PDA

View Full Version : ati noob questions...please help



tsw11385
08-17-2006, 09:50 AM
ok so i got a sapphire 9250 pci card 64mb balh blah blah...and i used the disk that came with the game to get my drivers(so dont think they are up to date!?! the game was a little better than before i.e using integrated graphics but it wasnt great..and the frame rate was still a bit slow and still looked choppy!! There was me thinking it was gonna be all good! i tried downloading the catalyst 6.7 but get some INF ERROR.."Video driver not found". "try to setup your display adapter with a standard VGA driver before running setup" ive got a pentium4 with 1 GB of memory..can anyone help or point me where to go....Been trying to get into SH3 for about a week and well you know....cant http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

tsw11385
08-17-2006, 09:50 AM
ok so i got a sapphire 9250 pci card 64mb balh blah blah...and i used the disk that came with the game to get my drivers(so dont think they are up to date!?! the game was a little better than before i.e using integrated graphics but it wasnt great..and the frame rate was still a bit slow and still looked choppy!! There was me thinking it was gonna be all good! i tried downloading the catalyst 6.7 but get some INF ERROR.."Video driver not found". "try to setup your display adapter with a standard VGA driver before running setup" ive got a pentium4 with 1 GB of memory..can anyone help or point me where to go....Been trying to get into SH3 for about a week and well you know....cant http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

snrumph
08-17-2006, 10:02 AM
I had graphics troubles until I downloaded the 1.4 patch. Have you tried that?

tsw11385
08-17-2006, 10:10 AM
yeah got the v1.4 patch....thanks fella. Be nice to just plug in the card..turn it on and sink some s**t dya know what i mean

tsw11385
08-17-2006, 12:35 PM
surely someone must know something????

Ali_109
08-17-2006, 12:48 PM
Try going into device drivers/update driver and asking windows to look.......if that does not work check the box that says look on the web.....or you can try the windows update and look in the hardware/software category http://update.microsoft.com/windowsupdate, if that fails go on to your manufacturers site and have a look......have you tried these options?

evilbrew
08-17-2006, 12:51 PM
the newest ati driver you will probably be able to use will be the cat 6.5 after this older 9000`s and 92 versions dont seem to be caterd for you should be able to get it here

http://support.ati.com/ics/support/default.asp?deptID=8...dge&questionID=22264 (http://support.ati.com/ics/support/default.asp?deptID=894&task=knowledge&questionID=22264)

here
http://support.ati.com/ics/support/default.asp?deptID=8...dge&questionID=22264 (http://support.ati.com/ics/support/default.asp?deptID=894&task=knowledge&questionID=22264)

or optimised ones here

http://www.driverheavendownloads.net/zeropoint.htm

oh and make sure that you have at least microsoft net framework 1.1 instaled ,if you have a winows xp seriv pack two you will find it on there other wise down load it from microsoft or ati

Bubblehead1948
08-17-2006, 05:32 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif Once you get the driver safely installed, download ati tray tools from "Guru of 3d" or any other site. This utilty will squeeze out far more performance than a new driver alone.

Now... at the risk of ruffling feathers...
(Nothing personal)

Ahem:

Will you people PLEASE stop buying those 9000 series cards if you wish to run a high demand application like sh3. Even an ATI 9800 256 will
be stressed to the max by this thing.

I'm ready to pass out when someone declares that they have a Pentium 4; 1Gig of ram, and (as an afterthought?) popped in a 9250 to cover the graphics.

This is like taking two sections of logging chain for the purpose of pulling out an oak stump, and then linking the logging chains together with a rusty paper clip. If you want to realize at least good graphics performance with sh3; (something in excess of 20fps) we are talking at least ati x800 256 here, or the Nvidia equivelent. This is the third thread like this I've read in recent weeks. C'mon Guys... You spend all this money on good proceesors and ample ram... and then ask a 9250 to pull the wagon...

I'm gonna get hives watching people do this to themselves.

Alwright, cough, sputter. I'm done now.

evilbrew
08-17-2006, 07:31 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by evilbrew:
the newest ati driver you will probably be able to use will be the cat 6.5 after this older 9000`s and 92 versions dont seem to be caterd for you should be able to get it here

http://support.ati.com/ics/support/default.asp?deptID=8...dge&questionID=22264 (http://support.ati.com/ics/support/default.asp?deptID=894&task=knowledge&questionID=22264)

here
http://support.ati.com/ics/support/default.asp?deptID=8...dge&questionID=22264 (http://support.ati.com/ics/support/default.asp?deptID=894&task=knowledge&questionID=22264)

or optimised ones here

http://www.driverheavendownloads.net/zeropoint.htm

oh and make sure that you have at least microsoft net framework 1.1 instaled ,if you have a winows xp seriv pack two you will find it on there other wise down load it from microsoft or ati </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

sorry the middle one should read

http://www.omegadrivers.net/archive.php

the last two come with over clocking software .

tsw11385
08-18-2006, 06:47 AM
Evilbrew ya done it mate!!! it was the 6.5 cat i needed and now i can finally play. it was the 6.7 i was trying to originally get running and that was the problem! so is there any more tricks i can do in the catalyst control centre to sqeeze out some extra performance? i'm gonna down load them tray tools aswell. But mate cheers for helping out..i was proper stuck http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/clap.gif

tsw11385
08-18-2006, 06:50 AM
bubble head....what graphics card would you recommend that is a PCI bus any??

Bucketlung
08-18-2006, 09:12 AM
My general advice is to stay away from anything with Ati on it. Hopefully AMD can get them back on track because we need good choices in graphics.

The_Third_Half
08-18-2006, 01:30 PM
I use an ATI 9550 256 megs of RAM.

I then flashed it to use a 9800 BIOS, and over clocked it to the 9800 clock speeds bothe core and RAM.

End result is an awesome card with a cheap price. The 9500-on series is soo mod'able it's great.

doug.d
08-18-2006, 02:27 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by tsw11385:
ok so i got a sapphire 9250 pci card 64mb balh blah blah...and i used the disk that came with the game to get my drivers(so dont think they are up to date!?! the game was a little better than before i.e using integrated graphics but it wasnt great..and the frame rate was still a bit slow and still looked choppy!! There was me thinking it was gonna be all good! i tried downloading the catalyst 6.7 but get some INF ERROR.."Video driver not found". "try to setup your display adapter with a standard VGA driver before running setup" ive got a pentium4 with 1 GB of memory..can anyone help or point me where to go....Been trying to get into SH3 for about a week and well you know....cant http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Glad you got the drivers sorted, but you don't have enough graphics card there m8. My ATI 9700 Pro coped well with SH3 generally but had issues close to burning ships and in port with all the activity on the dockside. I also could not load any supermods or SH3 just ground to a halt.

I don't understand why you need a PCI card? I didn't think you could get a motherboard for a P4 that didn't at least have an AGP slot?

For any gaming system, get a top shelf graphics card and save money on the rest if you have to. If you must get a new mobo, go straight for PCIE.

bunkerratt
08-18-2006, 04:21 PM
i still belive in omega drivers...keeps things moving running sh3 @1600x1200 and just overall better performance i also oc my gpu/cpu

Bubblehead1948
08-18-2006, 05:10 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">bubble head....what graphics card would you recommend that is a PCI bus any?? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif I dont want to get into Chevy-Ford arguments about ATI vs Nvidia. They are both leading edge cards. I've used both, and have no serious kinship with either; I use what performs for the price. If you like ATI get a deal from newegg on a Sapphire x800 pci-e. The prices are cheap. I wouldnt recommend a PCI anything simply because the pci bus no longer has sufficient bandwidth to supply the poop for graphics intensive sims like sh3. Choose from AGP or Pci-e based cards. Get a card with at least 256mb on board. The x800; agp or pci-e can be had for reasonable cost. Check out Newegg. This card or better will do a sterling job. Thats the unvarnished truth.

tsw11385
08-20-2006, 04:08 AM
cheers for ya help lads.....having never overclocked anything, how do go about it and what settings are best?

Bubblehead1948
08-20-2006, 09:33 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif ATI tray tools has an overclocking feature built in which can be regulated. But be careful! Dont get too agressive, because an additional cooling attachment may be neccessary depending on your card, and what it will tolerate.
Don't unintentionally fry your chipset.

There is a lot of info on the web from overclockers, and reviews on how to treat particular graphics cards.

bunkerratt
08-20-2006, 10:16 AM
ahhhhh.....what do you plan to overclock?...gpu or cpu? not all cards can be oc'd...the same with cpu's...if you don't know what your doing as bubblehead said you can have a molten blob of high price rubbish real fast..cooling is of the utmost ...i watercool my cpu/gpu ...read before you go tinkering about..http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k258/gndpdr/compi4.gif ..&lt;&lt;&lt;&lt;&lt;&lt;&lt;&lt;&lt;&lt;...

intel p-4 h/t 775 3.0 oc'd to 3.6
asus p5gd2 deluxe
2gb pc2 3200
twin 100gb sata hdd's raid 0
2 hdd coolers
dvd rom
dvd rw dual layer dual format
floppy
ati radeon x800xl pcie 256 oc'd
creative x-fi extreame music
enermax 600 watt psu
as 3000 cpu/gpu water cooler
north bridge/southbridge coolers
120mm front intake
1 80mm side intake
2 80mm rear exhaust
coolermaster musketeer3 hdd%/r/l chan monitor
logitec 5.1 surround 75 watt rms
saitec eclipse keyboard
logitec tracman rollerball cordless mouse
viewsonic vp201 20 inch lcd
11 in 1 card reader
ambient case temp readout
hdd temp readout
raidmax scorpion case
win xp pro sp2

Baldricks_Mate
08-21-2006, 06:46 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by bunkerratt:
i still belive in omega drivers...keeps things moving running sh3 @1600x1200 and just overall better performance i also oc my gpu/cpu </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Oh yeah, thanks for that. Much better for my 9800xt http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Is there a site you would recommend for SB Audigy drivers? The OEM one's (& their updates) are driving me up the wall, crashes my machine from time to time..very annoying. I'm hate their console, just after stable drivers.

bunkerratt
08-21-2006, 07:40 AM
havn't tried any audio drivers ..i'm running an x-fi extreame ..runs fine..but i'll go rumage around and see if any one has a better idea.. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/typing.gif