PDA

View Full Version : Trouble installing....



lee.connell
10-10-2009, 02:08 PM
ok i bought IL2 from eurogamer.

1 setup file and 2 bin files.

installs ok - (I installed to c:/il2game)

rather than the default.

After installation theres a shortcut on desktop that fails to find the IL2.exe file.... searching for the file on my c: drive doest find it.

Any ideas what to do - I have serial number here but obviously it hasnt asked me for it yet.

lee.connell
10-10-2009, 02:08 PM
ok i bought IL2 from eurogamer.

1 setup file and 2 bin files.

installs ok - (I installed to c:/il2game)

rather than the default.

After installation theres a shortcut on desktop that fails to find the IL2.exe file.... searching for the file on my c: drive doest find it.

Any ideas what to do - I have serial number here but obviously it hasnt asked me for it yet.

lee.connell
10-10-2009, 02:12 PM
am running Windows 7 Pro 64 bit as well.

AndyJWest
10-10-2009, 05:46 PM
The quickest fix for this will probably be to create a new shortcut to IL2.exe, and use that instead. Open the IL2 folder right-click on the .exe file, and scelct 'Create shortcut' from the menu. This should create a shortcut in the folder you can then drag to the desktop. I'd delete the old shortcut first, to avoid confusion.

If that doesn't work, perhaps the installation is faulty - we'd need more information to figure out why.

lee.connell
10-10-2009, 06:06 PM
yeah sorry i didnt give clear problem - the EXE file is not in the install folder at all thats the problem.

I guess I could download the whole game again - but the install seems to work fine so not sure.

AndyJWest
10-10-2009, 06:19 PM
If there is no .exe file the install must be faulty. You are right not to install in the default place (C:\programs) as this gives problems in Vista and Windows 7.

What files are in the installed folder?

M_Gunz
10-10-2009, 07:37 PM
Simple question is which IL2 you bought? Save on Q&A here, the one you need is IL2:1946 and best to get the DVD.

Here it is at Amazon - 10 new from $6.96 (+ to ship) below the regular price $29.99 (includes shipping) (http://www.amazon.com/IL-2-Sturmovik-1946-Pc/dp/B000N4JENW/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=videogames&qid=1255224613&sr=8-1)

Here it is at GoGamer for $19.95 (+ to ship) (http://www.gogamer.com/searchresults.htm?keywords=1946&brandId=&price=&653Search=true&categoryId=444710&x=0&y=0)

Walmart wants $19.82 and if it's not in your store they will send it there at no extra charge. (http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=5651677)

lee.connell
10-11-2009, 03:07 PM
ok the game is IL2 Sturm 1942 - its the DVD version.

Have downloaded it again and installed again.

theres 1 setup file and 2 bin files ... that totals DVD size.

Installs ok.

Starts up with Config screen - then the main window that has start (install greyed out).

I click start and nothing happens.

When looking for the IL2.exe in the game directory it isnt there.

Weird ?

lee.connell
10-11-2009, 03:08 PM
(and it is a bought version - I have the serial number here ... obviosuly not used it yet http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif )

Waldo.Pepper
10-11-2009, 04:43 PM
Never heard of IL2 Sturm 1942. Also there is no listing for it here. http://www.eurogamer.net/

Also I don't remember a serial number for Il-2 1946.

M_Gunz
10-11-2009, 08:29 PM
When I bought PE-2 online (remember Boonty?) I had some kind of reg number.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">ok the game is IL2 Sturm 1942 - its the DVD version.

Have downloaded it again and installed again.

theres 1 setup file and 2 bin files ... that totals DVD size.

Installs ok.

Starts up with Config screen - then the main window that has start (install greyed out).

I click start and nothing happens.

When looking for the IL2.exe in the game directory it isnt there.

Weird ? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

You make some confusion, you either have the DVD or the download no matter the size.
From all you write, you don't have the DVD.

Taking it slow please, do you have UBI or IL2 show up in your START MENU under Programs?

IMHO it would be really cool if someone from UBI would notice and get this customer some help.

doraemil
10-11-2009, 11:43 PM
@ euro gamer they have IL-2 sturmovik complete edition, Il-2 sturmovik series complete collection, Il-2 sturmovik 1946, Il-2 birds of prey, Il-2 forgotten battles.


Make sure you got IL-2 1946. If you got the complete edition or the complete collection, that might be different to patch or get working . . .

if not work with eurogamer to figure out the version you got.

also windows 7 release is Oct 22nd . . . so that means you got a pirated / hacked version, or a beta one like release candidate. Or you could be one of the lucky / hooked up few that got the public release early (I got XP http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Or maybe you got your OS mixed up and you have VIsta 64 ? Maybe try to search for posts with Vista 64 and see if that will help.

I think for official ubi help they have channels (support email + phone line etc for IL-2 1946 game).

Urufu_Shinjiro
10-12-2009, 04:54 PM
Do you use McAfee anti-virus? For some reason it thinks il2fb.exe is a virus and deletes it. The only fix is to get rid of McAfee and get a better anti-virus program.

M_Gunz
10-12-2009, 05:09 PM
Urufu, you have any opinion on Avast?

lee.connell
10-14-2009, 03:07 AM
Got it sorted - it seems Kaspersky didnt like the EXE either and deleted it silently.

Paused this while installing and all fine.