PDA

View Full Version : Brand Spanking New

rebelpacket
03-03-2006, 10:01 AM
Hey All,

As the title suggests, I'm brand new to this game. I played the original IL two years and years ago. But I recently picked up Forgotten Battles, and I've been training my butt off on it.

I've been flying on as full real as I can get. The only thing I cant seem to play worth a darn at, is complete full real. (No icons above friendly or enemy planes). I'll jump into a training mission, and I cant see where any of the enemy is. And when I do find a plane and start closing on it, when I finally get close enough for guns, I find out its a friendly!

I've been reading tactics and air-combat techniques all day and night long, honing my flying skills (albiet with a more than a few flat spins after trying to do the "fulke wolf stomp".

Whats the "trick" to idenfiying enemy aircraft, and friend from foe? I'm running fairly high resolution (1600x1200, excelent graphic detail with OpenGL). Is there something I'm missing?

Thanks in advance!

p.s. I havnt started playing online yet, as I really want to get formation flying, and combat flying skills as good as I can, so I dont annoy anyone I fly with.

rebelpacket
03-03-2006, 10:01 AM
Hey All,

As the title suggests, I'm brand new to this game. I played the original IL two years and years ago. But I recently picked up Forgotten Battles, and I've been training my butt off on it.

I've been flying on as full real as I can get. The only thing I cant seem to play worth a darn at, is complete full real. (No icons above friendly or enemy planes). I'll jump into a training mission, and I cant see where any of the enemy is. And when I do find a plane and start closing on it, when I finally get close enough for guns, I find out its a friendly!

I've been reading tactics and air-combat techniques all day and night long, honing my flying skills (albiet with a more than a few flat spins after trying to do the "fulke wolf stomp".