PDA

View Full Version : How Do I Cure Game Lock-Ups?



e2michaelb
10-22-2006, 03:20 PM
My computer is of marginal capacity.When I get into a scenario with many 'planes, I am experiencing (1)lock-up, (2)image stutter or (3)crash-to-desktop, accompanied with an "error" message. Is it possible to deactivate the parachute function in order to free-up more memory, or do I need to reduce graphics resolution, or pursue some other fix? I am running 1GB of RAM, 2.6 Ghz Intel processor, 65 GB of unused memory and and a Radeon 256MB video card.

e2michaelb
10-22-2006, 03:20 PM
My computer is of marginal capacity.When I get into a scenario with many 'planes, I am experiencing (1)lock-up, (2)image stutter or (3)crash-to-desktop, accompanied with an "error" message. Is it possible to deactivate the parachute function in order to free-up more memory, or do I need to reduce graphics resolution, or pursue some other fix? I am running 1GB of RAM, 2.6 Ghz Intel processor, 65 GB of unused memory and and a Radeon 256MB video card.

FritzGryphon
10-22-2006, 04:11 PM
I think you should consider the possibility of hardware problems with your machine.

I've played FB with a rig as poor as a K6II 450 and a Voodoo 3, and it's always been stable.

Do you have problems with other games, or just this one?

x6BL_Brando
10-22-2006, 04:38 PM
The problems you describe may also be the result of excessive heat caused by inadequate cooling. You should check to ensure that all fans are dust-free and that case airflow is not impeded by untidy cabling. Check also whether you have enough case fans.
I suggest you post in the Community Help forum and include a dxdiag readout in your post.

Brando

SuperFudd
10-22-2006, 05:07 PM
Don't forget to clean the dust from the CPU, GPU, etc. cooling fins and fan screens.

Skycat_2
10-22-2006, 06:07 PM
Smaller maps help. Turning off background programs helps.

Parachutes, not so much unless you mean the gazillions of parachutes dropped by parafrags or troop transports when online. Try some other things. Set back the graphics settings below 'Perfect' and that will help some.

My video settings: (Go to Hardware Setup/Video Options in first menu)
Visibility Distance: High
Objects Lighting: High (not Excellent)
Objects Detail: Excellent
Landscape Lighting: Excellent (not Perfect)
Clouds Detail: Medium
* This lowers graphics but frees up CPU and memory

My sound settings: (Hardware Setup/Audio Setup)
Sound Engine: DX
Playback Channels: 8
Sound Quality: 22050
Speaker Type: Headphones
* I haven't noticed a difference in sound quality

DGen
Edit the conf.ini to order less planes in the mission. This can be done by inserting this line under [DGen] :
AirIntensity=(High,Medium,Low)
You choose which, leave that one and remove parenthesis and the other options. I believe thet Medium is the default.
If there is not an area called [DGen] then add it at the end of the conf.ini.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
IL-2/FB/AEP/PF FAQs (http://www.airwarfare.com/sturmovik_101/faq_index.htm) * Nutcase's Full Mission Builder tutorials (http://www.jumpintojapan.com/index.html) * Lowengrin's DCG (http://www.lowengrin.com/news.php) * Downloads at Netwings (http://www.netwings.org/library/)
UbiSoft Customer Solution Center: Pacific Fighters (http://ubisoft.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/ubisoft.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=10061&p_created=1099077749&p_sid=3_uGGxsh&p_lva=&p_sp=cF9zcmNoPTEmcF9zb3J0X2J5PWRmbHQmcF9ncmlkc29yd D0mcF9yb3dfY250PTQmcF9zZWFyY2hfdHlwZT1zZWFyY2hfbmw mcF9wcm9kX2x2bDE9ODgmcF9wc) * CombatAce.com (http://forum.combatace.com/index.php?act=downloads&Itemid=70) * Hyperlobby (http://hyperfighter.sk/) * UberDemon UQMG (http://www.uberdemon.com/) * <A HREF="http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/26310365/m/9901017394" TARGET=_blank>
I mapped my keyboard controls so they're easier to remember, and added user- defined commands</A>

Dogfighter1969
10-26-2006, 09:27 AM
I have only recently started on PF myself. Skyecat will remember me from another posting where we have discussed desktop crashes that I experienced. Well that has been sorted out luckily. Since then I started out on a campaign as a Zero fighter. Hawaii came first, no problem, then went on to Wake Island, no problem with the night action, but on the next mission I experienced a heavy drop in frame rates. Then tried flying P-39's, same problem. Have no problems with FB. My system specs are more than enough if compared to the back of the cd case. Must say that I am considering writing it of as a bad game and shelf it. I'll give it one more shot by confirming that I have the latest driver for my video card. Suggest you do the same. If that doesn't work it will be Game Over for PF on my side. Pity, as the game itself seems to be my type of game. Luckily I still have FB and will also wait for the new complete DVD release.

major_setback
10-27-2006, 12:12 PM
A silly question. Have you installed the patches?<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y129/major-setback/Signaurepic004BESTframe014small.jpg
<span class="ev_code_PINK">My Aim is True.</span>

voyager_663rd
10-29-2006, 09:40 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by major_setback:
A silly question. Have you installed the patches? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

And another silly question: are you using up to date vid card drivers that are meant for your card? Or are you using xp's drivers?

I did an xp reinstall and forgot to reinstall vid card drivers (xp automatically installed it's own and I didn't remember http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/1072.gif .

No end of problems (freeze up, lock up) both in game and just browsing.

One thing led to another, I realized the error of my ways and I uninstalled xp's and installed the proper drivers.

TOTALLY eliminated my freeze ups.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

my goal for my 1/8th scale RC Corsair 1D:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v37/voyager_663rd/corsair.jpg

Dogfighter1969
10-30-2006, 04:23 AM
Hi Voyager,
Not a silly question. Very relevant. I don't know about e2michaelb but I haven't got any of the patches. I simply don't have time to download files of that size from the net. Between a fulltime job and my own part-time company to run I barely have time to play games. The free time I do have I spent playing the games rather than doing downloads. That is why I always only buy games that got favourable reviews on the net (especially if the reviewer don't note any major bugs). If I do get something buggy I just write it off as a bad buy, not necessarily a bad game. In PF's case I will rather wait for the new all-inclusive DVD, than go and waste my time with downloading 5 or 6 patches from the net. I have now switched back to playing Forgotten Battles. Absolutely great and trouble-free game. Started a campaign as a German fighter in Stalingrad area. Flying a Bf-109 G. Shot down 4 planes in 5 missions. Had some serious damage in two of those missions but got home safe.

WhiteSnake_76
10-30-2006, 07:05 AM
e2michaelb, it might be that your using the wrong videocard drives, sometimes the latest versions are not always the best for your card, same goes for the rest of your hardware.

Also cleaning your computer out from dust and other dirt will help, and make sure it gets enough cooling. Sometimes taking the cover of your computer and running the game that way will keep it crashing, than you might want to add an extra case fan or make some other changes to improve the cooling.

Also make sure the memory you fitted is the right type for your mainboard and incase you fitted more than one module make sure there all matching. Some mainboards / memory mudules dont go so well together in combination with a difrent type of memory.

jamesdietz
10-30-2006, 10:01 AM
CPus were the real culpret ...had to install better fans...that cured everything except the basic limits of my PC...<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

" God Help me , I love the smell of Computer wiring smoking in the morning!"
http://members.cox.net/doolittle80/DietzPilotSigBlockCropped.gif http://members.cox.net/fliegeroffizier/StukaPilot2.gif