PDA

View Full Version : Topspeed of Ki-61 seems to be wrong



sapre
12-20-2004, 07:41 AM
I tested with all version's of Ki-61 in Crimea, 5000m, 50% fuel, default loadout and it can't go over 560kmh TAS, yet in ingame object viewer and other sources say it can go upto 590kmh per hour.
Is this a bug?

p1ngu666
12-20-2004, 07:18 PM
did u trim it out?
the 61 is mightly poor acceloration, compaired to a zero also http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif

sapre
12-21-2004, 08:48 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by p1ngu666:
did u trim it out?
the 61 is mightly poor acceloration, compaired to a zero also http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
Yep.
And I fly straight for about 5 minutes and I can't go beyond 560kmh.

p1ngu666
12-21-2004, 08:56 PM
http://www.uploadit.org/gallery/12331/61385

u would appear tobe correct http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif.... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

ill flick thru my other books in a sec

p1ngu666
12-21-2004, 09:00 PM
hm my cutaway book gives top speed as 560 http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif

is there a japanease kurfy, hop, robban75, skychimp etc in the house?

SS_Bubblehead
12-21-2004, 11:54 PM
This is the case with many planes in this sim. But not all it seems.

I test them out this way and it has proven efficient. I use the FMB, set object aircraft (plane of choice), set desired altitude then set speed much higher than plane is capable. The value is true airspeed and it will default pretty close to what the FM is capable of for the particular plane. In auto pilot you will get perfect trim but no boost or weapons power, so do a little math and you have an idea how fast its capable of. Only a few planes have matched posted values in the viewer or other written sources.

If I can get close I am happy and most planes from my testing are pretty **** good and close to known performance figures.

As for the Ki-61 the default value in FMB is 572 I am not sure if this is just for the AI without WEP or Boost or whatever. So on Crimea map at 5000m, 50% fuel, speed set to max allowed by FMB 572, auto pilot reached 549kmh TAS, without boost or wep power (not sure which one Tony has). So I guess its possible with really good trim and full 110% power you might reach 572. If 590 is what the text says I am happy with this.

BlitzPig_DDT
12-22-2004, 07:25 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by p1ngu666:
hm my cutaway book gives top speed as 560 http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif

is there a japanease kurfy, hop, robban75, skychimp etc in the house? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yeah, don't forget your books also tell you the œber-sair is overmodeled. The difference is the # of fanbois. (ie - too few for this one it seems) http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif

ElAurens
12-23-2004, 08:05 AM
the problem with Ki 61 speeds is that there are so many different maximum speeds out there for it. One guy says one thing, another "authority" has the speed 20 kph higher, or lower.

This is really a tough one. The only (semi)definitive talk about it is that when the prototypes were tested agianst the IJA's 109E3(Purchased from Germany), and captured P40E and LaGG3, that is was superior in all aspects to any of them. Still no numbers though.

LEBillfish
12-23-2004, 09:41 AM
Well I unfortunately cannot find any consistant data....However, what I can say about ALL the Japanese aircraft is that "Rudder Trim" requires roughly 15 clicks right, elevator tim varies....

Yet what concerns me is the fact of requiring so much trim the planes seem to slow to a rediculous level.....560kmh?....I have never seen that in a KI-61 except in a dive. At best on level cruise at 2km-6km "trimmed out" Radiator on auto (as it seems to always run hot) it flys at 370-410kmh......110% over 100% can maybe eek out an additional 20kmh.

Yet that is because I trim my rudder....Many now simply not and fighting the drift when required.....However untrimmed rudder is little better maybe 20-50 more.....Naturally having to fight the roll induced by all the rudder trim I expect to slow it further.

So I wonder if maybe in that entire contol surfaces are moving to accomplish trim, if maybe the Japanese fighters are not excessively handicapped in this regard.

(my numbers are based from the speedbar, unsure if no cockpit controls read different).

JG53Frankyboy
12-23-2004, 10:26 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by LEBillfish:
Well I unfortunately cannot find any consistant data....However, what I can say about ALL the Japanese aircraft is that "Rudder Trim" requires roughly 15 clicks right, elevator tim varies....

Yet what concerns me is the fact of requiring so much trim the planes seem to slow to a rediculous level.....560kmh?....I have never seen that in a KI-61 except in a dive. At best on level cruise at 2km-6km "trimmed out" Radiator on auto (as it seems to always run hot) it flys at 370-410kmh......110% over 100% can maybe eek out an additional 20kmh.

Yet that is because I trim my rudder....Many now simply not and fighting the drift when required.....However untrimmed rudder is little better maybe 20-50 more.....Naturally having to fight the roll induced by all the rudder trim I expect to slow it further.

So I wonder if maybe in that entire contol surfaces are moving to accomplish trim, if maybe the Japanese fighters are not excessively handicapped in this regard.

(my numbers are based from the speedbar, unsure if no cockpit controls read different). <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

sure, speedbar show IAS .

if you fly with cockpit disabled you get , on that MickyMouse gauges, TAS.
also altitude over ground , speedbar is giving alt above sealevel

Funzilla
12-23-2004, 10:39 AM
Secret to Ki-61 is PROP PITCH (just be careful not to burn up the engine). If you use the pitch judiciously, this ride is a real sportscar!

Zilla

LEBillfish
12-23-2004, 01:02 PM
You can't adjust prop pitch in KI61, only 43/84/A6m.

Sadly for me even Ki-43 is faster.

Nubarus
12-23-2004, 01:21 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by LEBillfish:
You can't adjust prop pitch in KI61, only 43/84/A6m.

Sadly for me even Ki-43 is faster. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

You can turn auto pitch off, so you can adjust it if you turn it off first.

p1ngu666
12-23-2004, 02:28 PM
prop pitch like 109

the reason anything seems faster is cos ki61 has such horribly bad acceloration

ki43/zero accelorate well/ok, so chances are ull be faster than ki61, most of the time

LEBillfish
12-24-2004, 07:45 AM
I stand corrected...yet somehow I could swear I tried to adjust it before and could not...anywho as to top speed.

We ran some tests at varied alt's from sealevel to 7km...All with auto radiator as it would simply burn up if not full open, both trimmed fully and untrimmed rudder, auto and manual prop. Best rpm you could hold for any amount of time 21-2200...if not engine would suddenly fry....100% throttle - 110%.....

We never, ever,EVER saw 560kmh....best about 460 and that took some effort on the verge of melt down.

I simply do not see how you are getting 560.

I would LOVE to get 560, but cannot see how you are getting there let alone the request for it to be 590.

SS_Bubblehead
12-24-2004, 12:46 PM
LEBillfish

Are you reading IAS as in the speedbar or cockpit speed indication. These will not show correct speed pretty much above 2500 meters or so.

You can view TAS in the no cockpit view with ctrl F1. You probably already know this, but something does not seem right.

The max speed of 590 as most references claim cannot be achieved in game. However you can pretty easily achieve 550+ with little effort.
Even without 110% power as in auto pilot the plane will reach 523Kmph TAS and 5000 meters.

Test it in the FMB, atleast I know it works for me.

http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

JG53Frankyboy
12-25-2004, 04:58 PM
well , now with 3.03 some things changed !

the Hien got a CSP instead of the automatik.
didnt tested performance changes because of that.

also it lost its automatik radiator setting.