PDA

View Full Version : Zero

Jamido
11-01-2004, 10:32 AM
Question about Zero, is it really so fragile or is this a bug? I was hit about one bullet to the wing, it broke off and down i went http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/cry.gif Opponent was Wildcat.

LC34
11-01-2004, 10:37 AM
Im no Zero expert, but from what I have read on these forums where some very smart people have posted is that yes they are very fragile as they had no armor plating and very thin bodies.

This lack of armor though is what made them as agile as they are. As someone posted in another thread they were ment to be offensive weapons so keep the enemy in front and not behind lol.

Welcome to the boards by the way. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

VW-IceFire
11-01-2004, 10:56 AM
The big difference between American and Japanese aircraft in this period was that the Americans built them with alot of extra weight for armor and heavier construction. This gave aircraft like the P-40 and the Wildcat a bit of an advantage VS their respective Japanese opponents when it came to taking damage.

The Zero, instead of armor plating, self sealing fuel tanks, and heavier construction...had a very light weight construction. The whole reason it has similar horsepower to the Wildcat and yet can run rings around it is because of this.

Later versions of the Zero had more protection...but you're never going to compair it to a P-47 or a FW190 when it comes to sturdyness. If you're in a Zero...try never to get hit http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Kapt.Amisnaru
11-01-2004, 11:02 AM
Is it true that the zeros engine shuts off from too much negative g force? It didn't use to do that in il2fb+aep or cfs2 or any other flight sim.

AWL_amisnaru

Jamido
11-01-2004, 11:16 AM
Yes, it chokes. Many WWI planes had same kind of engine, When you hit some negative g the engine does not get the fuel and shuts down. (If i remember right)

Kapt.Amisnaru
11-01-2004, 01:06 PM