PDA

View Full Version : 512 ram - 768



Snuffly
12-28-2004, 03:24 PM
How much will it help if I have 512 ram, then i boost it up to 768?

Will i beable to run it in perfect mode, no sweat, or will it help gameplay a lot, or what?

thx
Cheers

JG52Uther
12-28-2004, 03:30 PM
It will help.From my experience with FB/AEP 512 ok,768 better,1024 great (i run perfect online with a 2.66Mhz P4 running a 9800PRO card and 1024 pc2100 ram, no stutters with PF it runs very smooth for me)

Snuffly
12-28-2004, 03:34 PM
So if Finally I have this:

Windows XP Home edition
768 RAM
Intel Celeron Processor
2.20 ghz CPU
256mb Nvidia Geforce FX5200 PCI video Card

How well will the game run. Cuz all i added was the ram.

oldschool1992
12-28-2004, 03:40 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Snuffly:
So if Finally I have this:

Windows XP Home edition
768 RAM
Intel Celeron Processor
2.20 ghz CPU
256mb Nvidia Geforce FX5200 PCI video Card

How well will the game run. Cuz all i added was the ram. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I had a GF5200 till last Jan upgraded to a 5900 huge difference If I was you i would upgrade the vid card first but ram is cheaper
so depends on your budget but ram cant hurt dont count on much better frame rates without upgrading your vid card

Capt._Tenneal
12-28-2004, 03:42 PM
Snuffly, what happened to that galloping creature on your sig ? He/she/it was cool. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Related question : will there be a noticeable difference going from 1024 meg to 1280 meg or 1536 meg RAM ?

dieg777
12-28-2004, 04:53 PM
This is only my opinion based on my experience but I would say that you will see very little difference adding another 256mg ram. It may make the game run smoother.
the key is to get a balance and get above minimum specs for the game.
For increased FPS increase processor speed-greater than 2.6 pentium recommended
For prettier graphics and a small increase in FPS get a better card- 5900 good -more pipes better
For smoothnes get 1024 ram.

Be careful upgrading memory-it must be compatable with your board and your existing stick- I recommend crucial.

If you want more details on this see either my guide to IL2 optimisation or Luckyboys guide both found in tech section here

http://www.airwarfare.com/guides.htm

These are just my thoughts -you will have to decide how best to balance everything with your requirements. If having problems post DXDIAG on community help and someone may be able to help.

good luck

carguy_
12-28-2004, 05:37 PM
If you ask around for tweaks you may gain 5-15fps without losing any of the quality.

I unchecked a coupla checkboxes in setup.exe and gained 7fps.

Currently avg of 39fps on Black Death and happy as ever.