PDA

View Full Version : 3 monitors - DEX? Cpt Lone Ranger? Anybody?



Old_Canuck
04-05-2007, 01:21 PM
After 7 years of waiting I've finally taken the plunge and upgraded to 3 monitors with Triplehead2go. It's already working for 3D drafting (see photo) but it still won't span 3 displays for IL2. It was set up in game to 3072X768 and conf.ini was edited to read thusly:

[window]
width=3072
height=768
ColourBits=32
DepthBits=24
StencilBits=8
ChangeScreenRes=1
FullScreen=1
DrawIfNotFocused=0
EnableResize=0
EnableClose=1
SaveAspect=0
Use3Renders=0

Apparently changing the width/height and SaveAspect=0 is not enough. See any mistakes here? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

http://www.woodbuddies.com/PF/th2go.jpg

Old_Canuck
04-05-2007, 01:21 PM
After 7 years of waiting I've finally taken the plunge and upgraded to 3 monitors with Triplehead2go. It's already working for 3D drafting (see photo) but it still won't span 3 displays for IL2. It was set up in game to 3072X768 and conf.ini was edited to read thusly:

[window]
width=3072
height=768
ColourBits=32
DepthBits=24
StencilBits=8
ChangeScreenRes=1
FullScreen=1
DrawIfNotFocused=0
EnableResize=0
EnableClose=1
SaveAspect=0
Use3Renders=0

Apparently changing the width/height and SaveAspect=0 is not enough. See any mistakes here? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

http://www.woodbuddies.com/PF/th2go.jpg

p-11.cAce
04-05-2007, 01:27 PM
Just taking a stab at here - have you tried it with "fullscreen=0"?

Red_lightning1
04-05-2007, 01:27 PM
IIRC try Use3Renders=1

Old_Canuck
04-05-2007, 01:41 PM
Good guesses but no joy http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif I just tried both suggestions individually and together. Still showing the center screen only. Others are running this setup ok so the answer will come eventually. Thanks for trying.

Red_lightning1
04-05-2007, 01:48 PM
On closer examination of the settings,ChangeScreenRes looks odd.

try

[window]
width=3072
height=768
ColourBits=32
DepthBits=24
StencilBits=8
ChangeScreenRes=0
FullScreen=1
DrawIfNotFocused=0
EnableResize=0
EnableClose=1
SaveAspect=0
Use3Renders=1


This is mine on a 32" WS IIRC both ChangeScreenRes and SaveAspect need to be changed for it to work.

[window]
width=1808
height=1028
ColourBits=32
DepthBits=24
StencilBits=8
ChangeScreenRes=0
FullScreen=1
DrawIfNotFocused=0
EnableResize=0
EnableClose=1
SaveAspect=0
Use3Renders=0

Old_Canuck
04-05-2007, 02:19 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Red_lightning1:
.... </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

LOL My Dumb. The menu stays in the middle screen and it only spans 3 monitors when the game fully loads. Both my original settings and yours seem to work ok. Now if there's only a way to zoom back a bit so the cockpit isn't right up in my beard. Time to go to work now but will check here in a few hours if there's any more advice to be heard.

http://www.woodbuddies.com/PF/IL2.jpg

rnzoli
04-05-2007, 02:45 PM
Oh......my....... God..........BEAUTIFUL........!


What a wide FOV! Have your tried flying in the valleys with this setup? Or in formation with other aircraft? Please tell us more....!!!!!! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif


BTW, don't be angry at yourself, I fooled myself with the menu screen as well when trying to change SaveAspectRatio parameter. It has no effect on menu screen, only on the in-flight screen http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif took a while before I figured that one out http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

horseback
04-05-2007, 04:03 PM
I too, must admit to feeling lust in my heart for your setup.... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

cheers

horseback

BillyTheKid_22
04-05-2007, 04:10 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Old_Canuck:
After 7 years of waiting I've finally taken the plunge and upgraded to 3 monitors with Triplehead2go. It's already working for 3D drafting (see photo) but it still won't span 3 displays for IL2. It was set up in game to 3072X768 and conf.ini was edited to read thusly:

[window]
width=3072
height=768
ColourBits=32
DepthBits=24
StencilBits=8
ChangeScreenRes=1
FullScreen=1
DrawIfNotFocused=0
EnableResize=0
EnableClose=1
SaveAspect=0
Use3Renders=0

Apparently changing the width/height and SaveAspect=0 is not enough. See any mistakes here? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

http://www.woodbuddies.com/PF/th2go.jpg </div></BLOCKQUOTE>



Wow!! LoL http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Old_Canuck
04-05-2007, 06:11 PM
Thx for the comments guys but does anyone know how to get that view where you have the wings showing on the outside monitors? With the present settings it feels like I'm virtually standing up over the instrument panel with my nose scrunched against the plexiglass.

DooDaH2007
04-05-2007, 06:47 PM
Perhaps I am making a dumb remark (don't know the poster), but the 'Delete' key and and 'pgdown' are the keys which control the zooming...

edit: hmm, I see a trackir4, so I am probably indeed making a dumb remark...

Old_Canuck
04-06-2007, 12:27 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by rnzoli:
Oh......my....... God..........BEAUTIFUL........!


What a wide FOV! Have your tried flying in the valleys with this setup? Or in formation with other aircraft? Please tell us more....!!!!!! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif


BTW, don't be angry at yourself, I fooled myself with the menu screen as well when trying to change SaveAspectRatio parameter. It has no effect on menu screen, only on the in-flight screen http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif took a while before I figured that one out http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Haven't tried flying valleys yet but just got shot down in technicolor on ZekeVsWildcats. The up-in-your-face cockpit view takes a bit of getting used to but the trade off is having improved peripheral vision. Aircraft recognition used to be a problem for this old boy on ZVsW but on this trip I was able to spot a Zeke and a Betty in plenty of time to try a head on snapshot in their general direction lol. Like I say, it will take some getting used to but the first nice surprise is how it helps SA.

LEBillfish
04-06-2007, 12:43 AM
Just curious, yet are you "really" getting a wider view?......Or simply spreading everyone elses single screen over 3 so due to the ratio on height losing top and bottom?

If that is the case, the only solution (and yes just guessing) would be a monitor below the center one for insturments and to regain that cockpit feel...

Sjeler
04-06-2007, 05:30 AM
He is getting wider view because width=3072, 3x more than on single monitor

grifter2u
04-06-2007, 06:35 AM
so why cant you just change the FoV ?

you are using a 3072 X 768 resolution, but that shouldnt prevent you from altering the FoV to suite you.