PDA

View Full Version : Graphics card help!



AubreyWilborn
11-14-2010, 10:35 PM
Ok, this will probably be my last post on here for a while. Anyway, I was wondering if anyone could give me any recommendations for a new graphics card-one that would fit in my tower, that is?

I currently have a Geforce 9500 galaxy, and before that I had an ATI 7700. Anyway, I had originally bought an ATI 5770 HD, but the dang thang wouldn't fit in my tower! So I had to go with the 9500.

So, does anyone on here know of a graphics card that is BETTER than the 9500 GT, yet takes up the SAME amount of space in your tower?

AubreyWilborn
11-14-2010, 10:35 PM
Ok, this will probably be my last post on here for a while. Anyway, I was wondering if anyone could give me any recommendations for a new graphics card-one that would fit in my tower, that is?

I currently have a Geforce 9500 galaxy, and before that I had an ATI 7700. Anyway, I had originally bought an ATI 5770 HD, but the dang thang wouldn't fit in my tower! So I had to go with the 9500.

So, does anyone on here know of a graphics card that is BETTER than the 9500 GT, yet takes up the SAME amount of space in your tower?

tyman1122
11-14-2010, 11:45 PM
Get the "ATI RADEON 5970 HD"

bokeef04
11-15-2010, 04:42 AM
apart from being crazy expensive, i don't think it will fit, if the smaller 5770 doesn't fit no chance the larger 5970 fitting

how much space do you have to fit a GC? what is the max length, and can you have dual slot or only single?

if you can have dual slot, the GT-430 (http://www.nvidia.com/object/product-geforce-gt-430-us.html) might be the card for you, it's slightly smaller in length and width then your current card, but it is a dual slot, which you may not have space for

edit: nvidia list it as a dual slot, but all the pics look to be single slot, will try and find out more tomorrow for you

Razrback16
11-15-2010, 05:34 AM
I would recommend upgrading your case. If a 5770 wouldn't fit, you're going to be hard-pressed to find a card that will -- if the rest of your rig is up to snuff, just upgrade the case to a larger chassis. Once you do that, just pick up a used 5870 on ebay from a reputable seller (you can probably get one for $200 or so) -- I'm running a single 5870 on water and it handles every game maxed out. I play AC2 in HD at 1920x1200 with 16x Anisotropic Filtering & 8x Anti-aliasing with this card and would highly recommend.

AubreyWilborn
11-15-2010, 06:43 AM
Thanks for all of your help, guys. Bokeef-I'm pretty sure I only have a single space. So I guess a GT-430 would not fit.


@Razrback16-You play AC2 at THOSE setting?! That's amazing! I thought the medium-high settings I play the game on were great. I think I will try to upgrade my case.

Razrback16
11-15-2010, 06:52 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by AubreyWilborn:
Thanks for all of your help, guys. Bokeef-I'm pretty sure I only have a single space. So I guess a GT-430 would not fit.


@Razrback16-You play AC2 at THOSE setting?! That's amazing! I thought the medium-high settings I play the game on were great. I think I will try to upgrade my case. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Oh yeah -- the game looks like an HD movie. You will be so pleased when you're running these settings. What cpu are you running? I'm not sure how much load the game puts on the CPU. For reference, I'm running a Phenom II X4 955 with 4GB of DDR2 RAM.

caswallawn_2k7
11-15-2010, 07:26 AM
when you say it wont fit in the case, was the problem the height or the length of the card? as you can get the 9500 for a slim line case and if you did have a slim line case you need a specialist card and it will heavily restrict the cards you can get.

but actually telling us what the PC you have is and what the case is there is very little people can do to help you.

as for running AC2 on highest settings, a geforce 8800 could run AC2 on max settings without much problem so it doesn't take much to run the game on max.

but remember when upgrading from a Geforce 9500/9600, the 8800 is a more powerful card despite being the next generation down and the 8800 or 9800 would both be a considerable upgrade compared to a budget line card like you have.

also remember when upgrading space isn't your only limiting factor, some cards (more so the newer and top end cards) need an external PCIe power connector and can easily need more power than the power supply in most older PC's.