PDA

View Full Version : what am I supposed to do to complete this mission?

Tozzifan
03-28-2006, 08:12 AM
I'm new to PF campaigns, and on my second assignment on Coral Sea (flying F4, july 1942) I am ordered to scramble with a team of (only) 6 against a gorilla package of 20 or more japanese airplanes attacking the carrier group

joining the fight results - of course? - in being always shot down, together with all my five friendlies, so I can't progress further into the campaign

any hints?

thanks

Tozzifan
03-28-2006, 08:12 AM
I'm new to PF campaigns, and on my second assignment on Coral Sea (flying F4, july 1942) I am ordered to scramble with a team of (only) 6 against a gorilla package of 20 or more japanese airplanes attacking the carrier group

joining the fight results - of course? - in being always shot down, together with all my five friendlies, so I can't progress further into the campaign

any hints?

thanks

VF51_Flatspin
03-28-2006, 08:29 AM
In your realism settings, switch the toggle "No Instant Success" -- I think that does it. However, you'll have to restart the campaign to do it. Since you're only on sortie 2, that might not be too bad.

I don't think there's any other way but I may be wrong.

slo_1_2_3
03-28-2006, 09:09 AM
Some of the missions other planes on your side takeoff and just patrol and if you run into touble talk to ground control and request assistance. That works sometimes to. Just a thought that may help you.

BSS_Goat
03-28-2006, 09:47 AM
Run full throttle as far away as possible .....come back after AAA has evened the odds.

Skycat_2
03-28-2006, 12:23 PM
If you allow "Instant Success" you can could even close out of the mission before take-off and advance to the next mission; pretend your plane wasn't armed or something ...