PDA

View Full Version : Game randomly lags and restarts my display



Jonoc331
04-30-2010, 07:43 AM
Every say 5 minutes or so the game randomly restarts the display on my monitor. It lags for about 5 seconds or so, my monitor tells me theres no signal, then it comes back again. Now it's happening more frequently in the Iraq level. Don't know what to do. I'm using an ATI 3870 on Windows 7 x64, with updated drivers.

Jonoc331
04-30-2010, 07:43 AM
Every say 5 minutes or so the game randomly restarts the display on my monitor. It lags for about 5 seconds or so, my monitor tells me theres no signal, then it comes back again. Now it's happening more frequently in the Iraq level. Don't know what to do. I'm using an ATI 3870 on Windows 7 x64, with updated drivers.

James-24
04-30-2010, 07:46 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Jonoc331:
Every say 5 minutes or so the game randomly restarts the display on my monitor. It lags for about 5 seconds or so, my monitor tells me theres no signal, then it comes back again. Now it's happening more frequently in the Iraq level. Don't know what to do. I'm using an ATI 3870 on Windows 7 x64, with updated drivers. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

This is a classic sign of your graphics card overheating. Used to happen to me all the time when I first got Crysis (strangely, also on my hold HD3870)
You may want to check your temperatures and see if you get a message saying "driver stopped responding". Good luck.

mizfitz
04-30-2010, 05:06 PM
Unfortunately the ATI 3x series cards are problematic - and are not fully supported. When you look at the system requirements on the back of the box, you will see the 3x series is not listed.

BlckLstd Blace
04-30-2010, 05:13 PM
I have talked with a guy about similar problems in another thread:

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/foru...1014258/m/5851070858 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/7211014258/m/5851070858)

I dont think its an overheating issue but like mizfitz said a lack of support for your gfx card series.

Mizfitz could you tell us exactly where the problem lies? Will this be fixed with a patch from ubisoft or will we have to wait for a new version of catalyst?

kirzan
04-30-2010, 07:21 PM
Does this mean Ubisoft won't do anything about it? We've seen ATI try to do their best to make this work? But what about Ubisoft? Any work on your part mizfitz?

chmun77
04-30-2010, 07:45 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by James-24:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Jonoc331:
Every say 5 minutes or so the game randomly restarts the display on my monitor. It lags for about 5 seconds or so, my monitor tells me theres no signal, then it comes back again. Now it's happening more frequently in the Iraq level. Don't know what to do. I'm using an ATI 3870 on Windows 7 x64, with updated drivers. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

This is a classic sign of your graphics card overheating. Used to happen to me all the time when I first got Crysis (strangely, also on my hold HD3870)
You may want to check your temperatures and see if you get a message saying "driver stopped responding". Good luck. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Not overheating. I having the same problem. Having been using the card for other games and it is working fine. No overclocking or anything.
I hope Ubi will solve the issue asap. How can possibly such a new game is unable to support by older cards like 3xxx series?! Is absurd!

th3_d3s7roy3r
05-05-2010, 02:08 PM
You are lucky that your display card only restarts. I use ATI Radeon HD 3850 and every 15-20 minutes I get a VPU recovery message and my game stops. Sometimes I even have to restart my PC since the D3D drivers also stop o.O. In the Iraq level I get the VPU recovery every 2 min, so I got ****ed off and decided to wait for a proper patch or drivers - using catalyst 10.4 now! Very well done ubi...

LazyDev
05-05-2010, 08:15 PM
If the graphics card driver crashes or stops responding, it's not the game's fault. It's the driver's fault.

The game uses DirectX. The driver has to support all features of DirectX and all types of operations supported by the API. If some operations make the driver crash, it's because there's a bug in the driver.

In WindowsXP a driver crash generates a blue screen, but Windows Vista and 7 have the ability to restart the graphics driver in that case. That's probably what causes the flash or lag some of you are experiencing.

To see if it's really the driver that crashed, you can look in Window's event log. Go in Start-&gt;Run and type "eventvwr". Click on the "System" category, and you should see a warning telling you that Windows has detected that the graphics driver has stopped responding and that it has been restarted.

Chong.sx3
05-05-2010, 08:34 PM
I feel like I've been sodomized by buying this crap. Spent some cash only to lease the game and pay for internet to play single person. What a bunch of garbage.

Worse then that it is played through in a weekend. What a short game and it feels it isn't even mine since I need internet otherwise it's useless. Ubisoft ruins yet another amazing series. How do I get my money back, I feel ripped the F off!

M.G._7
05-06-2010, 05:13 AM
I have the same problem with 3850 graph.
Will ubisoft fix this or we must wait ATI to do it ?? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

Smartcom5
05-06-2010, 12:27 PM
Originally posted by chmun77:

Originally posted by James-24:

Originally posted by Jonoc331:
Every say 5 minutes or so the game randomly restarts the display on my monitor. It lags for about 5 seconds or so, my monitor tells me theres no signal, then it comes back again. Now it's happening more frequently in the Iraq level. Don't know what to do. I'm using an ATI 3870 on Windows 7 x64, with updated drivers.

This is a classic sign of your graphics card overheating. Used to happen to me all the time when I first got Crysis (strangely, also on my hold HD3870)
You may want to check your temperatures and see if you get a message saying "driver stopped responding". Good luck.

Not overheating. I having the same problem. Having been using the card for other games and it is working fine.
No overclocking or anything.
I hope Ubi will solve the issue asap. How can possibly such a new game is unable to support by older cards like 3xxx series?! Is absurd!

... it's always that easy for the publisher/producer, isn't it ? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif
Like the fiasco with OFhttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gifR˛.

Anyway, honestly ...

The statement that this notification ("The Display-Driver has been reset.") is the sign or indication that the card is/was overheating, is [at best] only half the truth. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

The Windows-Message "VPU Recover has reset your graphics accelerator as it was no longer responding to graphics driver commands." is just the named fact, that the GPU [you can also name it VPU, if you would be happier with that http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif] wasn't responding and was therefore resetted through Windows per VPU-Recover.

There isn't any precise thing you can nail it on.
It can happen, if the GPU [or the card in general] is over- or undervoltaged.
It can happen, if the GPU/Mem is over- or underclocked.
It can happen, if the card is overheated - of course! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif
There are few/rare near-hardware coded tools which do something at lower levels, which can prevent OverDrive™ from setting/changing the card's values - Let's say, a full-screen capture with Fraps - you name it.
There is just a huge bunch of things that can provoke/trigger that stuff.
You see, it's an endless story ... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

You probably already guess it, there are also endless possible solutions. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

One of the most cases are caused due to the fact, that most people don't think much about their rig if they buy a new card - and wonder why/if the card doesn't work as expected - since it is permanently undervoltaged and the computer freezes if it [tries to] puffes out its cheeks [the card] - newer cards need such a big amount of current from the power supply [like 25-30 Amps on the 12 V rail].


Another thing is of course if the card is overclocked.
Here's by the way an interesting thing - if someone doesn't knew it;
Underclocking usually produces even more failures as overclocking does.


As many of you could know, a huge amount of games blocks switching back to Windows using alt+tab'ing.
You know it, you can hit the keys endless times, it won't take you back.
Some of this techniques used to provide this blocking, can interfere with the 'ATI Hotkey Poller' which comes with and is is a part of the ATI Catalyst driver.
Since then, the deactivation of it can be another solution. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif
It just registers as the ATI Hotkey Poller which brings up specific ATI utilities ...
Not only is this useless to 99.99% of users but there is no documentation anywhere on those hotkeys.
It sometimes can rarely use up to 85% of CPU resources.
Older versions of this process are known as ATIPOLAB.
The ATI Hotkey Poller consists of 'atiedxx.exe' and 'atiesrxx.exe' and are the 'AMD External Events Client Module' and 'AMD External Events Service Module'.
Both processes are executed when the Windows Service 'AMD External Events Utility' is started.
This service was known as the ATI Hotkey Poller back in Windows XP and Windows Vista.

Deactivate it can solve the problem.
Again, it's absolutely safe to turn it off, since it's optional. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif


So in general ...
If the card isn't getting too hot and the voltages are stable/sufficient it's usually a driver/software related problem - - especially if the VPU-Recover occurs immediately after the game was started and reached the main menu.
You may also take a look at the voltages.
That's by the way the matter why i found that thread - my GPU was reset immediately after i reached the main menu.
And there wasn't any kind of malfunction, like overheating or voltages [~ 27 °C].

As a rule of thumb;
If the whole computer goes stuttering/sluggish even at high frame-rates it's mostly a sign of voltage problems.
If it goes sluggish with great frame-skips there's mostly problems with temperatures and so on ...

Some Tools you may find helpful:
HW Monitor [PRO]
A Tool which shows the current/max/min voltages/fan-speeds/temperatures
http://www.cpuid.com/hwmonitor.php
CPU-Z
Should be on every computer.
http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php
GPU-Z
You would miss that too.
http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/
ATI Tray Tools
Anything you can imagine doing with your graphics card.
http://www.guru3d.com/article/ati-tray-tools-/

I'm glad if that could help someone! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif


In this sense

Smartcom