PDA

View Full Version : IL-2 1946 SLOW! on Vista 32-bit



IAMTALON
04-08-2007, 11:01 PM
ok i just got windows vista home premium and when i reinstalled IL-2, it goes VERY VERY SLOW. I even have trouble moving my mouse since it stops and goes if you know what i mean. so has anyone else had this problem and solved it?

IAMTALON
04-08-2007, 11:01 PM
ok i just got windows vista home premium and when i reinstalled IL-2, it goes VERY VERY SLOW. I even have trouble moving my mouse since it stops and goes if you know what i mean. so has anyone else had this problem and solved it?

Matz0r
04-09-2007, 04:42 AM
Does the game work in directx mode in Vista? Opengl is only layered through directx in Vista, reducing opengl game performance alot. IL2 was written for Opengl primarily although it does support some directx9 variant. There are rumors that graphics drivers that supports opengl natively in Vista is on the way.

Bearcat99
04-09-2007, 06:35 AM
I would piSS on an electric fence before I would buy any Windows OS before it has been out and running for at least 1-2 years.

stalkervision
04-09-2007, 06:58 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by F16_Matz_:
Does the game work in directx mode in Vista? Opengl is only layered through directx in Vista, reducing opengl game performance alot. IL2 was written for Opengl primarily although it does support some directx9 variant. There are rumors that graphics drivers that supports opengl natively in Vista is on the way. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


Open gl is slower and performs worse on vista. I use direct x and it speeds things up quite a lot..

stalkervision
04-09-2007, 06:59 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by IAMTALON:
ok i just got windows vista home premium and when i reinstalled IL-2, it goes VERY VERY SLOW. I even have trouble moving my mouse since it stops and goes if you know what i mean. so has anyone else had this problem and solved it? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

sounds like something is completly wacky.. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif My vista install works pretty well for Il-2... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

LEBillfish
04-09-2007, 07:02 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Bearcat99:
I would piSS on an electric fence before I would buy any Windows OS before it has been out and running for at least 1-2 years. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

OH!!...............I wanna watch http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

badatit
04-09-2007, 10:44 AM
The warmup
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YV8ZEvURgvM

Call the Myth Busters
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OjI_l2YbAb8

Swivet
04-09-2007, 11:07 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by LEBillfish:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Bearcat99:
I would piSS on an electric fence before I would buy any Windows OS before it has been out and running for at least 1-2 years. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

OH!!...............I wanna watch http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>



That would be funny.....http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif

MaxMhz
04-09-2007, 11:16 AM
Some things I did to make the mouse-freeze disappear:
start with same desktop resolution as game is set to, defragment the drive and use a good cache software. That solved it for me under WinXP SP 2 - I got this real ooold and slooow P4 1.7GHz 1GB DDR 266 (PC2100) system... I'm using O&O defrag Pro and CleverCache.

gx-warspite
04-09-2007, 11:35 AM
It's not the game's fault.

It's not Vista's fault.

Hardware makers just haven't made good drivers for Vista yet.

BillyTheKid_22
04-09-2007, 11:45 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif Cool!

Zonama
04-09-2007, 01:45 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Bearcat99:
I would piSS on an electric fence before I would buy any Windows OS before it has been out and running for at least 1-2 years. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

For some reason on the radio they had a guy pee on a defibrilator to see if he'd get shocked, but he didn't.


That said, http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/agreepost.gif

x6BL_Brando
04-09-2007, 01:48 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">I would piSS on an electric fence before I would buy any Windows OS before it has been out and running for at least 1-2 years. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Now that'd be an eye-opener! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif

Selling tickets? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

B

VW-IceFire
04-09-2007, 03:16 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by IAMTALON:
ok i just got windows vista home premium and when i reinstalled IL-2, it goes VERY VERY SLOW. I even have trouble moving my mouse since it stops and goes if you know what i mean. so has anyone else had this problem and solved it? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
We'll need to know the CPU, GPU, RAM, and associated drivers for your video card (GPU) to start...

PhxAce
06-16-2007, 11:35 AM
Hi, all:

I had major problems with 1946 and Vista, too. But Nvidia released new drivers for my GeForce 7800 GS on June 1 and now everything works beautifully. If you have an Nvidia card, check it out!

http://www.nvidia.com/content/drivers/drivers.asp

VW-IceFire
06-16-2007, 11:53 AM
Yep the latest drivers bring Vista performance on the same system to within 5 fps of the Win XP performance. A few games even run a tiny bit better on Vista than XP. Keeping in mind of course that you've got an appropriate system for the OS...if you're running something older then there is no way you should run Vista for gaming (or anything really). I think we'll see Vista take the performance crown by the time the quad cores become mainstream.

stalkervision
06-16-2007, 05:47 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by x6BL_Brando:
[QUOTE]I would piSS on an electric fence before I would buy any Windows OS before it has been out and running for at least 1-2 years. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Now that'd be an eye-opener! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif

Selling tickets? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

We could send his name in as a new trial for "mythbusters" even! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/partyhat.gif

Xiolablu3
06-16-2007, 08:34 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Bearcat99:
I would piSS on an electric fence before I would buy any Windows OS before it has been out and running for at least 1-2 years. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/agreepost.gif

Absolutely, Agree 100%