PDA

View Full Version : How do I take an in game screenshot?



cmorris975
06-16-2004, 09:15 PM
Can't seem to find it anywhere in the manual or controls setup :/

Thanks for any help.

cmorris975
06-16-2004, 09:15 PM
Can't seem to find it anywhere in the manual or controls setup :/

Thanks for any help.

frag_bravo
06-16-2004, 09:17 PM
Print screen, Then look in you main folder of AEP or what ever game you got.The screen shots are called Grab's or something like that.

brimigus
06-16-2004, 10:34 PM
dont ever do it online or u will labled a cheater,hoax,noob,scab,etc.or at least that's what they like to blame any wapring or lag that occurs during gameplay from.so dont get caught or admit to it in the least.

Mitlov47
06-16-2004, 11:29 PM
Okay, so I've now taken some pictures (in QMB--I may not be a good player online, but I try to at least be respectful). My computer doesn't recognize the files--tga I think they are? Do I have to buy photoshop to work on them?

http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/387_1087375867_dorasig2.jpg

Korolov
06-16-2004, 11:56 PM
You need a program that can open .tga files - there are a number of paint programs that will open them.

http://www.mechmodels.com/images/newsig1.jpg

Mitlov47
06-17-2004, 12:36 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Korolov:
You need a program that can open .tga files - there are a number of paint programs that will open them.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

For anyone else who was wondering how to open .tga files, I just downloaded IrfanView (http://www.irfanview.com) and it's great. It runs smoothly, it's tiny, and it won't associate itself with any file types you don't want it to (it lets you choose; I chose only to associate it with .tga).

http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/387_1087453960_dorasigj3.jpg

niknil
06-17-2004, 06:13 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by brimigus:
dont ever do it online or u will labled a cheater,hoax,noob,scab,etc.or at least that's what they like to blame any wapring or lag that occurs during gameplay from.so dont get caught or admit to it in the least.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

The same thing seems to go for "start track recording". Just hit the key for it in the heat of battle, to be able to see how the other guy would down me. Everything froze for a few seconds and farked up the very event I wanted to record.

How does a thing like that appear on the other guys screen? I thought it would transform me to a sitting duck with 2 seconds left to live, but that didn't seem to be the case.

Tully__
06-17-2004, 06:21 AM
It's posted above and bears repeating. Irfanview (http://www.irfanview.com/) is widely used for conversion from .tga to .jpg and other formats in this community and is very popular.

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/sig.jpg

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)
Tully's X-45 profile (SST drivers) (http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/fb.zip)

Salut
Tully

eyevann
06-17-2004, 09:59 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by brimigus:
dont ever do it online or u will labled a cheater,hoax,noob,scab,etc.or at least that's what they like to blame any wapring or lag that occurs during gameplay from.so dont get caught or admit to it in the least.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
Man is that what all that "cheating has been detected " about? I flew in greatergreen and War Clouds last night and greatergreen has serious lag issues...got lined up on an enemy plane...piper moves to the center of the plane and wam...lag.....screen froze for a second or two and then poof...the piper is empty and the enemy is nowhere to be seen.....kill for certain stolen by a lag...what's causing these?

Rogodin
06-17-2004, 10:03 AM
Using FRAPS is easier than using the ingame utilitiy-and you can open the shots up with MS paint http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Anyhow-feel free to post your new shots in the "HI RES" thread-as well as screenshotart.com

Rogo

http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2003-12/554733/RogoSig-1c.jpg

"Those who long for exaltation look upwards, but I look downwards for I am the exalted."
Thus Spake Zarathustra.

Udidtoo
06-17-2004, 10:22 AM
The thing I really like about IrfanView, besides it being free, is how easy it is to make my favorite screenie of the moment my desktop.

Drag the tga. to Irfan, options, set as wallpaper. finito.

I change it about every 3rd day. My wife has developed the habit of trying to guess the artist and knows quite a few of you skinners by handle i.e. " Is that Snoori or a Leadspitter, oh wait! Thats a Talor Tony"

Then there is the action shots where she just says "man, someone really knocked the $hit out of you there hun"

..............................
I always have just enough fuel to arrive at the scene of my crash.

BpGemini
06-17-2004, 11:19 AM
Flying online:
Fly Full Real
Record a track
Take screenshots later
Use Print Scrn to take pics

http://www.blitzpigs.com/photos/P-39_BlitzPig_Sig_Bloodied.jpg
CWoS FB forum. More Cheese, Less Whine. (http://www.acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=25)
Original IL-2 P-39 and FB P-63 vet.
The Pig Sty (http://blitzpigs.com/)