PDA

View Full Version : Is every SINGLE patch needed after reinstall from scrath?



dvergur
12-29-2004, 03:52 PM
Hi all

I have one nagging question.

I have been flying IL2sturmovik + all the addons since early 2002. I have bought every addon and downloaded every patch relevant to my installation, and have never had ANY installation problem. I am flying (irregularly) on HyperLobby and have patch 3.03m.

Two weeks ago I helped a friend of mine who got bitten by the "sturmo" bug. He bought all the packs and then I helped him install the whole lot, patches and all.
All the installation took about 7 hours!!! with testing between patches to make sure everything worked right, and setup of HyperLobby.

I shudder at the thought if my PC=Laptop crashes badly requiring a rinstall of IL2sturmo, this is a lot of work of setting up from A-Z http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-mad.gif

...And finally the question:

How important are ALL the patches inbetween CD-packs (FB, AEP, PF)? Must they be loaded to:

A) have all the goodies, planes effects, maps, missions, bug fixes

and/or

B) only needed to be able to play online ?

Of course we don´t want to lose some features due to missing patch ? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

I know, that at least to be able to fly online we have to have the current patches or at least the right patch to fly on our favorite server.

p.s. I currently use a Medion AMD @1900MHz (Duron equivalent) Laptop, 512DDR RAM, ADSL 1024 up/384 down, 17" CRT Monitor + external keyb+mouse, works surprizingly well http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

I have not seen a post about this but I might have missed it.

Sorry if this is too long-winded.

C6 !

HL name: yamit

dvergur
12-29-2004, 03:52 PM
Hi all

I have one nagging question.

I have been flying IL2sturmovik + all the addons since early 2002. I have bought every addon and downloaded every patch relevant to my installation, and have never had ANY installation problem. I am flying (irregularly) on HyperLobby and have patch 3.03m.

Two weeks ago I helped a friend of mine who got bitten by the "sturmo" bug. He bought all the packs and then I helped him install the whole lot, patches and all.
All the installation took about 7 hours!!! with testing between patches to make sure everything worked right, and setup of HyperLobby.

I shudder at the thought if my PC=Laptop crashes badly requiring a rinstall of IL2sturmo, this is a lot of work of setting up from A-Z http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-mad.gif

...And finally the question:

How important are ALL the patches inbetween CD-packs (FB, AEP, PF)? Must they be loaded to:

A) have all the goodies, planes effects, maps, missions, bug fixes

and/or

B) only needed to be able to play online ?

Of course we don´t want to lose some features due to missing patch ? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

I know, that at least to be able to fly online we have to have the current patches or at least the right patch to fly on our favorite server.

p.s. I currently use a Medion AMD @1900MHz (Duron equivalent) Laptop, 512DDR RAM, ADSL 1024 up/384 down, 17" CRT Monitor + external keyb+mouse, works surprizingly well http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

I have not seen a post about this but I might have missed it.

Sorry if this is too long-winded.

C6 !

HL name: yamit

crazyivan1970
12-29-2004, 03:56 PM
It`s very simple:

Install IL-2 Forgotten Battles
Install Aces
Install PF
Install 303m

Done.

Cheers!

dvergur
12-29-2004, 04:12 PM
Thanks .Ivan.

This should clear it up for me.

Made a small mistake in the previous post, shouls say Athlon, and + Ati Mobilyti Radeon 9200.

Thanks again .Ivan. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif


Hl: yamit