PDA

View Full Version : Hitler's U-Boat War: The Hunters & the Hunted by Clay Blair

Iphicles2005
03-25-2005, 09:33 AM
I wonder if any of you have read these books already. I just started reading The Hunters, 1939-1942 and I must say, the book, while very detailed and quite well statistically charted, has a certain "revisionist" history aspect to it.

I'm not an expert on any particular aspect of WWII (although the political and generalship of the war are parts that I do tend to read more about), the author seems intent on disproving that the U-Boat threat wasn't what "historically" we deemed it to be.

I will continue to read both books for thier insight, but I wanted to know if those of you who have studied U-Boat campaigns share the same opinions.

Hans_Koenig
03-25-2005, 01:12 PM
I think Blair's books are very detailed and well researched.
However the author is clearly engaged in an anti-british crusade and he generally downplays German successes (and American failures).
The word revisionism is not out of place as Blair is in open polemic with several established historians.
I can only praise Hitler's U-boat War for the amount of 'factual' data; I hope most readers of the subject are critical enough to formulate their own indipendent judgements.
I agree with Blair on a capital thing: the German never, ever came close to winning the U-boat war, even if this is much easier to say now with hindsight, tons of stats and declassified documents.

Best Regards

Koenig

DegreeAbsolute
03-25-2005, 01:27 PM