PDA

View Full Version : best energy efficient Airframes - WWII Fighter Design Developing

freakvollder
08-23-2009, 10:35 AM
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y274/gt_diesel/P-51D_Mustang.jpg
What makes the P51 Mustang ore Hawker Tempest so energy efficient? Is the Bf-109-wing-profile and airframe aerodynamic so much different? Are the Fw190s equal in this regard. Why are early war planes so different from late war planes?

Who has good information about this?

~S~

freakvollder
08-23-2009, 10:35 AM
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y274/gt_diesel/P-51D_Mustang.jpg
What makes the P51 Mustang ore Hawker Tempest so energy efficient? Is the Bf-109-wing-profile and airframe aerodynamic so much different? Are the Fw190s equal in this regard. Why are early war planes so different from late war planes?

Who has good information about this?

~S~

BillSwagger
08-23-2009, 11:28 AM
I'm no expert but i notice that many early war planes tend to have a steeper dihedral. This would allow for more stability in turns, but would also eat energy in other maneuvers.
So possibly having a flatter wing was more efficient for maintaining high speeds.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/D..._and_Dihedral_Effect (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dihedral_%28aircraft%29#Dihedral_Angle_and_Dihedra l_Effect)

Waldo.Pepper
08-23-2009, 11:41 AM
Google "laminar flow wing" and read up on it for part of the answer.

Also may want to look up "Meredith effect" (Ignore all returns speaking about Burges Meredith though.)

freakvollder
08-23-2009, 11:48 AM
oh thank you! very good tips!

R_Target
08-23-2009, 01:27 PM
In the case of the P-51, it's a pretty slippery plane for it's time.

VW-IceFire
08-23-2009, 01:36 PM
Another "slippery" plane is the P-39. It has a very low drag coefficient...I forget the number but its up there with the Mustang. It just doesn't have the power to make full use of it...

Kettenhunde
08-23-2009, 07:17 PM