PDA

View Full Version : Advice needed on how to fight with the jug.

Airmail109
10-21-2005, 04:10 PM
Ive always liked the look of P47s but ive never managed to tame them. I fly P51s a lot, energy fighting and bnzing with them. In the jug though i find myself bleeding E which I wouldnt in the P51...it just feels ungainly. I really want to get somewhere with this plane. My interest was boosted by the addition of the P47 late.....and the fact that I screamed into a furball at 600mph from 25000 feet to 9000 feet...and it DIDNT fall apart...as a stang pilot i was truly bricking myself in that dive...was expecting the wings to fall off at any moment! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif

Any advice on how to tame this bird would be great!

Airmail109
10-21-2005, 04:10 PM
Ive always liked the look of P47s but ive never managed to tame them. I fly P51s a lot, energy fighting and bnzing with them. In the jug though i find myself bleeding E which I wouldnt in the P51...it just feels ungainly. I really want to get somewhere with this plane. My interest was boosted by the addition of the P47 late.....and the fact that I screamed into a furball at 600mph from 25000 feet to 9000 feet...and it DIDNT fall apart...as a stang pilot i was truly bricking myself in that dive...was expecting the wings to fall off at any moment! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif

Any advice on how to tame this bird would be great!

Grey_Mouser67
10-21-2005, 04:32 PM
It is B&Z all the way...or keep it high.

the early model 47's out speed all unboosted 109's so feel free to engage and disengage at will....but, if there are Fw's around you are dead meat! Don't fight against Fw's below 20K or B&Z them...I doubt you can out turn them either...but I haven't tested with new patch.