PDA

View Full Version : Total noob question...Vector and whatnot.



rockgardenlove
08-21-2005, 06:13 AM
What does it mean when they say vector # and hight # on the radio? I have no idea lol. Would soemone please explain the navigation? Thanks alot if you help.

rockgardenlove
08-21-2005, 06:13 AM
What does it mean when they say vector # and hight # on the radio? I have no idea lol. Would soemone please explain the navigation? Thanks alot if you help.

Moustacheo
08-21-2005, 06:37 AM
The vector is your bearing in degrees, i.e. 0 is north, 90 is east and 225 is south-west. The height is your altitude in thousands of metres, so 1 is 1000m, whereas 01 is 100m. Of course really 100m should be 0.1, but they don't say the decimal point and just say the 0.

rockgardenlove
08-21-2005, 06:49 AM
So where does it say your current bearing?

Moustacheo
08-21-2005, 06:53 AM
There should be a compass in your cockpit, but this can often be obscured by things such as the stick. If so, then just look on the speed bar, your bearing is at the bottom.

rockgardenlove
08-21-2005, 07:22 AM
Uhh, Whats the speed bar?

VW-IceFire
08-21-2005, 07:54 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by rockgardenlove:
Uhh, Whats the speed bar? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Red text...bottom left side of the screen.

Zeus-cat
08-21-2005, 09:23 AM
Be careful with the headings and altitudes. If there is more than one friendly flight you could be hearing the calls for a different flight. I prefer to watch the guy in front of me.

Zeus-cat

rockgardenlove
08-21-2005, 10:32 AM
I dont see any red text though? I bound a key to turn it on and off but it doesnt work...any other stuff i need to know? My pilots bleeding and i need to knwo the vector to home base. So speed is important lol.

rockgardenlove
08-21-2005, 11:07 AM
Uh bump? Please? I know its early but i cant finish my mission without it.

FlatSpinMan
08-21-2005, 11:17 AM
It should be in the bottom left corner of your screen, even if you select Speedbar Off,the heading should still be there. Failin that, just look at the instruments. I run on 1280x960 or something and I can read the clearly enough.

rockgardenlove
08-21-2005, 11:19 AM
I am in a latewar yak and the instrument is obscured by the gunsight thing.

rnzoli
08-21-2005, 11:22 AM
Try hitting Shift + F1 to move your pilot's head away from gunsight. That could uncover the compass...maybe.

rockgardenlove
08-21-2005, 03:50 PM
I have it figured out...I had speed bar turned off in the campeign settings. Thanks anyways though