PDA

View Full Version : Boat name...annoying little bug



Hierophant
04-09-2006, 08:27 PM
I just noticed a small, but very (to me) annoying bug. Was wondering if anyone else has run across it. I recently transeferd after 9 partrols from the VIIB U-48 to a brandy new VIIC named...U-48. Trivial I know, but not ok...has anyone else noticed it.

I'm running 1.4b with no mods.

Hierophant
04-09-2006, 08:27 PM
I just noticed a small, but very (to me) annoying bug. Was wondering if anyone else has run across it. I recently transeferd after 9 partrols from the VIIB U-48 to a brandy new VIIC named...U-48. Trivial I know, but not ok...has anyone else noticed it.

I'm running 1.4b with no mods.

hueywolf123
04-09-2006, 08:29 PM
I am also U-48, but I'm in a type II-A

Josef_Reiter
04-09-2006, 09:06 PM
The 7b and the 7c are the same boat design I belive. Only diffrence is the equipment on the boats. So that being said, your VIIB got refitted to a VIIC. Same boat, diffrent load out.

VikingGrandad
04-10-2006, 01:10 AM
I thought SH3 used historically-correct U-boat types for the boat numbers? In which case U-48 (the boat of 3 aces Schultze, R√¬∂sing and Bleichrodt) should be a Type VII-B.

You can use SH3 Commander to choose your own number. Are you using this?

Jose.MaC
04-10-2006, 02:01 AM
Methinks you can find this kind of bug in the forum. Has been posted from time to time.

Hierophant
04-10-2006, 09:28 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by VikingGrandad:
I thought SH3 used historically-correct U-boat types for the boat numbers? In which case U-48 (the boat of 3 aces Schultze, R√¬∂sing and Bleichrodt) should be a Type VII-B.

You can use SH3 Commander to choose your own number. Are you using this? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I thought so too which is why I was surprised. It started out right, U48 = VIIB, but didn't change after I got a new boat.

I'm not using Commander or any of the other mods...maybe I'll check it out.

lecek
04-10-2006, 11:02 AM
It is my understanding that when a boat gets decomissioned and replaced by a new boat of the same kind, the new boat gets the old number.

Thus your number would only change if you went to different kind of sub rather then another type VII.

Though I do admit I would rather have U-570 for a change rather then the same U-48, U-49, U-53 blah blah blah.

Kaleun1961
04-10-2006, 12:04 PM
Or worse: U-571!

The_Silent_O
04-10-2006, 12:11 PM
It's a bug that happens about 50% of the time: For me, I've got a Type VIIc that is named "U-2", I've had the same name since my Type IIa. I'm about to get my first XXI and my guess is that it will be "U-2"

BTW the Edge is a great FunkStation operator!

con20or
04-10-2006, 01:05 PM
Confusing Alright.

Remember in Silent Hunter 2, your boat name used to change regularly over different missions. Even if you hadnt changed boat!!

And the boat number would not read the same on different screens on the same mission!!