PDA

View Full Version : Massive fps loss with 1.3



Indianer.
05-11-2005, 01:52 PM
Ive just installed 1.3 and when I look through the scope my fps drops to 3-4. Any ideas as to what can be causing this.

Indianer.
05-11-2005, 01:52 PM
Ive just installed 1.3 and when I look through the scope my fps drops to 3-4. Any ideas as to what can be causing this.

Walter-Melon
05-11-2005, 02:44 PM
Have you tried using computers?

U-49
05-11-2005, 02:48 PM
That's odd Indianer. My fps have seemed to improve a little with 1.3 over 1.2.

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif

Slackjaw190
05-11-2005, 03:28 PM
i lost about 30 fps with patch 1.2 and 20 with 1.3 how far can they go, down to 40 fps now which sucks

TheFastFreddie
05-11-2005, 05:03 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Slackjaw190:
i lost about 30 fps with patch 1.2 and 20 with 1.3 how far can they go, down to 40 fps now which sucks </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I've lost fps with every patch since 1.2 also and looking through the periscope causes a big slow down now whether its one ship or a convoy especially when the water splashes against it.

Athenian
05-14-2005, 03:21 PM
I have this same problem. I also experience erratic mouse movement after this happens which makes the game unplayable. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Sockeye45
05-14-2005, 04:48 PM
Maybe a fresh install will help out your frame rates. Always worth a try if push comes to shove

Stary_Wuj
05-14-2005, 05:30 PM
My Framerate drops after 1.2 patch, now is the same - lower, I have one SOLUTION - ALT-TAB during mission for 3-4 seconds. It works.
Especially when I use "wet periscope".
Game engine have problems with RAM consumption
IMO. I have 15 years experience with computers and few systems (DOS, QNX, WINDOWS, MacOS).
So, dont tell me "check background tasks" or something.

Stary Wuj

sukebeboy
05-14-2005, 07:38 PM
I actually got significant gains in FPS with the 1.3 patch. The only time I've had any real slowdowns with 1.3 was when 3 tankers were buring at the same time. Dropped down to &lt;1 FPS.

Smidlee
05-14-2005, 10:04 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Slackjaw190:
i lost about 30 fps with patch 1.2 and 20 with 1.3 how far can they go, down to 40 fps now which sucks </div></BLOCKQUOTE> 40 fps sucks? You do know tv and movies only shots 30 fps unless this has change with HDTV? I love many games on PS which you would be luck to get 30 fps yet there isn't that much difference between 30 fps to 60 fps unless you are moving at a very high rate of speed like in racing or airplane simulations.

Maj_Death
05-14-2005, 10:21 PM
Yeah, I find it very amusing when people whine about getting fps that is still higher than that of TV and stuff. As with 1.1 and 1.2, I suffered 0 fps loss or gain.

Twelvefield
05-14-2005, 10:49 PM
Patch 1.3 is causing some small frame rate losses with ships burning and water on the scope.

TheFastFreddie
05-14-2005, 11:11 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Twelvefield:
Patch 1.3 is causing some small frame rate losses with ships burning and water on the scope. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

This is when I'm suffering a huge slow down. The rest of the time the game runs fine but water on the scope is a killer. Its hard to target in high seas with the huge slow down that is caused by the splashing. I wouldn't be complaining if it wasn't a problem. I don't even know how many FPS I'm getting but when the screen stops you have a problem. I've tried to reinstall also.

P4 2.53
9700 PRO
1 Gig Ram

blue_76
05-15-2005, 02:20 AM
well, installing patches overwrites files or adds new ones, eventually you get fragmentation with your files and it takes longer for the hard disk to access them. try running defrag every now and then. see if that helps.

The Avon Lady
05-15-2005, 02:23 AM
Did any of you with FR problems also install particle or smoke mods, etc?

If you did, does your FR improve when such mods are removed?