PDA

View Full Version : Why I don't play offline anymore

Grue_
06-06-2005, 01:47 PM
I started playing in a squad in 'realistic' online co-ops recently and I reckon it's the most immersive gameplay I've ever experienced.

Only problem is I can't play offline anymore as the AI drives me nuts.

I install the latest version of DCG, fire up a Battle of France campaign, jump in a Hurricane, dive on a Me-109 and shoot it down.

Elation! For about 2 seconds. Then the following scenario develops:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v458/flyingscampi/ai.jpg

A is me wheeling away
B, C, D & E are my wingmen chasing the burning 109 (B is firing wide of course because the 109 is banking).

They continue chasing the burning 109 until it explodes by which time the remaining 109's (F & G) set themselves up nicely to shoot my wingmen to bits.

I get involved and noone gets back to base.

Surely it can't be difficult to stick a line of code somewhere that says 'aircraft burning - do not attempt to shoot down'?

Grue_
06-06-2005, 01:47 PM
I started playing in a squad in 'realistic' online co-ops recently and I reckon it's the most immersive gameplay I've ever experienced.

Only problem is I can't play offline anymore as the AI drives me nuts.

I install the latest version of DCG, fire up a Battle of France campaign, jump in a Hurricane, dive on a Me-109 and shoot it down.

Elation! For about 2 seconds. Then the following scenario develops:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v458/flyingscampi/ai.jpg

A is me wheeling away
B, C, D & E are my wingmen chasing the burning 109 (B is firing wide of course because the 109 is banking).

They continue chasing the burning 109 until it explodes by which time the remaining 109's (F & G) set themselves up nicely to shoot my wingmen to bits.

I get involved and noone gets back to base.

Surely it can't be difficult to stick a line of code somewhere that says 'aircraft burning - do not attempt to shoot down'?

xTHRUDx
06-06-2005, 03:17 PM