PDA

View Full Version : Installing 4.09m



binky9
04-14-2011, 06:35 PM
I once knew how to do this correctly. But, am having a senior moment, I guess.

I have downloaded 4.09m, and have tried to install it. But, all that happens is that I get some sfs, dll, and readme files. They end up exactly where I want 4.09m to be. Not one of the files I know should be there shows up: bin, DGen, missions, conf, il2fb, etc.

What step(s)am I forgetting? Please help an old man.

binky9

binky9
04-14-2011, 06:35 PM
I once knew how to do this correctly. But, am having a senior moment, I guess.

I have downloaded 4.09m, and have tried to install it. But, all that happens is that I get some sfs, dll, and readme files. They end up exactly where I want 4.09m to be. Not one of the files I know should be there shows up: bin, DGen, missions, conf, il2fb, etc.

What step(s)am I forgetting? Please help an old man.

binky9

VW-IceFire
04-14-2011, 07:20 PM
Dumb question... have you installed the actual game?

The patch just contains the necessary pieces that were changed and new content. What you described sounds exactly like what 4.09 should contain.

binky9
04-15-2011, 06:56 AM
I have 4.07 and 4.08 installed. They work.

Now, given that what I have doesn't include files like the il2fb, just how the hell do I start 4.09m?

BTW, there are no dumb questions, AH.

binky9

Urufu_Shinjiro
04-15-2011, 10:45 AM
Um, if you have 4.08 working, then you have directed 4.09 to the wrong location. You need to extract 4.09 into your game folder.

binky9
04-15-2011, 11:10 AM
That's my problem. I think I have extracted it to the game folder, and all that shows up in 5-6 sfs files, the same number of dll's, a copy of the the 4.09m file I downloaded, and three readme's.

If I try to use that 40.9m file, I end up back at the same place.

I have extracted the file to chttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gifrogram files/ubisoft/il2 sturmovick 1946/4.09m. If the extraction is going some place else, where could that be?

Thanks for answering. I am at a loss as to what is happening. 4.07 and 4.08 extractions went fine.

binky9

blairgowrie
04-15-2011, 02:06 PM
Are you using the correct exe?

binky9
04-15-2011, 03:40 PM
The download came from mission4today, and it is not the skins file, which is part 2. I am not going to download it until I get the 4.09m file working.

binky9

willyvic
04-15-2011, 08:03 PM
Hello binky9,

When you say "extract" do you mean unzipping the file? If so, then the path you show is incorrect. There should be no /4.09m in the path.

We host a zipfile that contains the original 4.09m executable install. It can be had here:
http://www.310thtophatsquadron...p=viewdownload&cid=8 (http://www.310thtophatsquadron.com/modules.php?name=Downloads&d_op=viewdownload&cid=8)

I suggest you unzip it to your desktop then run the .exe file. Point it to your C:\program files\il2 sturmovick 1946 folder if that is where your game lives.(it is important that you send it to the right directory) After patching you can delete the desktop file.

WV

binky9
04-15-2011, 08:40 PM
willyvic,

I didn't have a file called Chttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gifrogram files/il2 sturmovik 1946, so I created one. I did have one called Chttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gifrogram files/ubisoft/il2 sturmovik 1946, which is what I have 4.07 and 4.08 in. Thy are in a subfile within il2 sturmovik 1946.

What you suggested gave me the same short list of files I mentioned earlier.

But now, I'm wondering if the problem is downloading the patch as a .rar file, rather than a .zip file. Could that be it? I will try it and see.

Thanks for the help,

binky9

binky9
04-15-2011, 09:40 PM
Well, that didn't work, either. So, I deleted all files having to do with 4.09m from my hard drive. I then re-downloaded your zip file, and put it on my desktop. I extracted it to c/program files/il2 sturmovik 1946. I ended up, again, with a rar file for 4.09m, a paintschemes folder, 4 sfs files, 4 dll files, and 3 readme files.

I then ran the 4.09m file, and got exactly what I had before.

I'd love to get past 4.09, so that I can move on to 4.10 and 4.10_1. It's either that, or stay with 4.08 forever.

binky9

willyvic
04-16-2011, 11:13 AM
Can you post a picture of your 1946 install showing your folder tree? It would help a lot. We'll keep at this till we figure it out.

WV

willyvic
04-16-2011, 11:57 AM
Perhaps the following can help.

This is what you should have on your desktop when you unzip the file. You should have only one file....the 409m.exe
http://310thtophatsquadron.com/Pics/help/Bhelp2.jpg

When you look at your install as it sits before you patch.
http://310thtophatsquadron.com/Pics/help/Bhelp1.jpg

If your destination folder is different than shown in the install panel then you must "direct" the patch to it. Check your current install path with windows explorer. Refer to above pic.
http://310thtophatsquadron.com/Pics/help/Bhelp3.jpg

binky9
04-16-2011, 03:10 PM
willyvic,

I don't know how to paste pictures as you did, but I can tell you that my tree is the the same as yours: C:\Program Files\Ubisoft\IL-2 Sturmovik 1946

Also, I'm installing to the same address as you.

But, my desktop zip file says IL2 4.09M, with no "exe" after it. ??? How can that be, if I'm getting the download from mission4today?

See here: http://mission4today.com/index...file=details&id=3764 (http://mission4today.com/index.php?name=Downloads&file=details&id=3764)

You're taking a lot of your time to help me, and I appreciate it very much.

binky9

willyvic
04-16-2011, 06:06 PM
A few basic questions binky9.

What operating system are you using? (example: WinXP, Vista, Win 7)

When you look at your install in windows explorer do you see the extensions? SEE PIC BELOW

http://310thtophatsquadron.com/Pics/help/Bhelp5.jpg


When you load your game what version does it report? SEE PIC BELOW

http://310thtophatsquadron.com/Pics/help/Bhelp4.jpg



WV

binky9
04-17-2011, 01:09 PM
WillyVic,

Last night, I decided to start from scratch, and re-downloaded 4.07m. Extracting and running gave my the same problem as with 4.09m.

I am pretty convinced there is something going on in my computer that is not "immediately intuitive to the most casual observer". However, I am changing to Win7, a new MB, extra ram, and a new graphics card in the next couple of days.

Hopefully, this may help.

I'll be back up and running in 3-4 days, so let's see if that makes any difference.

Thanks, once again for you kind attention.

binky9