PDA

View Full Version : Attention Hosts and Clients RE:Memory problems in PF

crazyivan1970
11-05-2004, 09:30 PM
Greetings all.

Here`s a small fix for memory consumption that occurs in PF.

1) Download file: http://airwarfare.com/Sims/IL2_PF/files/essentials/gc.zip

2) Unzip it into IL2 directory

3) When you start or join server type follwing in the console: f gc.cmd so it will look like this:

>f gc.cmd

It will clear memory structures during game play for server or client.

Cheers!

unclehubert
11-06-2004, 12:19 AM
I'm a newbie...does this apply to a person who is simply joining rooms? If so, where do i find the console to enter the command?

Thanks

crazyivan1970
11-06-2004, 12:35 AM
It`s good thing to have it if you play on the server that doesn`t rotate maps and you play on same map for over 1 hour

Troll2k
11-06-2004, 12:44 AM
Yes you have to do it everytime you enter a game.At least until the patch comes out.

You can enter the console in 2 ways.I think the easiest is shift+tab.Then at the > prompt enter the line.Then press enter and shift+tab to get back to original screen.

You can also enter from the chat window.Open up the chat box(~ key).Then type> and press enter.Then type in the line and press enter.Then press the backspace to remove the > and then exit the chat.

jasonburn
11-06-2004, 02:52 AM
Hi Ivan,

will this tool be usefull for offline playing also?

Thanks.javascript:void(0)

Willey
11-06-2004, 06:29 AM
So we have a memory leak in PF.

Willey
11-06-2004, 06:33 AM
This file just says GC 3 times and repeats it after an hour... so you can also just type GC in console every hour... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Willey
11-06-2004, 06:35 AM
Another hint that just comes to my mind. Open that "rcu" file with notpad and just add this line:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>@f gc.cmd <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
It will automatically run it when the game starts then.

Alexi_Alx_Anova