PDA

View Full Version : Where Does the Map End?



maddog41
09-12-2006, 10:04 PM
I'm in the proccess of flying fully laden B-29 w/100% fuel till it runs out of gas. It's well off the map by now and cruising on Level Stabilizer.

FritzGryphon
09-12-2006, 11:05 PM
I tried it out, and it seems the map never ends.

I opened the mission file and set my airplane position to be 2 trillion meters X and 2 trillion Y, and the game still works fine. A whole lotta water (Crimea map).

The RoF only affects the ships reload times. To sink a ship in the least number of torpedos, you should make them all hit the same area of the hull. The hull is divided into 3 damage sections, front middle and rear. Left and right don't matter.

Treetop64
09-12-2006, 11:51 PM
Bro, while I understand the questions asked, I'm not exactly gettin' the point of your poll. You got questions in your main text, then there are more questions to select in the poll.

Where's this goin? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

zbw_109
09-13-2006, 03:43 AM
The map ends in Oleg's office http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif

Kamikaze_239
09-13-2006, 12:43 PM
HOW THE BEEP DID YOU GET THAT B29?!?!?!

Can you say where/how you get that plane?

P.S. did you put on the "unlimited fuel" function? then you can fly forever http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

SuperFudd
09-13-2006, 10:34 PM
If it is like FS-1, you can fly off to the west leaving the islands far behind and eventually aproach the islands from the east.

staticline1
09-14-2006, 03:17 PM
Originally posted by maddog41:
I'm in the proccess of flying fully laden B-29 w/100% fuel till it runs out of gas. It's well off the map by now and cruising on Level Stabilizer.

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

Exactly how did you manage to acquire a B-29 for yourself? Either you don't know what a superfortress is or you are admitting to hacking someone's pc or software. cough cough Oleg's. Any secrets you would like to divulge here? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/halo.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

NonWonderDog
09-14-2006, 03:34 PM
I belive it used to be possible to fly AI-only planes in external view mode in a one player "coop" game, running it on a closed server on your own computer. You had to add an AI plane that you wanted to fly and somehow transfer over to that plane. I never knew the specifics, and I don't know if this is still possible.

At least, I think that's how it was done. There was something about it on these forums a few years back.

VW-IceFire
09-14-2006, 04:03 PM
Originally posted by staticline1:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by maddog41:
I'm in the proccess of flying fully laden B-29 w/100% fuel till it runs out of gas. It's well off the map by now and cruising on Level Stabilizer.

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

Exactly how did you manage to acquire a B-29 for yourself? Either you don't know what a superfortress is or you are admitting to hacking someone's pc or software. cough cough Oleg's. Any secrets you would like to divulge here? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/halo.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
This is a REALLY old trick but in dogfight servers online you can enable AI planes to be part of the flyable list. There is no cockpit, stuff doesn't always work properly, flying them is sometimes funny (for instance the Tu-2 will spin around in one place with the engines on regardless of what you try and do), but it works.

You have to select a flyable plane first...then hit refly, select one of the AI types, and fly it externally. And don't even think about asking about making that available everywhere...we tried...the developer is not interested in doing that. So it remains a nice little hack online. But nothing more. And to be frank I think thats ok.

Bearcat99
09-14-2006, 08:52 PM
What I would like to see is a few transition maps..... say... One desert, one water, one summer land, one winter land. I dont know how feasable it would be to have maps auto load.. but at least with a transition map you could go from one map to another.. and simulate long missions if you wanted to. It wouldnt matter if you are connecting say Smolensk with Ardennes... but you would have the ability to connect maps. I realize that to make full scale maps for this sim would drag any machine to it's knees.... the down low stuff is just to good.. but just like in the beginning I had to simulate B-17s with Pe-8s..... if we could at least simulate larger maps it would be great. The transition maps would be just land..... no trees... no hills.. nothing but flat land.. or water.... I dont know how doable that is.. but it would be nice... since it seems that they do go on forever... something is rewriting in there....

Just a thought..... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif

LEXX_Luthor
09-14-2006, 11:48 PM
Bear::
I realize that to make full scale maps for this sim would drag any machine to it's knees....
The infinite size of the maps hints that this may not be true. If you could delete the 450,000 Building Objects from the tiny area inside Lenningrad city, on the Gulf Of Finland map, the very large 400km map would load and play as smoothly as any small map.

The reason for doing this is that very large maps will offer lots of possibilities of flying long range missions that never come near a PC memory eating city. I always suggested that Oleg releace very large 1000km or so maps but "simplified" and more or less free of Building Objects and airfields, where the mission builders can place objects in places where needed for the mission or series of missions. We recieved a less than enthusiastic response from the map dev team members who, it turned out, later used that very method in the Kurland map, with Building Objects only in a small box at the map center, leaving the majority of the map having NO Building Objects, which is good, but also NO airfields, historically researched correct or otherwise, outside the dogfight box, which is a disaster that left half or more of the map area wasted and unplayble. If we could mod, skin, and place our own airfields, this would not be a problem. Perhaps, we can do this for BoB And Beyond.

staticline1
09-15-2006, 02:00 PM
Originally posted by VW-IceFire:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by staticline1:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by maddog41:
I'm in the proccess of flying fully laden B-29 w/100% fuel till it runs out of gas. It's well off the map by now and cruising on Level Stabilizer.

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

Exactly how did you manage to acquire a B-29 for yourself? Either you don't know what a superfortress is or you are admitting to hacking someone's pc or software. cough cough Oleg's. Any secrets you would like to divulge here? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/halo.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
This is a REALLY old trick but in dogfight servers online you can enable AI planes to be part of the flyable list. There is no cockpit, stuff doesn't always work properly, flying them is sometimes funny (for instance the Tu-2 will spin around in one place with the engines on regardless of what you try and do), but it works.

You have to select a flyable plane first...then hit refly, select one of the AI types, and fly it externally. And don't even think about asking about making that available everywhere...we tried...the developer is not interested in doing that. So it remains a nice little hack online. But nothing more. And to be frank I think thats ok. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Did not know that, kind of cool.

Eagle1_Division
09-16-2006, 04:57 PM
if they make it so u cant do that then they will probolly be the biggest idiots ever seen, being able to fly "AI" planes is great. y would they try to make it so this is impossible. Whats the point of making it so u cant fly some planes anyways? Im making a large number of B17 maps. I find it very odd that they actually fight flying AI planes by doing the "plane has no cockpit" thing. im a big supporter of flying AI planes, y not? Flying ai planes opens 60% more possibilities. Though im very happy with what u can fly, its odd that there is anything ur not supposed i think.

ive felt like this ever since i got the game. and it is a great game.

sudoku1941
09-16-2006, 08:05 PM
Answer: usually, far short of where the borders need to be to simulate the campaign on a given map.

See the Burma Map thread for more evidence to support that. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Bearcat99
09-18-2006, 07:24 AM
Originally posted by LEXX_Luthor:
Bear:: <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">I realize that to make full scale maps for this sim would drag any machine to it's knees....
The infinite size of the maps hints that this may not be true. If you could delete the 450,000 Building Objects from the tiny area inside Lenningrad city, on the Gulf Of Finland map, the very large 400km map would load and play as smoothly as any small map.

The reason for doing this is that very large maps will offer lots of possibilities of flying long range missions that never come near a PC memory eating city. I always suggested that Oleg releace very large 1000km or so maps but "simplified" and more or less free of Building Objects and airfields, where the mission builders can place objects in places where needed for the mission or series of missions. We recieved a less than enthusiastic response from the map dev team members who, it turned out, later used that very method in the Kurland map, with Building Objects only in a small box at the map center, leaving the majority of the map having NO Building Objects, which is good, but also NO airfields, historically researched correct or otherwise, outside the dogfight box, which is a disaster that left half or more of the map area wasted and unplayble. If we could mod, skin, and place our own airfields, this would not be a problem. Perhaps, we can do this for BoB And Beyond. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Thats my point with the transition maps.... I am talking about fully populated accurate large maps ala the MS series.. something like that in this series would bring most rigs to thier knees... but if you could have transition maps to connect different maps...... even if it werent 100% accurate.. ypou could still simulate large scale missions... ad it wouldnt be so boring with nothing but land bebeath you.

sudoku1941
09-18-2006, 11:39 AM
You're onto something here...

the concept of some kind of transition map could solve some of the problems with "postage stamp maps", especially in the Pacific...

bird_brain
09-18-2006, 03:40 PM
After you fly off the end of a map, the last ground texture tiles repeat into infinity.

My only question is... what's on the Coral Sea map in the positive coordinates? I'm thinking "The Slot" has been there this whole time, waiting to be discovered by some enterprising soul in a B-29 with a 3/4 tank of gas. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

LEXX_Luthor
09-18-2006, 06:52 PM
Bear::
Thats my point with the transition maps.... I am talking about fully populated accurate large maps ala the MS series.. something like that in this series would bring most rigs to thier knees... but if you could have transition maps to connect different maps...... even if it werent 100% accurate.. ypou could still simulate large scale missions... ad it wouldnt be so boring with nothing but land bebeath you.
Aussom thinking Bear. They would have to make the transition maps, but they could be thin vertical or horizontal strips perhaps, and so not very large. Nor would they have to be very populated with terrain or building objects, as you soon fly onto the next "real" map. This would require some programming changes, and that means its probably to late for this sim.