PDA

View Full Version : Crossfire still not working with 1.02



Club-On
05-06-2010, 05:32 PM
I don't know if any one get crossfire work on (like they say in the patch feature) but for myself, I have 3x 5870 in crossfire and the performance still better with one card even after patching at 1.02.
AC2 get his home crossfire profile I don't understand why this one don't have it especially when they say crossfire is supporting... strange.
So I just hope ATI will fix this soon with a new "application profile" for exemple... Or we can say goodbye to Crossfire or ATI biGPU cards in this game.....

If anyone have a solution?

Club-On
05-06-2010, 05:32 PM
I don't know if any one get crossfire work on (like they say in the patch feature) but for myself, I have 3x 5870 in crossfire and the performance still better with one card even after patching at 1.02.
AC2 get his home crossfire profile I don't understand why this one don't have it especially when they say crossfire is supporting... strange.
So I just hope ATI will fix this soon with a new "application profile" for exemple... Or we can say goodbye to Crossfire or ATI biGPU cards in this game.....

If anyone have a solution?

GuZZ33
05-07-2010, 09:58 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Club-On:
I don't know if any one get crossfire work on (like they say in the patch feature) but for myself, I have 3x 5870 in crossfire and the performance still better with one card even after patching at 1.02.
AC2 get his home crossfire profile I don't understand why this one don't have it especially when they say crossfire is supporting... strange.
So I just hope ATI will fix this soon with a new "application profile" for exemple... Or we can say goodbye to Crossfire or ATI biGPU cards in this game.....

If anyone have a solution? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
I use a radeon 5970 and i believe this card has a built in bridge type connection making it a type of crossfire gpu, in my honest opinion it's not a true crossfire setup. But your three seperate graphics cards are tri-fire.

Pre patch (before 1.02), i had maximum frames per second (framerate) of about 60fps at 1920x1080p- 16.9 aspect ratio - 8x antialiasing-16x anisotropic filtering-soft shadows very high and every other setting at high - hdr and the other settings on and vsync off.

Post patch (after 1.02 update)with the same settings as above, i now have a maximum of about 114fps, so there is a performance boost for sure.

I ran 2 instances of http://www.techpowerup.com/dow...Up_GPU-Z_v0.4.2.html (http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/1788/TechPowerUp_GPU-Z_v0.4.2.html) and both of the 5970 gpu chips were running at a max of 92% each. So the dual graphics card or some call the 5970 a crossfire card is working in splinter cell conviction.

You have a tri-fire setup, i'm not 100% sure but i think you can run three instances of GPU-Z and see for yourself if all three of your graphics cards are running full pelt in conviction.

You do need another monitor though so you can see GPU-Z in real time and monitor the speed and temperature as you game.

But you are right we have to wait for the next ati.amd drivers and application profile updates too, well that's if ati.amd driver team make a profile for splinter cell conviction?.

Club-On
05-07-2010, 04:16 PM
Realy????

My gpu usage during the game is about 40 to 45 percent, but never more for each core, I made the test allready....

You'r very luky man http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/winky.gif ... witch driver do you use?

I'm looking every where for a solution, but didn't find anything yet http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/compsmash.gif And I could remove one card to try a simple crossfire... no go.

zurv
05-07-2010, 07:10 PM
SLI (yes, no CF) isn't working for me.
3 way sli 480... only the first card is getting any use... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

GuZZ33
05-08-2010, 02:11 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Club-On:
Realy????

My gpu usage during the game is about 40 to 45 percent. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
92% was the maximum i saw the 5970 whilst running two instance of GPU-Z. The percentage fluctuated pretty much the same as any other game i played.

The point is though the 5970 dual graphics card is in action, its work load is being stressed on both gpu chips whilst playing conviction, but i don't know about two independant cards in true crossfire?.

This is in Windows 7 Home premium 64-Bit with all the latest updates and directX updates etc etc, 7 works brilliantly with splinter cell conviction.

Windows XP Home 32-Bit is a tad more troublesome for me whilst playing conviction, i get much less frames per second in win xp 32-Bit than win 7 64-Bit, and i mean 20 to 40fps less, and in xp 32-Bit i have the occassional connection drop outs.

Club-On
05-08-2010, 04:08 AM
I also have 3 gtx 285 in SLI and I found a way to force SLI with it so For u zurv I'v got this http://www.megaupload.com/?d=HTF77GPI put it in C:/ProgramData/Nvidia/ and in C:/windows/system32/ But even with 3 gtx285 the performance is bad in some map.

GuZZ33 do you have FPS drops to 35/40 FPS sometimes? Do you use the beta 8.74 driver?
I use 7 64bit too.

GuZZ33
05-08-2010, 04:18 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Club-On:
GuZZ33 do you have FPS drops to 35/40 FPS sometimes? Do you use the beta 8.74 driver?
I use 7 64bit too. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Oh yeah i have seen FRAPS reporting in real time framerate drops of around 28fps and i think i have seen a minimum of 23fps, this is on most maps/levels playing the main single player game.

I have a Radeon 5970 and using ati.amd's latest/newest official CCC drivers 10.4 and 10.4 application profiles.

Club-On
05-08-2010, 04:40 AM
Is it? so yes it's like me.... The problem in this game is the GPU usage in some map.
For exemple the Irak level I have 85% gpu usage on each cores in crossfireX setup, then in the previous level, with no reason, I have constant gpu usage drops to 35% on each cores during heavy fight.

If u get normal GPU usage of your 5970 in this game you should have never under 60 FPS at 1900x1200 x16AF x8MSAA, cause is not heavy game
and if my SLI of 3 GTX 285 beat your 5970 or my TriFire of 5870.... It means there is something wrong with Ati!

WE NEED AN HOTFIX! SLI still easyer to configure than Crossfire.
With his GTX 480 in 3 SLI and the profile I gave to him, ZURV gonna enjoy conviction better than us for now http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif