PDA

View Full Version : Douglas A 20

sarracenia
10-09-2006, 01:40 PM
Hi
Does any one fly the Douglas A 20? I am a new pilot and have a couple of questions.
I keep running out of runway when landing as the brakes don't seem to work, not sure if they had any, if not how do you reduce speed quickly, I have tried turning off engine on touchdown but still roll well off runway.
I don't seem to be able to swap from pilot to gunner positions.
Not sure how to aim for bomb release.
Ok thats 3 questions http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gif
Thanks in anticipation
S

sarracenia
10-09-2006, 01:40 PM
Hi
Does any one fly the Douglas A 20? I am a new pilot and have a couple of questions.
I keep running out of runway when landing as the brakes don't seem to work, not sure if they had any, if not how do you reduce speed quickly, I have tried turning off engine on touchdown but still roll well off runway.
I don't seem to be able to swap from pilot to gunner positions.
Not sure how to aim for bomb release.
Ok thats 3 questions http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gif
Thanks in anticipation
S

FritzGryphon
10-09-2006, 01:51 PM
The brakes work like any other plane. You should check your controls to see what the brakes are assigned to.

The 'C' key is default for switching between gunner positions. You can also set commands to jump to a particular gunner position; check the control list.

The A-20 lacks a bomb sight, so you'd use the same bombing methods as a fighter-bomber or a dive bomber. I like bombing in a 40-50 degree dive. Or if you need more accuracy, fly just above the ground and drop delay-fuse bombs on the target.

actionhank1786
10-09-2006, 01:52 PM
Ok, as for the braking, i'm not really sure, make sure you're slowing down enough before you even touch down to keep your plane on the runway, but i haven't flown the 20 in a while, so i can't comment on the break.