PDA

View Full Version : P51 vs P38 vs P47 in the Game

IZT
04-14-2004, 04:02 AM
Which aircraft do you people think have the best balance of everything and why?

Also im kinda new to IL2 although i played other WW2 flight sims before but none are as realisitc as this.

How is it that i tend to get stalls in a P51 even with high speeds and me not pulling too hard on the joystick??

IZT
04-14-2004, 04:02 AM
Which aircraft do you people think have the best balance of everything and why?

Also im kinda new to IL2 although i played other WW2 flight sims before but none are as realisitc as this.

How is it that i tend to get stalls in a P51 even with high speeds and me not pulling too hard on the joystick??

Maple_Tiger
04-14-2004, 04:14 AM
Try taking only 25% fuel for the P-51, it cut down on stalling or going into a spin.

My favorit is the P-51D right now. The P-47 was my favorit but i dont like they way it is modeled right now. The P-38 is my second favorit, it has the best ecceleration and climb out of the three.

Capt. 361stMapleTiger.
http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid111/p4a4fe01f1585e87d078204671c682c4d/f90e96f0.jpg
Proud member of the FBAA and Nutty Philosohpy Club.

WUAF_Co_Hero
04-14-2004, 04:39 AM
I used to be a 47 pilot exclusively, for it's unmatchable high alt. performance.

Now, I fly the 38. It can take on any bird right up to 9k, at which point the Ta will become a problem. If I'm forced to fly higher: I will take either a Ta or a 47, but otherwise, the 38 is a far more versitile fighter out of the 3, if used properly: IMO.

The problems w/ the other two are as follows:

P-47: Although indesputibly the single best high alt. U.S. plane availible, it heavily lacks at alttitude below 8k. In other words, below that alt, most anything can get Co-E with it rather quickly: at which point, the 47 can only outturn 190's.