tHeBaLrOgRoCkS
11-29-2004, 09:52 PM
you could also try this

Click on start bar

Then run

In the field marked open type dxdiag this should analize your direct x configuration and highlight any problems there may be with your direct x configuration

if there is nothing obvious wrong then save the report and try posting it in the technical help forum. Maybe one of the guys in there can help ?