PDA

View Full Version : NO icons?



MD_wildweasel
10-30-2005, 02:56 AM
hi all, could you please help me. MY icons in the game have dissapeared,not the map icons just ariel ones, i have the settings set to show them but they have totally dissapeared online and on single player.I dont know what ive done how i done it but their gone.I dont want to re-install the game so is there anyway of fixing this little problem by either:instruction or a file replacement? I know this sounds really stupid but i am a little baffled PLEASE HELP ME!!!!! thanks S~

MD_wildweasel
10-30-2005, 02:56 AM
hi all, could you please help me. MY icons in the game have dissapeared,not the map icons just ariel ones, i have the settings set to show them but they have totally dissapeared online and on single player.I dont know what ive done how i done it but their gone.I dont want to re-install the game so is there anyway of fixing this little problem by either:instruction or a file replacement? I know this sounds really stupid but i am a little baffled PLEASE HELP ME!!!!! thanks S~

Skycat_2
10-30-2005, 03:01 AM
There is a keyboard command that toggles icons to display the information in one of three different ways or not at all. The keycard for PF says that this command is user defined by default so check the "controls" in your set-up menu after you start the game to see if a key command is assigned to this function.

Second, there is a line in the conf.ini that might affect your ability to see icons. Under [game] be sure that: iconTypes=1 .

Third, are you sure that icons are truly enabled? Check in a quick mission by opening the Difficulty menu before you fly; next to the "No Icons" option the lamp should NOT be lit. Extinguish the orange bulb.

Any campaign you started with the "No Icons" difficulty toggled on will be unalterable; you'll have to delete and start over. Online, the difficulty settings are determined by the host and the icons may have been disabled on his discretion.

Kuna15
10-30-2005, 04:55 AM
I have iconTypes=3 enabled. Anyhow I have noticed that after online 'realistic' settings (or at least no aerial icons) game my icons (aerial) are set to none, so if I start and icons on (aerial) game I wont see 'em unless I toggle them on. However I did not checked if taht occurs every time or only sometimes.

Like Skycat says you gotta set your control for toggle icon types.

Bartolomeo_ita
10-30-2005, 07:39 AM
play without icons and learn to fight with realistic diff.

AI-1
10-30-2005, 09:05 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Bartolomeo_ita:
play without icons and learn to fight with realistic diff. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

realistic? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

Without going into this is/ isn't realistic because.... set of arguments, its just a matter of horses for courses and what kind of fun you want.

Isn't it?

Regards

AI-1

DaimonSyrius
10-30-2005, 09:27 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Bartolomeo_ita:
learn to fight with realistic diff. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Learn To Fight With Realistic Difficulty... judging by the the way -the tone- you give this advice, one has to guess that you have managed to do this already. Would you mind showing us how how did you activate your 'bleed-when-wounded' switch? And what hardware do you use to have a piSs in your cockpit? Surely you're not using room heating in winter and suffer realistic cold? And I would really want to know how you manage to come back to life in such a realistic way after being killed...
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif

Bartolomeo_ita
10-30-2005, 09:42 AM
appo polly gize :|

Skycat_2
10-30-2005, 11:01 AM
About IconTypes=# :
I reconsidered this last night after I posted and went to bed; perhaps the number represents what part of the cycle you're in when you toggle? 0 might be no icons, 1 might be just distances, 2, might be distance plus aircraft type? I only use the first position so I know only who is friendly and enemy, not what kind of plane they fly or their rank in the flight.

Realism:
I've played without icons on a few occasions, usually when forced to in dogfight rooms. I think it is unrealistically difficult to see other aircraft and identify them even at short distances (on my screen at least -- maybe graphics cards/ settings affect?). That's no big deal when playing against humans with same limitations but I play mostly offline against the AI, and AI knows where everything is so why shouldn't I?

Tater-SW-
10-30-2005, 12:48 PM
I always play without them, even against AI (AI are easy enough to kill anyway, they need the handicap). I have a 21in monitor, though, that probably helps. It's not because I think it simulates reality better, because I know for a fact it is harder to see stuff in game than in RL. My house is 1500ft above town, and I can see planes on the runway at our airport 13 miles from here. I have IDed WW2 bombers at well over 6 miles (I-25 is 6 miles, so it's a good ref point for me) from my patio (airshow planes, plus we have the firefighting slurry bombers around in early summer fire season (PB4Y, P-2, P-3, A-26).

I play without them just for immersion since it wrecks the look of the sim to me to have the icons on.

I'd love to have a new Icon that would not be a range, or a type, just a single letter for each plane, maybe all would get a "o" or a "+". Nothing else. That would help from losing planes I wouldn't lose in RL, while at the same time having minimal visual impact.

On the side in favor of no icons for realism's sake, while it is too easy to lose contacts in PF, IMHO, it is also some times too HARD to lose contacts. I'm thnking of clouds, mostly. The PF clouds are pretty small, and while you can use them to gain some separation, it's not the same as what you read in RL about planes being pretty much safe and away once they "duck into a cloud." Since we can;t really "duck into a cloud" in PF, being able to get away by disappearing because of graphics limitations isn't so bad---combat in this game is far more lethal than RL in my experience. No real AF would last a week at the rate we get shot down.

tater

MD_wildweasel
10-30-2005, 01:11 PM
first of all thanks for replying to my posting! S~
secondly I ain that stupid not to check the bleedin game settings!! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif(well not this time anyhow)!!!
thirdly about realism , i was flying without icons on for ages thats how i dont know how the hell i managed to lose the icons alltogether except for map icons. But when your flying in a server that has icons on and you dont then your at a disadvantage a little one but still its a disadvatage none the less especially when the the fisher price cocpit is on as well. ( i hasten to ad that i have never flew with that crappy setting !)
Thirdly could you please give me detailed instrutions on how to change the wotsit-me-call-it =0 or what ever i need to change it to please as that side of things aint my strong point!!! Thanks all S~

http://www.mdsquadron.net

Skycat_2
10-30-2005, 01:43 PM
Sorry, I wasn't trying to insult your intelligence. I don't know anything about you. Last night when I replied I think you had a total of 5 or 6 posts at this forum; I don't know if you're a newcomer to the game or wotsit-me-call-it. I was trying to respond to any variable I could think of.

The conf.ini is a document in your "Ubi Soft/IL-2 Sturmovik Forgotten Battles" (or "UbiSoft/Pacific Fighters" folder). Open it with notepad and scroll down to the section that has the header [game]. Look for the IconTypes line.

Bearcat99
10-30-2005, 03:42 PM
I believe the default icon toggle key is ALT+I. If it isnt default.. then you can set it to that.. but thats what I think it is.. ALT+S is the default toggle speedbar key. Just go into a QM with icons and hit ALT+I 3 times.. that will take it through the whole cycle. Same with S. As far as settings.... I say fly it how you like it..I do. When offline I usually fly with no icons...and in the pit... online... it is with icons and in the pit... or with no icons and out of the pit..... and occasionally full immersion.. which can be a hoot.. but it just isnt always my cup of tea, especially in DF servers.... It just seems different to me in a coop though.. Go figure.

Kuna15
10-30-2005, 06:50 PM
http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b366/Kuna15/Pacific_Fighters/fb_qrc78.gif

I just checked it is user defined, I have similar key mapping B-Cat I use CTRL+I http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif.

Also MD_wildweasel check your rcu file within FB main folder for entries -- dot range, color etc. It is possible to set them the way you like thru rcu file. It is a long shot but...

My rcu contains

@set fast off
@set echo on
@set alias on
@set history 20

@alias a alias
@a h history
@a s show

Bearcat99
10-30-2005, 06:57 PM
I must have had mine set so long ago that I thoght it was user defined..LOL.. I havent looked at that thing.. in years..

Kuna15
10-30-2005, 06:57 PM
Also take a look:
how to setup custom icons in FB with rcu
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m...121090262#4121090262 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/3471027162/r/4121090262#4121090262)

more about icon settings (steve_v+Tully)
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/49310655/m...531064562#6531064562 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/49310655/m/9741044562/r/6531064562#6531064562)


and related search
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=search&reqWords=...Type=1&search=Search (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=search&amp;reqWords=rcu&amp;exactPhrase=icon+sett ings&amp;optWords=&amp;notWords=&amp;f=25910613&amp;subjectOnly=N&amp; afterDate=&amp;beforeDate=&amp;authorName=&amp;exactAuthor=Y&amp;s ortType=1&amp;ptyp_poll=Y&amp;ptyp_album=Y&amp;ptyp_msg=Y&amp;ptyp _count=3&amp;x_display_post_details=1&amp;groupType=1&amp;sear ch=Search)

Kuna15
10-30-2005, 07:01 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Bearcat99:
I must have had mine set so long ago that I thoght it was user defined..LOL.. I havent looked at that thing.. in years.. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

If it wasn't for Controls file, I really wouldn't know what is on default and what is my custom set up.
Like you, I have also set up these things years ago.

For instance I still use F10 for BOOST/WEP which I 'took' from CFS series (1,2)... well old habits http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif.

MD_wildweasel
11-01-2005, 09:58 AM
thanks guys !! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif sorted!!! S~ , now how do i get my avatar on this bloody thing? lol . Again thanks for all your help S~. im now a happy bunny again(or shoud that be a weasel?) http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Kuna15
11-01-2005, 12:55 PM
Well you must have 64x64 small picture for a start http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif, and you should upload it somewhere I reccomend photobucket.com. Register there and get yourself account.

Then upload that small pic there. After that get back on the forum and select GO &gt; MY SPACE &gt; PROFILE &gt; View/Edit Complete Profile &gt; Avatar / Picture URL: (edit) &gt; Provide Custom Avatar:
URL for your Custom Avatar (enter URL from photobucket.com) &gt; UPDATE AVATAR.

That's it.

Bearcat99
11-03-2005, 09:12 PM
Hit the Sturmovik Essentials link in my sig. There are several free webhosting fites in it.