PDA

View Full Version : X-52 profile



AznKamiKazeKid
07-24-2006, 12:29 PM
Who here has the best X-52 profile for FB+AEP+PF? One that uses 3+ modes? please i would really like to have one.

AznKamiKazeKid
07-24-2006, 12:29 PM
Who here has the best X-52 profile for FB+AEP+PF? One that uses 3+ modes? please i would really like to have one.

hi_stik
07-24-2006, 01:17 PM
I don't have any profiles or anything, but I'd like to know why you have a Tomcat patch next to a Flanker. That's just odd.

EnteringAccounT
07-24-2006, 01:44 PM
I use Lo's x52 profile. Seems to be pretty good. check out the link below.

http://bellsouthpwp.net/l/o/lordoliver/download.htm

VMF-214_HaVoK
07-24-2006, 02:31 PM
I dont understand why people need a profile for X52 with FB/PF. I own a X52 and use no profile for the simple fact that FB recognizes all the buttons and sliders.

AznKamiKazeKid
07-24-2006, 02:40 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content"> I don't have any profiles or anything, but I'd like to know why you have a Tomcat patch next to a Flanker. That's just odd. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

lol yea i just put it there because it said "anytime baby." yea...ill change that in the future, I'm about to create a new sig anyway.

thanks MonroePD496 for the profile, ill check it out.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content"> I dont understand why people need a profile for X52 with FB/PF. I own a X52 and use no profile for the simple fact that FB recognizes all the buttons and sliders. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Well i want a profile because i'm rather new coming into this sim. So i want to have an idea what are the buttons everyone uses and then ill create me own profile based on the example.

HitchHikerHSDWG
07-24-2006, 02:51 PM
I have to say to that PF recognizes the X-52 buttons in game so theres no need for a profile. The only buttons I have profiled are two push to talk keys to utilize ventrillo. Everything else is set in game. I would also say you (I know it seems difficult and a pain) should make your own profile rather than use someone elses. What works for one person does not neccessarily work for another.

NonWonderDog
07-24-2006, 03:59 PM
There is one reason to use a profile, though. In my profile I use the thumb slider on top of the throttle to smoothly change FOV. I move it forward to zoom in and move it back to zoom out. Really useful.

I did that by mapping all the keys on the top row to FOV settings, and assigning each key to one of 13 bands on the slider. The only disadvantage is the FOV change whenever I give radio commands to the AI. (DOH! I'd have to remap EVERYTHING on my keyboard to fix it, and I'm too lazy.)

Using the different stick modes, however, is absolutely unnecessary. There aren't nearly enough functions to warrant it.

AznKamiKazeKid
07-24-2006, 04:50 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">There is one reason to use a profile, though. In my profile I use the thumb slider on top of the throttle to smoothly change FOV. I move it forward to zoom in and move it back to zoom out. Really useful. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


NonWonderDog, could you send me your profile, i always wanted to smoothly change the FOV in il2 but couldn't do it. This option is opened in lock on but i didn't find a way to do it in il2 unless i get a trackir, which will be a while http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

bogusheadbox
07-25-2006, 04:01 AM
As for not having a profile as you don't need one. I am not too sure about that.

I have a profile set up and spread out over the 3 modes.

Mode one toggles are for flight and bombing controls.
Mode two toggles are for lights gear canopy (take off landing items)
Mode 3 toggles are for emergency items (extinguishers and other nik naks)

Makes life easier when they can be differentiated. Fair enough that the majority of the buttons can be mapped straight from the IL2 controls page.

I have flaps mapped direct to the slider (and that makes a huge difference having full control of your flaps instead of 3 pre-set angles). I have elevator and rudduer trim mapped straight to rotaries. etec.

But for sperating flight functions the way i wanted them. It makes sense to have a porfile. But that is the way it works best for me.

NonWonderDog
07-25-2006, 12:25 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by AznKamiKazeKid:
NonWonderDog, could you send me your profile, i always wanted to smoothly change the FOV in il2 but couldn't do it. This option is opened in lock on but i didn't find a way to do it in il2 unless i get a trackir, which will be a while http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

My profile's up on my school webspace, here:
http://www-personal.umich.edu/~rgmorris/IL2Profile.zip (http://www-personal.umich.edu/%7Ergmorris/IL2Profile.zip)

My settings.ini is included so you don't have to guess my key config. It took a lot of fiddling to get all the bands set up, but it works perfectly except for the radio thing. I don't think I could live without it anymore.

I ended up having to map "weapon 1" and "weapon 2" to the keyboard in order to get the two-stage trigger working properly, too. If you set the second stage to "weapon 1+2" the machineguns stop firing when you go from the second stage to the first. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif


I almost forgot, there's another reason to use a profile. I have my joystick set up so, instead of repeatedly tapping the manual gear key to raise the I-16's gear, I just have to hold down pinky+T5. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

dbillo
07-25-2006, 12:33 PM
Another way to handle FOV with the X-52 is to program the scroll wheel on the throttle to execute default keystrokes "PageUp" for one direction and "Home" for the other. Right at your fingertip, very smooth, and doesn't require setting any new key assignments.

I also have pressing the scroll wheel to execute "Shift+F1" toggle gunsight. Again, a default key assignment wherever possible.

NonWonderDog
07-25-2006, 10:36 PM
I've got a slightly different philosophy on that. Any function that I use regularly I map directly or, failing that, I remap to a key that does not include a modifier (SHIFT, CTRL, ALT). I tend to push several buttons at once, and things start acting strangely if you have SHIFT mapped to one of them.

I currently have SHIFT-F1 remapped to BACKSPACE mapped to Button D. I don't actually know why I did that, because Button D is only used for one function on my profile. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif I've got a bunch of little tweaks that I should probably make, but I'm far too lazy to change things.

AznKamiKazeKid
07-26-2006, 11:23 AM
Thanks NonWonderDog, the zoom slider works fine! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

HitchHikerHSDWG
07-26-2006, 04:40 PM
I use the hat switch on my x-52 throttle to activate the gunner sight (shift F1) If I press forward it toggles the sight, left is TrackIR pause, right is TrackIR re-center, and back is TrackIR smooth. I'm going to change my field of view to the scroll wheel today when I get home as it can help to zoom in to get a better shot. Right now its just set to the keyboard.

I have been thinking of setting up a landing mode, combat mode and bombing mode as well but I havent got around to it yet.

xf458
04-14-2007, 10:46 AM
The only real reason for a Profile is so the game will reconize all the buttons and sliders, but having a profile also saves time so you don't have to set all the buttons and sliders

Mercwolf2
04-16-2007, 07:20 AM
Hi

Do you have the airelon trim set up to anything? I have had a minor problem changing my set up in the control section on the main page. It won't allow me to change my HOTAS configurations. It won't change the setting I have for airelon trim to flaps. HELP!!!!!!

Tchaiky
05-07-2007, 08:09 AM
Check out this profile. It allows extensive use of the 3 modes of the Joystick. Hope you like it!

http://www.ala13.es/foro/viewtopic.php?t=2469

S!

Freelancer-1
05-07-2007, 09:26 PM
Here's my setup. It has changed somewhat since I made this and it's designed around having a TrackIR, but let me know if you want it and I'll send you the profile. Could be a good starting point anyway http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

You'll rarely need to touch the keyboard with this one http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y189/Freelancer1/Misc/Mode-1.jpg

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y189/Freelancer1/Misc/Mode-2.jpg

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y189/Freelancer1/Misc/Mode-3.jpg

RamsteinUSA
05-08-2007, 06:02 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Freelancer-1:
Here's my setup. It has changed somewhat since I made this and it's designed around having a TrackIR, but let me know if you want it and I'll send you the profile. Could be a good starting point anyway http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

You'll rarely need to touch the keyboard with this one http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

</div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Could you send me your profile? I sent you a PM..thanx..

I have profiles for the Saitek X52 Pro. I can send those interested a link, or the files.

Thanx..
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

RamsteinUSA
05-08-2007, 06:09 AM
BTW,

Saitek released a new version of software and drivers, but it's Beta, and also, they made it so the old profiles don't work, you have to make brand new profiles for the new software. They 'Say' they are making a profile converter. but I am pissed they changed formats 'Again' and did not release a profile converter! I'll be %$$%# damned if I am going to make new profiles again, I just made all new profiles when I bought new Saitek Stick 2 freking months ago! I spent a week making new profiles, and was really pissed when they changed to new profiles again!

http://www.saitekforum.com/

oh well, I know they will make the profile converter soon,, (hopefully soon) I was just pissed when they again changed profile formats, as I ain't going to spend another weeks making new profiles again, 2 months later..

RamsteinUSA
05-08-2007, 03:43 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Freelancer-1 </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Looks like your profile is not for the X52 pro. They are not interchangeable profiles. Oh well. I guess i can always plug in the commands by hand. I am going to wait until Saitek releases a converter, and also when the new Saitek software comes out of Beta... Thanx a bunch for the quick response!

S!
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

Lehnert
05-08-2007, 04:49 PM
Hello Freelancer-1,
your profile for the X-52 looks awesome.

But I have one question please and hope you will be able to answer:

How did you release the MAP-ZOOM ?
With what kind of the issues to make a profile in which way ??

At this time I think you have to position the
mouse arrow to the map and then you can zoom, as example, with the mouse.

HOw this works with your profile - to take the mouse arrow inside the MAP and turn the Button to zoom ??

Cheers to you,
Gerhard


[QUOTE]Originally posted by Freelancer-1:
Here's my setup. It has changed somewhat since I made this and it's designed around having a TrackIR, but let me know if you want it and I'll send you the profile. Could be a good starting point anyway http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

You'll rarely need to touch the keyboard with this one http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Freelancer-1
05-08-2007, 07:14 PM
@Lehnert,

Once you enable the map you get the mouse arrow on the screen. Using the mouse look mini stick (now the mouse controller), move it over the map and roll your map zoom. Which is simply mapping the roll to left mouse click.

It seemed like a good idea at the time, but in practice it didn't work out so well so I scrapped it.


@RamsteinUSA

It sux that Saitek can't have a simple conversion proggy as part of each new software release.

You think they'd know that the last thing people want is to reinput every keystroke every time a new version of the profiler comes out http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-mad.gif

Lehnert
05-09-2007, 01:56 AM
Hallo Freelancer-1,
thank you for your fast response and the description !!

Greetings
Gerhard

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Freelancer-1:
@Lehnert,

Once you enable the map you get the mouse arrow on the screen. Using the mouse look mini stick (now the mouse controller), move it over the map and roll your map zoom. Which is simply mapping the roll to left mouse click.

It seemed like a good idea at the time, but in practice it didn't work out so well so I scrapped it.


@RamsteinUSA

It sux that Saitek can't have a simple conversion proggy as part of each new software release.

You think they'd know that the last thing people want is to reinput every keystroke every time a new version of the profiler comes out http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-mad.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

notamuppet
05-09-2007, 02:25 PM
Hello freelancer. That looks just the sort of thing I need. Could you pm me or even put the profile on the saitek forum? Thanks in advance.

Freelancer-1
05-09-2007, 04:03 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by notamuppet:
Hello freelancer. That looks just the sort of thing I need. Could you pm me or even put the profile on the saitek forum? Thanks in advance. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Or better yet, you could PM me with your email addy and I'd be happy to send it over http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

notamuppet
05-10-2007, 02:28 AM
Thanks a lot http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Giantiguana20
05-11-2007, 04:08 PM
I use the slider for my brakes. It makes takeoff way easier considering even with a little brake on rudders turn the plane much better. Also keeps me from having to pulse my brakes on landings.

Cobra427so
05-12-2007, 12:26 PM
Freelancer-1

I've PM you with my e-mail, I'd love to try out that setup, looks really good!

Thanks!
Cobra427so

guitarman1968
05-20-2007, 08:41 AM
PM sent http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

RamsteinUSA
05-23-2007, 03:18 AM
I have updated my profiles:

I have them up for download at:

These Saitek X52 Pro Profiles for the new Saitek X52 Pro Beta WinXP 32 Drivers and Software Only ... are in one zip file:

Falcon 4:Allied Force
LockOn: Flaming Cliffs
IL-2
WOV (Wings Over Vietnam)

Download at:
http://www.saitekforum.com/
(in the game Profiles forum) I could not attach the file here in the IL-2 forums..

Vegas771
05-23-2007, 10:51 AM
I went to the link you provided & can't find anything called "game profiles forum". Do you have to register at Saitek in order to see this? Thanks!

Lehnert
05-23-2007, 01:50 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Vegas771:
I went to the link you provided & can't find anything called "game profiles forum". Do you have to register at Saitek in order to see this? Thanks! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Hello RamsteinUSA,

I am looking too.
And did not find game profilers Forum...........

Cheers,
GErhard

RamsteinUSA
05-24-2007, 11:36 AM
Maybe you do have to log into the forum,, but it won't kill you, either that or forget about it..
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

CarpeNoctem43
05-25-2007, 07:45 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Maybe you do have to log into the forum,, but it won't kill you, either that or forget about it.. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

What a guy.. Such a gentleman and a scholar.

I guess it's too much to get a working link without the requirement of registration.

RamsteinUSA
05-25-2007, 12:56 PM
Well,, then... the profile won't do you much good then, because it's for the Saitek Beta Software and drivers, adn you can only get that from that website.. so your whole argument blaming me for not giving you a direct link is nullified. (and kooky)
1)I offered you hours of my work as a download
2) you refuse to go to the site to get the Beta software needed to run the beta Profile

Where do you people come from???
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

Freelancer-1
05-25-2007, 01:20 PM
I'm gonna have to back you up on that, Ramstein.

I was wondering the same thing myself.

Once the new profiler is out of beta I will be having a close look at your profiles.

May I thank you for the time and effort to make them and upload them for others to use http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Vegas771
05-25-2007, 10:39 PM
What is the advantage of Beta I? I'm doing fine with the current Saitek software for my X52 (unless there are new features?)

I would concur with the response to your comment tho Ram, we were only asking why something didn't work & how to sort it out. You seemed a little terse, but I do appreciate the work in a profile, they can be difficult. I think everyone just wanted a little more info, that's all.

RamsteinUSA
05-26-2007, 10:59 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Freelancer-1:
I'm gonna have to back you up on that, Ramstein.

I was wondering the same thing myself.

Once the new profiler is out of beta I will be having a close look at your profiles.

May I thank you for the time and effort to make them and upload them for others to use http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Thanx.. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/metal.gif

and btw http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/crackwhip.gif, for those not paying attention http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/mockface.gif, the Beta is now uses the offical profile software used, all older profiles will no longer work with with the newest software and drivers. But, they have 'promised' they will make 'profile converter' But, over the 7 or more years I have owned Saitek sticks, whenver they promise something, it can take years before they deliver. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif

Vegas771
05-26-2007, 04:44 PM
Well, since no one answered the "why is beta better" question, I'm not going to use it. Beta isn't always better, and I agree that Saitek is never in a hurry to fix compatibility issues. It will screw up my other profiles & without knowing what advantages there are to it, I'll just stick with what I have.

llama_thumper
05-27-2007, 09:52 AM
to the guys that have the x52 pro profile with the slider on the throttle set to zoom/unzoom view: are you able to configure it in such a way as to not make it "type" stuff into the chat bar, once activated?
i have the lowest band set to '1', and the '1' key configured to widest field of view.
unfortunately, whenever i try to type now, all i get is '1's... any way around that?

Yellow_Sub
05-28-2007, 03:16 AM
You probably have bound the keys as simple commands. With that method the slider is always active and will produce the 1 key continuously. You have to bind it as an advanced command*, with that method the slider will only produce commands if you slide the slider, trough the bands.

I had the same problem, but I used the default(?) keys Delete/End/PageDown.

Once I tried to put ALT+1 - ALT+0 on the slider for all the fields of view. But it turned out it messed up the radio commands to the AI air planes (online chat probably too). Since it would produce a 1-9 input when the slider is moved.

So I would be careful about putting the number keys on the slider.

* I am not sure how that option is called in English, but you will get 3 Input fields (Press key/ Repeat key /Release key).

llama_thumper
05-28-2007, 06:13 AM
thanks yellow, yes, that seems to be the problem.
i am looking into the 'advanced command' tihng you told me and trying to figure it out, but don't know where to start, i guess in the profile editor? i will have a look around, can you give me an example of how i can make one of the band keys 'advanced'?

Yellow_Sub
05-28-2007, 06:38 AM
Yes in the profile editor. You can use 4 ways to bind a command to the joystick.
1. Simple Commands or Keystrokes
2. Multiple Keystrokes or Combined Keystrokes (for example ALT+F)
3. Macros
4. Advanced Commands

You probably left clicked the band and entered 1. That's what is causing the trouble. You have to right click on the band and select New Advanced Command.

Click on the 'Press' field and hit 1. You should get an entry like 1 (key-pressed) 1 (key-released) 0.06 seconds and in the 'Release' field 1 with 0.00 seconds. That's how it works in my profile. However I don't use the number keys.

llama_thumper
05-28-2007, 06:59 AM
thanks - i've tried it but it doesn't work http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif
any idea what it could be?
will ask also in the Saitek forums...

Freelancer-1
05-28-2007, 07:23 AM
You can try this. It should work if I remember right.

Open the 3D view and select Precision Slider

Click the little arrow on the right side.

Click 'Bands'.

Now click twice in the field to create three bands. You can drag them up and down until they are where you want them, then click the check mark.

Right click 'Precision Slide 0-33%' (or however it looks for you)

Click 'New Advanced Command'.

In the pop up click in the 'Press' field and press the key the key you have mapped for wide view.

Repeat for each section with the appropriate keys for normal and zoom views and see if that works.

llama_thumper
05-28-2007, 07:42 AM
thanks freelancer - it is exactly what i have done, but with 13 bands instead of 3, and with the keys assigned to the individual zoom settings instead of the 3 general wide/normal/gunsight views.
now the slider doesn't react at all to movement http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Yellow_Sub
05-28-2007, 10:33 AM
Should work though. Easiest thing would be if you upload your X52 profile and the settings.ini (it's your IL2 key layout), it is under \IL2\Users\PilotName. So we can take a look at it.

I think the easiest free host is www.badongo.com (http://www.badongo.com) at the moment. Also check if your slider works from 1-100%.

llama_thumper
05-28-2007, 11:10 AM
ok, here we go - once again thanks for the help:

http://redo.net/temp/public/settings.ini
http://www.redo.net/temp/public/IL2Sturmovik.dat

Yellow_Sub
05-28-2007, 12:06 PM
Sorry the IL2Sturmovik.dat seems to be completely empty in my profile editor. I think you need to upload the IL2Sturmovik.pr0 file too.

llama_thumper
05-28-2007, 12:28 PM
alright, not sure - file shows 172kB. just in case i have deleted it and uploaded it again.
the pr0 file is a temp file, at least i saw a post on the saitek forum about this. can you try again?

Yellow_Sub
05-28-2007, 12:33 PM
Hmm, when I load the IL2Sturmovik.dat there is not a single command in it, everything is empty. I am using version 4.3.4.8 of the profile editor.

Edit: I just tried to load it into the joystick and got an error message. Saying there is no profile for this joysstick in the file.

Do you have the X-52Pro? I have the X-52.
You are using the old software and not the new beta or?

EDIT 2: Sorry, just saw you have the X-52Pro I guess that's the problem. I hope someone with a X-52Pro can take over.

llama_thumper
05-28-2007, 12:58 PM
ok... i am using the x-52 pro, which might explain it.
did not know that the profiles are that different http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif - apologies.

llama_thumper
05-29-2007, 01:55 PM
for a solution see:
http://www.saitekforum.com/showthread.php?p=55736&posted=1#post55736

Vegas771
05-30-2007, 08:48 AM
Hey Freelancer, just wanted to say 'thanks' for the explanation of the precision slider. Banding setups always give me fits, and your directions really helped!

Weave1
08-15-2007, 05:03 PM
PM'd freelancer. Please send the X52 profile so I can build off of it. If someone has it posted online please email it to me at weaverjd@gmail.com

Thanks,

DD_crash
08-16-2007, 08:07 AM
Its becoming very popular shadow http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/clap.gif

Weave1
08-16-2007, 03:36 PM
If someone can send me this profile I would be glad to provide a download on a webpage host where others can quickly reference this thread. Just need the files emailed to weaverjd@gamil.com

Freelancer-1
08-19-2007, 10:21 AM
Hi Weave

Been away from the boards lately.

I'll send you the profile shortly http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Weave1
08-20-2007, 08:33 PM
Thanks! :P

K_Freddie
08-30-2007, 07:23 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by VMF-214_HaVoK:
I dont understand why people need a profile for X52 with FB/PF. I own a X52 and use no profile for the simple fact that FB recognizes all the buttons and sliders. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Bingo !! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Treesqueak
09-11-2007, 07:05 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Freelancer-1:
Here's my setup. It has changed somewhat since I made this and it's designed around having a TrackIR, but let me know if you want it and I'll send you the profile. Could be a good starting point anyway http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

You'll rarely need to touch the keyboard with this one http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

This looks like what I've been trying to do. Could you please send me a copy of the profile to try. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif If I can figure out this PM I'll send my address.

Thanks.

Mike

Wild.Bill.Kelso
09-12-2007, 04:03 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by NonWonderDog:
There is one reason to use a profile, though. In my profile I use the thumb slider on top of the throttle to smoothly change FOV. I move it forward to zoom in and move it back to zoom out. Really useful.

I did that by mapping all the keys on the top row to FOV settings, and assigning each key to one of 13 bands on the slider. The only disadvantage is the FOV change whenever I give radio commands to the AI. (DOH! I'd have to remap EVERYTHING on my keyboard to fix it, and I'm too lazy.) </div></BLOCKQUOTE>I tried this using Alt-1 to Alt-0... etc.. But when I map it to bands on my slider and download it to my X52, the X52 now continously sends Alt-X or whatever keystroke it's on at the time to Windows. Windows beeps like crazy. Is this just something you live with? And have to unload the profile from the Hotas after you play??

Treesqueak
09-13-2007, 03:24 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by RamsteinUSA:
BTW,

Saitek released a new version of software and drivers, but it's Beta, and also, they made it so the old profiles don't work, you have to make brand new profiles for the new software. They 'Say' they are making a profile converter. but I am pissed they changed formats 'Again' and did not release a profile converter! I'll be %$$%# damned if I am going to make new profiles again, I just made all new profiles when I bought new Saitek Stick 2 freking months ago! I spent a week making new profiles, and was really pissed when they changed to new profiles again!

http://www.saitekforum.com/

oh well, I know they will make the profile converter soon,, (hopefully soon) I was just pissed when they again changed profile formats, as I ain't going to spend another weeks making new profiles again, 2 months later.. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Well I d/l the converter and can't get it to work. There is no documentation with it at all. I've got Freelancer's profile (thanks) and tried to convert it, but no luck. I point the program to the dir the dat file is in and it doesn't even see it. Oh well.

Treesqueak
09-16-2007, 12:33 AM
I found out why I couldn't get the converter program to work for me. It will only convert X52 profiles to X52 PRO profiles only if the profile was saved as a .pro not .dat file. Looks like the guy who wrote it was using the beta version of SST.

codex_ru
09-17-2007, 09:23 PM
Freelancer can i get your profile please? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif