PDA

View Full Version : Quick questions about Radeon 9800 pro



CRSutton
10-28-2004, 03:28 PM
Bout to spring for a new card. Does the 9800 pro require an upgraded power pack. I heard that one of them does but am not sure.

JG52Uther
10-28-2004, 03:34 PM
All depends what you have now.The bigger the better really.I have a 98 pro with a 430 PSU

CRSutton
10-28-2004, 03:38 PM
Well, I have a 2 year old. system. It is an AMD chip (1.8 or 1.9 I think) Would the stock power pack that came with that system run a 9800 pro 124MB? 258MB? Don't really want the card if I have to upgrad the power pack.

Hunde_3.JG51
10-28-2004, 04:18 PM
Well, when I got my 9800pro along with all of my other goodies, imagine my surprise when after using my new stuff for about 3-5 minutes I would here cracking and my system would shut down.

I supposedly had a 400w power-supply but it was a cheap brand. I bought a name brand 400w power supply and haven't had a problem since. I won't underestimate what a good power-supply can do again, and I recommend you get one if you plan on upgrading by components in the future.

I also use an audify 2 ZS sound-card, and from what I understand that uses alot of juice as well.

With a good power-supply I think 350w may be enough, under that I doubt it. But I could be wrong. Having said all of this I love my 9800pro and for what it is going at now I think it is well worth it, just my opinion though.

CRSutton
10-28-2004, 05:23 PM
Thanks, I better check the wattage on my power supply. I think you do it by sticking the screwdriver in this little hole right her..............

Lateralus_14
10-28-2004, 06:54 PM
More important than the total wattage is the amperge delivered on the three rails. The three power rails on modern computers are 3.3 volts, 5 volts and 12 volts.

The CPU draws power from the 12V rail, and the video card too I'm pretty sure. You need to make sure that you have plenty of amperage on this rail, especially if you have a Prescott CPU (newer Intel P4s). My motherboard manufacturer recommends at least 22amps on the 12V rail for a Prescott, so I'm using an Enermax 470W PSU with 30A on the 12V rail.

Rogodin
10-28-2004, 07:37 PM
Most important of all though is a decent surge protector-and if you can swing it a dedicated power line condition-dirty power KILLS powersupplies-no matter how good they are.

Rogo

CRSutton
10-28-2004, 07:46 PM
Actually, I forgot that I had the power pack replaced about three months ago. Its a 430 watt. I suppose that that should do the job.

Lateralus_14
10-28-2004, 08:24 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by CRSutton:
Actually, I forgot that I had the power pack replaced about three months ago. Its a 430 watt. I suppose that that should do the job. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Again, total wattage is less important than enough amperage on the appropriate rails.

For example, some low-end power supplies have a high wattage to seem powerful, but provide far too low of an amperage on the needed rail. There are power supplies for HPs, for example, that are 550 or even 600W, but only supply 15amps on the 12V rail. On the other hand, a nice power supply from a good company that's only 300W would perform much better. Too low an amperage can result in system hangs, crashes, and possibly permanent component damage.