PDA

View Full Version : TrackIR4



Colwell1199
10-01-2006, 01:58 PM
I have TrackIR 3, is it worth getting upgraded to TrackIR4?

Colwell1199
10-01-2006, 01:58 PM
I have TrackIR 3, is it worth getting upgraded to TrackIR4?

Red-Baron2006
10-01-2006, 02:03 PM
I dont have tracker ir but i hear lots of good things about the tracker it 4. It also comes with 6dof. Look at the video and see what i mean.

Video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FFTRsBcSyk8

leitmotiv
10-01-2006, 02:11 PM
Yes---get TrackIR4 Pro. I could never get 2 or 3 to work right, but 4 Pro has performed perfectly for 9 months.

FoolTrottel
10-01-2006, 02:44 PM
Using TrackIR 3Pro here.
No complaints.
Will add the Vector Expansion at some time, but for me there's no need to update to 4.
(Now I do not know how 4 does, but I do know my 3Pro works okay!)

ytareh
10-01-2006, 03:01 PM
TIR 3 here too...works fine -sometimes have to plug USB out and back in again but Razer mouse is same (reckon its my highly overclocked Opteron set up).Also it doesnt like bright sunny conditions but there may be settings to fix that.
I paid about GBâ£40-50 for it used on Ebay including postage to Ireland from UK.New TIR4 has got to be about 3 times that.Of course I wasnt sure if I would like it....almost everybody who uses it LOVES TIR!(Myself included)The TIR4 is well worth the money(if mine broke Id get one) but the TIR3 is nearly as good.

hamselv2
10-01-2006, 03:27 PM
I have both TrackIR3 Pro (without vector), and TrackIR4.
The TrackIR4 doesn't need to be reset as often (= almost never) as the TIR3 Pro.
I can recommend an upgrade.

tagTaken2
10-02-2006, 02:44 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by hamselv2:
I have both TrackIR3 Pro (without vector), and TrackIR4.
The TrackIR4 doesn't need to be reset as often (= almost never) as the TIR3 Pro.
I can recommend an upgrade. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I have tir3, but with the vector, and it never needs to be reset. I can head down to the store for beer (gee, there's a lot of the pacific, isn't there? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif) and it's still centred. Vector makes all the difference.

TgD Thunderbolt56
10-02-2006, 09:27 AM
TIR3 Pro w/vector here and aside from some increased view-angle can see no reason to justify an upgrade to the TIR4. My V3 pro works flawlessly and has since the day I got it. If you're using a TIRv.1, v.2, v.3(non-pro) then I'd say get the latest and greatest.

Would I like to have a TIR4 Pro? Sure, and perhaps a future upgrade/pc build will include one, but for now I can't see it worth the outlay.


TB

Colwell1199
10-02-2006, 07:46 PM
-S-
How many of you have the TrackIR Hat? Is it worth getting? i don't have it and was wondering whats a good sub for that. Right now i'm using a pair of sunglasses witht he lens out of them and they work so-so.

leitmotiv
10-02-2006, 07:57 PM
If you get the 4 Pro you need their hat or some other baseball hat. Makes you look like a comptete twit wearing a hat with the metal relector tree on it indoors.

knightflyte
10-02-2006, 08:45 PM
I bought the hat last year, and am happy with it. I don't have to put the stickies on he bridge of my glasses. Neither do I forget to remove the dot from my forhead anymore.

I'm not sure I'd recommend Track IR 4 if your TRack IR 3 is working fine. IL2 doesn't support 6DOF, so you have to weigh in what other games you play and whether they support 6DOF. (BoB:WoV or GTR/GTR2 for example)

I'm very happy with my Track IR4 but if my Track IR1 hadn't bit the dust I'd still have the Track IR 1.

I do enjoy the virtual cockpits in MFS 2004, BoB:WoV, and GTR1 and 2. It does add to the immersion,and I'd get TIR4 eventually. If I had TIR3 I'd upgrade to the 6DOF option.

juryman03
10-02-2006, 09:17 PM
Just to confirm...the TrackIR hat is just a hat, right? For some reason I originally thought it had some special sensors built in it that would take the place of the TrackIR 4 clip. But the wording on their website seems to indicate it's just a hat you can use to attach the clip to, just like any baseball hat.

http://naturalpoint.com/trackir/02-products/product-accessories.html#apparel

leitmotiv
10-02-2006, 10:42 PM
affirmative

slo_1_2_3
10-03-2006, 04:40 PM
Wow ,I wish I had a track ir . maybe when Ipay for my truck I can get one of those it looks pretty cool and I know it would help me alot with full switch flying . But I have to ask I see this everywhere all the time and I don't have a frickin clue as to what it means, what is 6 dof? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

tagTaken2
10-03-2006, 05:36 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by slo_1_2_3:
Wow ,I wish I had a track ir . But I have to ask I see this everywhere all the time and I don't have a frickin clue as to what it means, what is 6 dof? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I've been wondering how many dedicated fans do. It's an expensive, single-use toy, a luxury until you've used it. I wouldn't buy a sim that didnt' support it now.

6d0f means that you can move your real head in ANY direction, and the viewpoint will follow it. Il-2 cockpits only support up/down and rotate left/right. MSFS supports the full 6dof, and so will BoB:sow

http://www.naturalpoint.com/trackir/02-products/product-how-TrackIR-works.html

There's links to videos on the right.

XyZspineZyX
10-03-2006, 05:52 PM
Slo:

6dof means 6 Degrees of Freedom.

Meaning the thing tracks your head in 6 axis.

slo_1_2_3
10-03-2006, 07:00 PM
Ah, so I could stick my head out the window in msfs but not in il2 I see now Thanx . Now I know why everyone wants 6dof it feels good to be in the light and out of the dark

slo_1_2_3
10-03-2006, 07:02 PM
Err wait a minute, that cideo on you tube thatis linked at the top of this thread looked like it was moving up/down left/right/ side to die and all that I thought you said il2 didn't do that?

knightflyte
10-03-2006, 08:11 PM
That video is from some guy who thought it would be smart to hack some IL2/PF files.

(Some even believe that this is part of the reason the two remaining add ons have been delayed. I myself don't know but I think it's pretty arrogant of the guy to mess with the files and then seemingly brag about it by posting movies.)

OFFICIALLY IL2/PF does not support 6DOF, slo_1_2_3.

slo_1_2_3
10-04-2006, 12:16 AM
And now I know http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif thanx