PDA

View Full Version : Idea for time compression + covering large distances



rpkiller
06-21-2004, 12:17 PM
Dear all

Just a thought, but with the likelihood of covering large distances and possible higher time compressions for PF, would this idea be feasible & desirible:

Could, when enabling time compression, the compression end (return to normal speed) once the player's aircraft comes within a set distance on any enemy aircraft or target - say 5km or so. That way time comprssion could be enabled without having to watch like a hawk for sight of any enemies before the AI autopilot screws up your flight.
Even better, could there be a setting in the game to auto-pause as well as return to normal speed and disengage autopilot when within a customizeable distance of any enemy. That way, one could make a cup of tea, read a bit, or whatever whilst the computer flies to the target, without having to have CFS2 set scenarios.

Any thoughts or comments?

Regards

rp

rpkiller
06-21-2004, 12:17 PM
Dear all

Just a thought, but with the likelihood of covering large distances and possible higher time compressions for PF, would this idea be feasible & desirible:

Could, when enabling time compression, the compression end (return to normal speed) once the player's aircraft comes within a set distance on any enemy aircraft or target - say 5km or so. That way time comprssion could be enabled without having to watch like a hawk for sight of any enemies before the AI autopilot screws up your flight.
Even better, could there be a setting in the game to auto-pause as well as return to normal speed and disengage autopilot when within a customizeable distance of any enemy. That way, one could make a cup of tea, read a bit, or whatever whilst the computer flies to the target, without having to have CFS2 set scenarios.

Any thoughts or comments?

Regards

rp

Yellonet
06-21-2004, 03:45 PM
What you're describing is kind of like the "warp" in Aces of the Pacific.

It has it's faults though. It could be used as a sort of cheat; when you can't use the time compression you know there are enemies nearby.

Although I think it should be an option.



- Yellonet

LEXX_Luthor
06-21-2004, 04:07 PM
What if there are aircraft or surface units in combat somewhere when you feel the need for Warp Speed? Like most flight sim Newbies you are focusing only on player plane--the One Simmer Air Force syndrome (the cause of much frustration when a player attacks AA defended battleships by his/her self alone).

Its an interesting idea if for example the mission file involves only one (1) large formation of aircraft taking off and flying 400km to a single mission target, and they are to be intercepted by enemy there near the target. If no other units are to be in combat except at the distant target area then this Warp idea could make some sense. You have to consider mission planning details, or wait for the arcade Midway XBox sim coming out (or something like that).

Another possibility is if you are needing realistic historic missions that start very near the target area, find an Eastern Front flight sim.

Bull_dog_
06-21-2004, 06:43 PM
The only bad thing I can think of about 16 or 32x warp speed is how dizzy it will make me when fighters spin circles around slow flying bombers on escort missions ... such as in the dynamic campaigns.

Sometimes I just have to look away from the screen on 8x or go external and zoom way out. I think Luthier and crew recognize this as an obsticle to be overcome, but I don't know how they will do it.... I don't think warp will be much of an option...maybe linking smaller maps.

Maybe the Solomons for example, could be broken into 5 maps so if you wanted to fly from Rabaul to Guadalcanal...you just link those two "small" maps (skip the 400 miles in between).... wouldn't suprise me a bit if that is how they do it.

ImpStarDuece
06-21-2004, 07:00 PM
I like the current time compression for Il2 but the original post is right; if we are going to have huge maps that represent the Pacific properly the time compression will either have to be increased or another alternative found.

I like to fly looooooooooong 2-3 hour missions occasionally, doing CAPS against spawining planes in UQMG, but if i have to spend 45 mins flying over the great blue expanse of the Pacific i have a feeling i might get bored rather quickly.

Maybe x16 or x32 will have to be introduced with the aforementioned autocutout when enemy planes or an objective area comes within a set distance. I'd like to see the distance set to ten so you really have to look hard and have opportunity to gain altitude and position.

Flying Bullet Magnet... Catching Lead Since 2002

"There's no such thing as gravity, the earth sucks!"

"War is just politics carried out by other means" von Clauswitz.

Texas LongHorn
06-23-2004, 11:23 AM
Y'know this was done quite easily in Euro Air War. If I recall the key combo was shift-x and off you go. The sim even switched to an external fly-by view. Then boom, you are back in the cockpit. Pretty simple solution if you ask me. All the best, LongHorn

http://img49.photobucket.com/albums/v149/msdavis/My_Sig_Image2.jpg

j_a_l
06-23-2004, 02:53 PM
i too would vote for the x16 x32, beside, i'm part of people that hate the auto pilot, that thing that keep moving to next waypoint, whatever the current position is.

that need one requirement : a good level stabilator,( one that keep the same altitude, people flying he111 would understand me... ) present on fb 1 and disable now on fb 2.02.