PDA

View Full Version : Possible Memory Leak



skriebel
10-15-2004, 03:51 AM
Hi!

I am playing the game under Windows 98SE, P IV 2,2GHz, ATI Radeon 9800, Creative Soundblaster Audigy, 512 MB RAM. There is enough hard disk space free (several Gigabytes).

The Game runs perfectly smooth under the normal Windows virtual memory configuration (the setting that lets Windows determine the virtual memory).

However, for several reasons I would prefer to disable virtual memory entirely, and I have been running Windows in that mode for several months now without problems, since 512 MB RAM really are enough in most cases. Even Myst IV will run for some time (several minutes at least), but eventually it will become unstable, and finally crash. Sometimes it simply becomes irresponsible, sometimes I get a "memory allocation error" box.

This behaviour, as I said, does not occur when I let Windows handle the virtual memory. When I choose to set a fixed swap file size in this configuration dialog, Myst IV also will eventually crash. Maybe later, if I increase the swap file size, but that might be imagination.

Therefore, I wonder if there is a hidden memory leak somewhere in this great program. If so, it would it be great if fixed in an upcoming patch, since I would like to keep virtual memory disabled.

skriebel
10-15-2004, 03:51 AM
Hi!

I am playing the game under Windows 98SE, P IV 2,2GHz, ATI Radeon 9800, Creative Soundblaster Audigy, 512 MB RAM. There is enough hard disk space free (several Gigabytes).

The Game runs perfectly smooth under the normal Windows virtual memory configuration (the setting that lets Windows determine the virtual memory).

However, for several reasons I would prefer to disable virtual memory entirely, and I have been running Windows in that mode for several months now without problems, since 512 MB RAM really are enough in most cases. Even Myst IV will run for some time (several minutes at least), but eventually it will become unstable, and finally crash. Sometimes it simply becomes irresponsible, sometimes I get a "memory allocation error" box.

This behaviour, as I said, does not occur when I let Windows handle the virtual memory. When I choose to set a fixed swap file size in this configuration dialog, Myst IV also will eventually crash. Maybe later, if I increase the swap file size, but that might be imagination.

Therefore, I wonder if there is a hidden memory leak somewhere in this great program. If so, it would it be great if fixed in an upcoming patch, since I would like to keep virtual memory disabled.

maztec
10-15-2004, 01:13 PM
Windows actually uses its swap file for a LOT of things .. and although I dislike leaving it on myself for a variety of reasons, it's best to have one.. of at least 50-100MB, you can limit its size http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

skriebel
10-16-2004, 07:48 AM
Yes, but as I wrote, Myst IV crashes also with a swap file of limited size. It only runs smoothly when I do not touch the default setting at all.

maztec
10-16-2004, 09:19 PM
heh sorry I read a lot of things miss something once in a while, too bad. I'll pass it on, doubt it's something they can fix or will spend the time fixing -- it seems a fairly small tech savvy population is affected.