PDA

View Full Version : How to fly the Mustang

Sama51
12-26-2005, 09:40 PM
Of all the Red birds, the P-51 seems to suit my fancy. But being a very green pilot, I was hoping some seasoned vets could give me a few tips and guide lines to to increase my chances atleast somewhere above nil of survivng.

So... how should this bird be properly flown?

Sama51
12-26-2005, 09:40 PM
Of all the Red birds, the P-51 seems to suit my fancy. But being a very green pilot, I was hoping some seasoned vets could give me a few tips and guide lines to to increase my chances atleast somewhere above nil of survivng.

So... how should this bird be properly flown?

HotelBushranger
12-26-2005, 09:41 PM
With height for starters...thats about all I can give you at the moment http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/1072.gif

LStarosta
12-26-2005, 09:46 PM
As one wise man once said, be sure to press the G button after take-off.

p1ngu666
12-26-2005, 09:50 PM
fly a razerback (b/c/MKIII) there still wobbly, but less so.

try and keep the speed high, not get low (its really killer4u down low.

fly the MKIII if u can, thats the fastest plane in the game

or just fly a 190/p47 until the p51 hasnt got the handling of death

corvette93
12-26-2005, 09:57 PM
I fly luft, but have had enough run ins with P 51's, usually to my sorrow. Fly it high, 5000m at least and stay fast. If you go low, you will probably be in trouble.

Sama51
12-26-2005, 10:09 PM
So at altitude, how does it (not including the MkIII) contend speed wise against 190s and 109s?

neural_dream
12-26-2005, 10:10 PM
Sama51, the link under my sig will help you.

ColoradoBBQ
12-26-2005, 10:43 PM
The P-51 flies best between 3000 to 4400 meters for the first stage superharger and 6000 to 8000 meters for the second stage supercharger. At those heights, it is very competive against Fw-190s and Bf-109s since at those heights, speed (or energy) is more important than turning performance.