PDA

View Full Version : Map size?



Runaway1.0
06-17-2007, 04:18 AM
Hi there,


maybe i am blind, but I didn't find anything about it http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Are the sizes of the cities and the map realistic? How big is the complete map?
And how long does it take to ride from one side of the map to the other?

Thanks for an answer :-)

Runaway1.0
06-17-2007, 04:18 AM
Hi there,


maybe i am blind, but I didn't find anything about it http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Are the sizes of the cities and the map realistic? How big is the complete map?
And how long does it take to ride from one side of the map to the other?

Thanks for an answer :-)

moqqy
06-17-2007, 04:20 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Runaway1.0:
Hi there,


maybe i am blind, but I didn't find anything about it http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Are the sizes of the cities and the map realistic? How big is the complete map?
And how long does it take to ride from one side of the map to the other?

Thanks for an answer :-) </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

They used the real maps of the cities, so I think they're going to be somwhere around the real size, and you can watch the ubiday trailer and other gameplay trailers, the cities are 15 times bigger than showed in them.

Also I don't remember the distance in between the cities, but if my memory serves me right, it is HUGE.

T_Spoon_UK
06-17-2007, 04:26 AM
Let's just say... it is going to be very big...

http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Runaway1.0
06-17-2007, 06:06 AM
hmm, that sounds good, but I though anyone knows some real facts about it.
I am interested in numbers http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

princeofyo
06-17-2007, 06:07 AM
There are no numbers.

borat1985
06-17-2007, 08:01 AM
So gow big do you think its gonna be i reackon smaller than san andreas

DOGSKING
06-17-2007, 08:04 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by borat1985:
So gow big do you think its gonna be i reackon smaller than san andreas </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Then youre crazy!! The distance bewtween the 2 cities are 120 miles!!! But dunno about actual size.....

borat1985
06-17-2007, 08:06 AM
kool http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif

wont it be abit borin travellin .like kill someone in one city and then travel to another (that will take really long) kill one in another travel bit repetative and time consuming

moqqy
06-17-2007, 08:12 AM
borat, edit button please http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

borat1985
06-17-2007, 08:15 AM
why

chicko1983
06-17-2007, 08:23 AM
from what ive heard there is a battlefield somewhere in "the kingdom" where the final major battle of the third crusade takes place (sometime near the end of the game) so there has to be room for that in between the cities i suppose. also, there will be small villages in between, from the trailer it has altair riding through one, and i guess there will be side missions to complete in these villages.
i doubt there will be 120miles to ride in between though, i guess the distances will be similar to "shadow of the colossus" on horseback, you wouldnt really want to ride much further than that.

uniop
06-17-2007, 08:35 AM
Soz if already asked but couldnt be bothered to look will it have free roam

moqqy
06-17-2007, 08:36 AM
because double posting, and even more triple posting, is against the rules

borat1985
06-17-2007, 08:36 AM
yes

borat1985
06-17-2007, 08:37 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by moqqy:
because double posting, and even more triple posting, is against the rules </div></BLOCKQUOTE> i never

moqqy
06-17-2007, 08:44 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by borat1985:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by moqqy:
because double posting, and even more triple posting, is against the rules </div></BLOCKQUOTE> i never </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

after DOGSKIN posted, you did a triple post.

Runaway1.0
06-17-2007, 08:49 AM
wow, 120 kilometres would be a long way :-)
Do you think we have any chance to hear something about it from a ubisoft employee?

moqqy
06-17-2007, 08:51 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Runaway1.0:
wow, 120 kilometres would be a long way :-)
Do you think we have any chance to hear something about it from a ubisoft employee? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
yes, if they decide to reveal it in an interview or E3.....

DOGSKING
06-17-2007, 08:55 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Runaway1.0:
wow, 120 kilometres would be a long way :-)
Do you think we have any chance to hear something about it from a ubisoft employee? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Its not 120 KM its 120 miles (1 mile = 1.609344 kilometers) &lt;- ( google)

Runaway1.0
06-17-2007, 09:11 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by DOGSKING:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Runaway1.0:
wow, 120 kilometres would be a long way :-)
Do you think we have any chance to hear something about it from a ubisoft employee? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Its not 120 KM its 120 miles (1 mile = 1.609344 kilometers) &lt;- ( google) </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

whoops, my mistake sry http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

borat1985
06-17-2007, 09:54 AM
how long wil it take to get from one side to the other

sort of off topic
will riding horses be that much faster than running, will their be interactive bits in between not just in the cities.

RetiredHatch
06-17-2007, 10:26 AM
if this map isnt bigger than San Andreas i'd be disappointed but just a little disappointed

of course riding horses would be much faster than running on foot and they were saying that the countryside outside will be full of life and stuff going on also all the time i believe it was said that that's where most of the side missions will come from the countryside

SmokehtheFirst
06-17-2007, 10:51 AM
And don't forget about your Assassin's Stronghold, that's somewhere in the countryside.

moqqy
06-17-2007, 12:05 PM
its not like anyone whines if GTA's got too big map.. they WANT big maps! Think about it like that in AC too. And it's going to be cool if the countryside is going to be full of life, all the side quests etc.

Karl_93
06-17-2007, 12:15 PM
hope u can fast travel like in obliv. Horseback all the time would sux *** unless you spent like 7 hours in one area before moving on to the next. Otherwise you would have to go back and forth, back and forth.

borat1985
06-17-2007, 12:40 PM
that Will take the fun out the game

Pinjani10
06-17-2007, 09:57 PM
Fast Travel wouldnt work for this game, its all about the realism. Also Im pretty sure its mentioned in some interview (DO NOT QUOTE ME ON THIS) that your first bunch of missions are in Acre so Im guessing your not going to take that 7hr ride until you are totally prepared :P

Karl_93
06-18-2007, 02:11 PM
kk hopefully then it will be something like this:
travel to acre, assassinate 2 ppl.
travel to base or something, find out where to go next.
travel to jerusalem, kill 2 more ppl.
travel to third city, (can someone plz tell me what it was, i forgot it http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif) kill like 3 ppl.
travel back to acre, kill 3 ppl.

well hopefully u get the picture. so if you spend like 4 hours per assassination, that would be about 8 hours + of gameplay in one region around the town before you will have to move on to the next one. And hopefully side quests wont skip around in cities. like starting in acre, traveling to some random bar to talk with someone, then traveling to jerusalem, then traveling back to acre. oh well hopefully ubi his it figured out.

tailstriker
06-18-2007, 03:43 PM
damascus?

Assassin41
06-19-2007, 03:40 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Karl_93:
hope u can fast travel like in obliv. Horseback all the time would sux *** unless you spent like 7 hours in one area before moving on to the next. Otherwise you would have to go back and forth, back and forth. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
ya that is kinda wat i was thinking, do u rekon its gonna be as big as oblivion. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif Because the oblivion map is HUGE!!

FableB
06-19-2007, 04:57 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Pinjani10:
Fast Travel wouldnt work for this game, its all about the realism. Also Im pretty sure its mentioned in some interview (DO NOT QUOTE ME ON THIS) that your first bunch of missions are in Acre so Im guessing your not going to take that 7hr ride until you are totally prepared :P </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I'm been watching some discussions here for a while now, and I'm seeing alot of people stretching the meaning of "realism" in this game way too far, I mean, sure the devs said that the game will be more close to reality than any other game but let's give them a break, this IS a game after all, and in games SOME things HAVE GOT to be a wee bit off the concept of realism.

RetiredHatch
06-19-2007, 05:16 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by FableB:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Pinjani10:
Fast Travel wouldnt work for this game, its all about the realism. Also Im pretty sure its mentioned in some interview (DO NOT QUOTE ME ON THIS) that your first bunch of missions are in Acre so Im guessing your not going to take that 7hr ride until you are totally prepared :P </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I'm been watching some discussions here for a while now, and I'm seeing alot of people stretching the meaning of "realism" in this game way too far, I mean, sure the devs said that the game will be more close to reality than any other game but let's give them a break, this IS a game after all, and in games SOME things HAVE GOT to be a wee bit off the concept of realism. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

ahh yep man that is true

the argument that it's supposed to be realistic has gotten a little old how about we be realistic in real life for a second and think about it a bit http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif would they really waste their time stretching out the landscape to make 7 hour travel times http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif

that could be said for a bunch of topics and arguments but for the sake of the topic i'll keep it to this one

good point fable http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

EDIT: i was thinking about it but they weren't saying wow look at this uber realistic game (the developers) but they've been bragging about the

attention to detail

which is pretty different than realism

AldirTheKnight
06-19-2007, 05:54 AM
well, I would say 50 to 60 square km would work for the game

moqqy
06-19-2007, 06:17 AM
the devs have said theyre aiming for realism not only "paying attention to detail"

anyawys, i wonder if the cities are 15 times THIS size

http://i11.tinypic.com/4u9sr52.jpg

kabura786
06-19-2007, 06:32 AM
i remember in one of the or actually in a couple of the v?deos they said that you can explore the countryside in between the citys and at one point ?n between citys you f?nd yourself ?n the m?ddle of one of the ma?n battles that went on at that t?me and you never know maybe there will be some s?de quests ?n between c?tys and on another note that all known facts thread needs to be updated cause ive noticed a few threads that really have already been answered by the new ?nterv?ews and v?deos that have come out

FableB
06-20-2007, 05:28 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by moqqy:
the devs have said theyre aiming for realism not only "paying attention to detail"

anyawys, i wonder if the cities are 15 times THIS size

http://i11.tinypic.com/4u9sr52.jpg </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes but something like "Fast Travel" isn't out of realism, I mean it's only a way to keep the player from becoming bored of riding his horse all the time...

This kind of "un-realism" is not prohibited in gaming, in fact, it makes things better as it keeps you eager when you travel fast to your objective rather than riding the horse from one city to another and getting bored...

borat1985
06-20-2007, 09:53 AM
i like it taken ages to get their most of the time,, thats what i do on oblivon
(i find it fun ((free roam MANIC!!!http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif!!!)))

moqqy
06-20-2007, 10:07 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by borat1985:
i like it taken ages to get their most of the time thats what i do on oblivon
(i find it fun ((free roam MANIC!!!http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif!!!))) </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


translation please:P

Boromir323
06-20-2007, 11:39 AM
I think he meant he likes it when it takes ages to travel because thats what he did in Oblivion.

Sphnxer51493
06-25-2007, 12:01 PM
Maybe someone already said this. I don't feel like reading all the post. But in an interiview Jade said that the maps to date are 15x the size of the map presented in the demo. So you can imagin http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif

moqqy
06-25-2007, 12:07 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Sphnxer51493:
Maybe someone already said this. I don't feel like reading all the post. But in an interiview Jade said that the maps to date are 15x the size of the map presented in the demo. So you can imagin http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

lmao seems like you didnt even bother to read the first post after the OP

Sphnxer51493
06-25-2007, 12:14 PM
Guess i did'nt read. Like i said i did'nt bother. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif But there is an interview. Its really kinda bootleg. But its 8 min. long which is leaks a good bit of info. I dont know how to get the video onto the forum. But here are the steps to get there.
1. go the gamevideos.com
2. Search (of course) Assassin's Creed
3. On the left side there is a list of videos. Go to the second page and the first interview.
4. Enjoy.

chikkenstorm
06-26-2007, 06:02 AM
Jade said there was Jerusalem, Acre and Damascus, right? If they did it on real scale, the terrain would have been gigantic. So I don't think they did that (and I hope so, because you would have to travel hours and hours to get to a city).
But I searched around a bit, and the old-Jeruzalem was about 1 square kilometer. And cities where build with the real maps, so I guess Jerusalem is going to be a city which is never seen before in a game.
I made a map with Google earth how big the real size is of that area.
http://img398.imageshack.us/img398/5636/mappw8.th.jpg (http://img398.imageshack.us/my.php?image=mappw8.jpg)
No way they made it as large like that. But it's going to be large, really large http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Karl_93
07-01-2007, 02:08 PM
i bet the cities are real size, but they will shrink down the country side inbetween.