PDA

View Full Version : Beta 4.0 Online Frame rates



Thud_vols
06-13-2005, 06:56 AM
The new FMs are cool but my online frame rates are totally porked now. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif Anyone else seeing this? If so, can you please comment on the tweeks you've tried. What helped and what doesn't?

Thud_vols
06-13-2005, 06:56 AM
The new FMs are cool but my online frame rates are totally porked now. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif Anyone else seeing this? If so, can you please comment on the tweeks you've tried. What helped and what doesn't?

3.JG51_BigBear
06-13-2005, 09:23 AM
System specs?

9th_Spitin
06-13-2005, 10:11 AM
The online framerates are a little slow right now because there is no dedicated server patch yet. Be patient and it will get better when they get us 4.01 with a dedicated server patch. "2 weeks" Sorry I couldnt resist. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif

S~

LEBillfish
06-13-2005, 10:47 AM
Well, from what I have found it is not the FM that slows things up though it may.......But the new "Great looking" clouds.

Love em, but they even hit my system which is average...

P4-2.53Ghz 533fsb
1.024 Gb 333mhz ddr ram
GEF 6600 256mb DDR 8xAGP
a rather exotic intel board lan/raid
TB Santa Cruz Sound
XP tweaked, background programs off
second PS running ALL fans so fans not affecting main 430w PS
etc.

Most settings in sim/GC/SC set to performance/quality....So not the best they could be but just a notch above an even blend of performance and quality toward quality.

pacettid
06-13-2005, 11:03 AM
LEBillfish,

I also noticed a fps reduction when I tried to use the enhanced clouds, that must be activated by making a change to the conf.ini file, so I turned them back off.

Even when not using the enhanced clouds, it seemed to me that the clouds in 4.0 are much better looking, without too mcuh a fps reduction. What do you think?

ElAurens
06-13-2005, 11:05 AM
I was on the Singapore map on Zeke vs. Wildcat server, flying a Betty. There were only light clouds and I was getting 85 to 100 FPS in cockpit.

http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif

But later on the Med map in Spit vs. 109 with a heavy cloud deck while flying a 109G2 it looked like a slide show.

It's the clouds, be sure.

stubby
06-13-2005, 11:15 AM
I went in to my video card settings (OpenGL) and made numerous tweaks to minimize FPS hit with clouds. Once you experience the new clouds, it's very difficult to go back to the old ones since the new ones just add some much more life.

To help me tweak my graphics settings, I'm using Geforce tweaker that allows far more tweaks than doable just with the vanilla interface in control panel. I was able to tweak stuff to deal with artifacting, mipmapping, vsync, AA, AF, etc.. Bottom line for me, I toned some of that stuff down and then set most of my ingame settings to 'medium'. Doing this I was able to regain the FPS I lost but with a slight eye candy hit. The eye candy hit is very minor. I noticed the biggest hit with TiR 3Pro tracking. Intially after the patch, it was a bit jerky. Once I tweaked the hell out of my card, it was back to silky smooth panning.

LEBillfish
06-13-2005, 11:26 AM
Which GEForce Tweaker?.......and I agree old clouds look better, though I believe aren't clouds "server side"?......Meaning, you might have yours set to old clouds, but if the server says new, new is what you get.

VW-IceFire
06-13-2005, 11:29 AM
Radeon 9700Pro - minor decrease in FPS here. Lost 3-4 fps on the heavy clouded areas but thats about it.

Check your FSAA settings...apparently the AA is done on the clouds too which hurts performance.

Thud_vols
06-13-2005, 12:35 PM
My specs are low but I've never had this much of a problem before. Once the flight deck is clear, I normally have (had) decent frame rates on high settings. Now it's set at low and the frame rates appear to be about 1-2 fps. Comms (Teamspeak)is effected too.

P4, 1.85 Ghz
512MB RAM
NVidia GForce FX5900XT

Will try the cloud change and wait and see what the real release does.

Thanks for the feedback.

Added: Intresting! There is no TypeClouds=0 or 1 in the conf.ini file. I wonder what else I might be missing. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif

9th_Spitin
06-13-2005, 12:45 PM
I have a AMD 3000 64 bit, 1 gig DDR ram, 6800GT 256 vid card and online I have been averaging 45 FPS (WC's server with 40-50 players) with all setting on perfect. Maybe a 5 fps diff from 3.04. As for tweeking a Nvidia card there is not any utility that is easier than COOLBITS.

Hunter82
06-13-2005, 06:05 PM
it's the clouds for the most part.

Without a dedicated aslo the host machine generally cannot handle the needed volumes for most...this will make it slightly better when the dedicated comes out but clouds are the main issue. FM is not a killer at all. Most who sya they are not having issues with the new clouds are

a) not using v-synch

b) not using Anti Aliasing

c) Using some type of herbal remedy http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

tttiger6BL
06-13-2005, 06:19 PM
LOL, Hunter.

I NEVER use V-Synch, I always use AA and I drink a tea made from weeds in my back yard.

Very little FPS hit here.

But the new clouds are UGLY IMHO. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Yes, Mrs. Fish, if the host uses new clouds you get new clouds even if ur config is set to old.

Other than how they look (did I mention they are UGLY?), have no issues with the new clouds.

ttt

Benhur_C6
06-14-2005, 08:47 AM
I have a AMD 3500 64 bit, 1 gig DDR ram, 6800GT 256 vid card and online I have been averaging 45 FPS with newclouds, water=3 and all detail max.

But I m at 1024*768*32, only FSAA 4X
AND ANYSOTROPIC FILTERING SET TO AUTO in the graphic card driver, AND PF SET IN TRILINEAR (with S3TC enable to accelerate the load of textures in memory)

VVS-Manuc
06-14-2005, 09:05 AM
Oleg announced it a long time ago already, that the new clouds (esp. overcast) will drop the frame rates

BSS_Vidar
06-14-2005, 10:56 AM
I'm seeing Frame Rates between 60-100 fps.

- Athlon 2600+
- 1Gig Duel channel DDR RAM
- SATA HD's
- Asus ATI 9800 Pro 256MB/256bit w/ Catalyst 5.6 drivers. 1153/864 res 32 bit color full real graphics settings.
- 24" viewable Sony Silicon Graphics monitor
- Track IR 3Pro w/ Vector Extension Pack

Hunter82
06-14-2005, 02:00 PM
Unless aniso is set in the IL2 set up with the driver set to auto or app prefernece you will not be using anisotropic filtering in game as there is no instruction set to make calls for aniso without it enabled. The game when enabled sets it to 16X's AF when enabled.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Benhur_C6:
I have a AMD 3500 64 bit, 1 gig DDR ram, 6800GT 256 vid card and online I have been averaging 45 FPS with newclouds, water=3 and all detail max.

But I m at 1024*768*32, only FSAA 4X
AND ANYSOTROPIC FILTERING SET TO AUTO in the graphic card driver, AND PF SET IN TRILINEAR (with S3TC enable to accelerate the load of textures in memory) </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

SlickStick
06-14-2005, 03:13 PM
IMHO, I think it was a mistake to force the new clouds on all clients based on the server settings. I understand the "level playing field" thought behind it, but now you are forcing low-end machines, that were already having FPS issues and needing to run lowered graphics for playable online FPS and less stuttering, to run the new clouds, when their machines are not really capable of it.

I feel this is causing more online lag since as people know, hardware issues as well as connection issues can cause lag on servers.

Just a thought.

crazyivan1970
06-14-2005, 03:35 PM
No SlickStick, it was something that everyone wanted... to avoid detailed/medium clouds situation. Also, wait till you get on dedicated server to jugde real performance. 401 will show.

SlickStick
06-14-2005, 03:40 PM
I'll have to check tonight, but medium/detailed clouds vs new/old clouds are two different things, no? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

With old clouds, you could have detailed or medium on your PC while flying online. the server controlled whether there were clouds or not, but you controlled the "medium/detailed" aspect of the clouds.

I haven't checked my in-game setup yet, but isn't medium/detailed option still available? Also, doesn't the server only control whether new style clouds are used or old, not medium/detailed?

Pardon my ignorance if this has been talked about, as I've just started to dig into the changes of this patch, knowing that it may change yet again with V4.01m and I'm learning as I go. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

crazyivan1970
06-14-2005, 03:50 PM
Yes sir, medium/detailed clouds option is available...but overruled by server.
Also, medium/detailed could not be applied to new clouds, meaning... they either there or not. Medium.detailed could only be applied when you have TypeClouds=0 - old clouds in your conf.ini under [game] section.
If you have defined TypeClouds=1 - new clouds, then medium/detailed could not be applied. They are just new clouds http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Bottom line, if server has TypeClouds=0 - old clouds in confs.ini or conf.ini (dedicated or standard hosting) then clients are still in control of the clouds, they can set medium or detailed...
If server sets TypeClouds=1 - new clouds, then clients are forced to fly with new clouds.

Hope i made it clearer http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

ElAurens
06-14-2005, 03:57 PM
Thanks for clearing that up Ivan.

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

SlickStick
06-14-2005, 06:14 PM
Thanks for the catch-up info, Ivan. I hadn't yet read exactly that "new" clouds didn't have a medium or detailed option. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

I'm still testing, but my game has been flying noticeably "choppier" every now and then online since V4.00m. Others are reporting the same in-game and I notice it's usually during heavier clouds. From doing a little reading around the forums today, I'm getting the impression that some feel that they are experiencing FPS hits due to the new clouds as well.

I'm not going to spend too much time yet as V4.01m lurks ahead, but forcing higher graphical settings on mid-to-lower machines can't be a good thing for online FPS.

Hunter82
06-14-2005, 07:04 PM
as long as the hosting is done in a relative environment of lower than overcast the FPS should not be as much of an issue. Maps with overcast or very high cloud cover like a thunderstorm are going to suffer the most FPS effect. After the novelty of the new clouds wears off...most servers will be running the new clouds at noon time and somewhat clear as they for the last few years lol

Benhur_C6
06-15-2005, 03:04 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content"> Unless aniso is set in the IL2 set up with the driver set to auto or app prefernece you will not be using anisotropic filtering in game as there is no instruction set to make calls for aniso without it enabled. The game when enabled sets it to 16X's AF when enabled. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I 100% agree with you Hunter.
I made my post to explain to the people that it is possible to have very good FPS with the new clouds, but for that, some people will need to understand that PF need TRILINEAR filtering, and not ANISOTROPIC.

People complain about FPS issues, but how many of them use the correct settings ?

The readme file say that PF settings should be TRILINEAR, and we can see on this forum that some people use 2x AF, 4x AF, etc...

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/63110913/m/4301063923/r/9471024923#9471024923
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content"> I have an Athlon 3.2 & 9800 Pro and in excellent mode 1024x768x32 with 2x AA 2x AF I drop occasionally to around 20fps with a furball in a thunderstorm (cat 5.6). Avg fps is around 30 </div></BLOCKQUOTE>