PDA

View Full Version : OT - Graphics settings help



MadRuski
04-08-2007, 07:03 PM
well i have Nvidia control panel and i would like to find out which does what, i am not to good on comps so was wondering if someone can help me out.

i can either chose HIGH PERFORMANCE or HIGH QUALITY
and i do not know which one is beter to choose and what each one actully does, here is a screenshot: http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h254/MadRuski/2.jpg

hope i can finally figure out this mystery for me http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif

MadRuski
04-08-2007, 07:03 PM
well i have Nvidia control panel and i would like to find out which does what, i am not to good on comps so was wondering if someone can help me out.

i can either chose HIGH PERFORMANCE or HIGH QUALITY
and i do not know which one is beter to choose and what each one actully does, here is a screenshot: http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h254/MadRuski/2.jpg

hope i can finally figure out this mystery for me http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif

badatit
04-08-2007, 07:12 PM
Depends on your hardware really.
High Quality is what you want.
If it gets choppy, back the setting down to Quality, then Performance, then the lowest eye candy setting (but fastest frame per second setting) High Performance.

Post your cpu, RAM, and video card make/models,
This will help others (perhaps with identical hardware) to make further suggestions.

Taylortony
04-08-2007, 07:32 PM
Try the guides here

http://airwarfare.com/guides.htm

MadRuski
04-08-2007, 07:33 PM
i have:

NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GS, 512mb

AMD Athlon 64 processor
3000+
2GHz
1GIG of Ram

badatit
04-08-2007, 08:05 PM
How does it fly, when video set to High Quality?
Smooth?

MadRuski
04-09-2007, 07:25 AM
well i tried High Qaulity, and it seems to run a little bit choppy on full graphics and WATER=2, so i tried High Performance and it ran beautifully, except for one thing, the water was looking like this: http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h254/MadRuski/2-1.jpg

as you can see the "BAD" circles look like sh*t, even more so when its actully moving, sorta like a huge smudge. so anyone know how i can tweak anything to make this go away?

TgD Thunderbolt56
04-09-2007, 07:57 AM
So try water=1 with IQ set to high quality. Also, I'd turn off all anisotropic filtering. Also try the antialiasing set to 2x or 2xQ.

That rig should run it o.k., but you're not cooking with fire there. Trying to run 'perfect' settings may even be a bit much. You can run everything set quite high and drop your landscape to 'high' and probably be in good shape as well.

btw, what screen resolution are you running?

capt_frank
04-09-2007, 04:07 PM
I've been hanging out here getting some edumacation...

http://www.tweakguides.com/NVFORCE_6.html

I've also noticed that sometimes using settings contrary to those advised sometimes derive better frame rates.

Quite a Puzzlement...sometimes

major_setback
04-09-2007, 04:29 PM
I used to run on the 'High Performace' setting all the time on my older computer. There is a bit off a loss in picture quality, but I barely noticed it. I got a better frame rate.

I used the Quality setting for screenshots only.

MadRuski
04-09-2007, 07:10 PM
well ive finally found a good graphics settings for my IL2

Here is my settings:
1280x960x32 (in game options)
Water=2

all options to highest EXCEPT "landscape lighting" which is at HIGH

i set to HIGH QUALITY in the Nvidia Control panel

ANTIALIASING at 2xQ

and ANISOTROPIC TURNED OFF

So now my game runs smooth and water looks great.
http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h254/MadRuski/64.jpg