PDA

View Full Version : My new computer....which?



fabianfred
11-07-2007, 11:38 AM
Hi Guys...just throwing some ideas around....my old computer is really getting long in the tooth

Athlon XP 2200+ 1800mhz. 1.5 gig RAM Geforce FX 5500

I cannot wait for SOW anymore... and would really like to run my HUGE Pearl Harbor mission at normal speed ..instead of at half speed

http://www.4shared.com/file/27962256/43ae527b/December_7th_1941.html

Well here in Thailand we are a bit behind the west in what is available hardware wise...

I use my computer at work in my wifes small Digital photo studio....so I use the same computer for working with Photoshop and rendering videos from our small JVC HDD camera using Cyberlink software

I'm going for either a Quad core 6600 or Core Duo E6850
Mainboard Asus P5K-V or P5K-C
Asus Nvidia EN 8600GTS silent
2 x 1 gig RAM kingston 800 (cannot get 2 gig sticks here...so i'll need four RAM slots...to allow up to 4 gig RAM)

19" LG monitor L1960 TR (5000 refresh rate)

should get that little lot for around 40,000 Thai Baht ....US$=33 Baht....GBP=69 Baht...Euro=48 Baht

any ideas...? or suggestions...?

fabianfred
11-07-2007, 11:38 AM
Hi Guys...just throwing some ideas around....my old computer is really getting long in the tooth

Athlon XP 2200+ 1800mhz. 1.5 gig RAM Geforce FX 5500

I cannot wait for SOW anymore... and would really like to run my HUGE Pearl Harbor mission at normal speed ..instead of at half speed

http://www.4shared.com/file/27962256/43ae527b/December_7th_1941.html

Well here in Thailand we are a bit behind the west in what is available hardware wise...

I use my computer at work in my wifes small Digital photo studio....so I use the same computer for working with Photoshop and rendering videos from our small JVC HDD camera using Cyberlink software

I'm going for either a Quad core 6600 or Core Duo E6850
Mainboard Asus P5K-V or P5K-C
Asus Nvidia EN 8600GTS silent
2 x 1 gig RAM kingston 800 (cannot get 2 gig sticks here...so i'll need four RAM slots...to allow up to 4 gig RAM)

19" LG monitor L1960 TR (5000 refresh rate)

should get that little lot for around 40,000 Thai Baht ....US$=33 Baht....GBP=69 Baht...Euro=48 Baht

any ideas...? or suggestions...?

Chivas
11-07-2007, 11:59 AM
I would go for the new 8800GT. Its cheap and almost as fast the the 8800GTX.

Urufu_Shinjiro
11-07-2007, 01:54 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/agreepost.gif

What he said, everything else seems right on. The only thin I would change would be the monitor, if you can get an Acer 22" widescreen for a reasonable price you won't regret it.

Airmail109
11-07-2007, 01:59 PM
Go for the quad core you can clock it on air up to 3.4ghz or 3.6 and itll run Il2 at insane speeds.

As well as helping in the released and several up and coming quad core enabled games, eg Unreal III, Empire: Total War, Spore, CoD 4, Supreme Commander and a load of others Ive forgotten the names of

SeaFireLIV
11-07-2007, 02:03 PM
Well, I just got the 8800GTS, but everyone keeps telling me I should`ve got the 8800GT! So I guess you should go for the 8800GT.

8800GTS runs nice though and easily overclocks quite a bit.

p.s. I`ve noticed that some vendors are beginning to jack up the 8800Gt prices... hmmm

stansdds
11-08-2007, 03:38 AM
The 8800GT will do things faster than a 8800GTS and cost less, so I'd recommend an 8800GT, if you can find one. Otherwise, the 8800GTS is the best choice and far better than any 8600.

As for dual vs. quad core, there are few programs that can actually utilize a quad core CPU and often the dual cores will overclock better and run cooler while consuming less energy than a quad, so I'd opt for a dual core.

I would invest in a good cooler for a dual core CPU as they seem to like overclocking and that's the only way you will realize their full potential.

Make sure you get a good motherboard for all this new hardware. Read the reviews carefully and at this point, I'd recommend a P-35 chipset motherboard, preferably one that supports both DDR2 and DDR3 RAM. DDR3 RAM is starting to show real potential as replacing DDR2 in terms of performance, but DDR3 is still far more expensive than DDR2.

Also, make sure you get a high quality power supply unit. A cheap, weak PSU has the potential to damage computer components, so don't be cheap on this often overlooked item.

Just my thoughts, take them as you see fit.

Xiolablu3
11-08-2007, 06:16 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by SeaFireLIV:
Well, I just got the 8800GTS, but everyone keeps telling me I should`ve got the 8800GT! So I guess you should go for the 8800GT.

8800GTS runs nice though and easily overclocks quite a bit.

p.s. I`ve noticed that some vendors are beginning to jack up the 8800Gt prices... hmmm </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

There will only be tiny differences in speed betweeen your GTS and a GT mate, I wouldnt worry.

Think about it, 3 fps faster at 90 fps equals only 1 frame faster at 30fps. COuld anyone notice the difference between 30 and 31 fps?

I would go with the dual core, whats the point of a quad core CPU for gaming?

I just bought a 7900GS for 60 + 7.50 p&p which I thought was pretty good.

Xiolablu3
11-08-2007, 06:22 AM
Just one more thing, Fred, you could have upgraded your graphics card for a low price long before now.

You would have a had a much better gaming computer if you had invested in a X800 or 6800GT card a while back. The Geforce FX series were poor at best, and the 5500FX is not even a fast FX.

Just a thought..

fabianfred
11-08-2007, 12:46 PM
thanks guys for taking the trouble to reply...and for your advice

I'm going for the 8800 GTS...the GT isn't available here

....and yes....lol....the 5500FX is only different from my old GF4 MX440 in that it takes dirx9

and I'll go with the Core Duo E6850

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/compsmash.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif http://media.ubi.com/us/forum_images/gf-glomp.gif

Xiolablu3
11-08-2007, 12:53 PM
WHat I meant Fred, is that when you were thinking about upgrading in the past, you could have just bought a new graphics card.

An upgrade to a X800 pro or a 6800GT a year ago would have seen your computer play IL2 on Perfect settings for the past year.

Trust me when I say upgrading your graphics card is not much harder than putting a game in s SNES or Sega.

fabianfred
11-08-2007, 02:06 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Xiolablu3:
WHat I meant Fred, is that when you were thinking about upgrading in the past, you could have just bought a new graphics card.

An upgrade to a X800 pro or a 6800GT a year ago would have seen your computer play IL2 on Perfect settings for the past year.

Trust me when I say upgrading your graphics card is not much harder than putting a game in s SNES or Sega. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Yes...I understand what you mean...thanks
I've changed cards and drives etc. before....just never gone the whole hog and built my own computer...i think i could do it though..
I never bother much with upgrading components...preffering to just get a complete new system after a few years....
was waiting for SOW...but cannot wait anymore

got Photshop CS3 now and that needs more power too.... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Xiolablu3
11-08-2007, 03:02 PM
I see, Fred.

You really should think about upgrading your Graphics card sometimes tho.

A new graphics card can give a system a completely new lease of life.

I usually do this :-

Upgrade the whole of my computer, CPU/Motherboard/RAM/Graphics Card/anything else which needs doing.

Then for the next upgrade, maybe a year later or a bit longer get a new graphics card.

Then next upgrade is to do the whole computer again.


A new graphics card can totally boost your computers gaming power.

In my opinion, you should have got yourself a Geforce 6800GT maybe a year ago, and you would have been able to run any maps your wanted in IL2 and play it on very high settings with your current computer. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif