PDA

View Full Version : ATI Sapphire 1600 Settings for Pacific fighters



Lurch16th
03-09-2007, 09:23 AM
Anybody have an idea as to the optimum settings for the ATI 1600 Sapphire 512 AGP?

The problem is at low altitude over water, on approach to land, there isn't much detail of the land or any objects. Not sure if i'd call it jaggies or shimmering, but looks like the edges of the land are constantly being re-drawn, dissappear and re-drawn again. At higher altitude the detail of the approaching land gets better.

I have a P4 2.4 gig cpu 512 mb of Rambus

Lurch16th
03-09-2007, 09:23 AM
Anybody have an idea as to the optimum settings for the ATI 1600 Sapphire 512 AGP?

The problem is at low altitude over water, on approach to land, there isn't much detail of the land or any objects. Not sure if i'd call it jaggies or shimmering, but looks like the edges of the land are constantly being re-drawn, dissappear and re-drawn again. At higher altitude the detail of the approaching land gets better.

I have a P4 2.4 gig cpu 512 mb of Rambus

VW-IceFire
03-09-2007, 04:12 PM
Yeah that aliasing effect on the shore lines in Perfect mode (I presume thats what you're using) is very hard to make go away. Something to do with the engine and its rendering of land and pixel shaded water. There's a defined edge to it...if you look really closely you'll see it.

Anyways this gets rendered at a distance too. The best way around it is to increase resolution. Anti-aliasing won't really fix it.

Lurch16th
03-09-2007, 05:35 PM
Well, I guess the max resolution i could use is 1600 x 1200. i'll try that. I have no clue what "perfect Mode" is.

Swivet
03-09-2007, 08:16 PM
Yeh set the resolution higher. I have the 256mb version of the exact same card and setting the reso higher improved it a lil, with very little framerate hits, depending on scenario. The "Perfect Mode" settings can only be achieved if your running the game in OpenGL and not DX (Direct X), and that setting can be found in the "scenery settings" within the game, forget exactly what it's called but for some reason it looks better in OpenGL even tho ATI cards are meant to run in DX, go figure. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif I dunno what kind of framerates your getting with 512mb of ram, but if you can, bump it up to 1 gig, much smoother http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Fireball_
03-09-2007, 09:41 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Lurch16th:
I have a P4 2.4 gig cpu 512 mb of Rambus </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Swivet:
I dunno what kind of framerates your getting with 512mb of ram, but if you can, bump it up to 1 gig, much smoother http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

If he's got Rambus memory, that will be a VERY expensive upgrade. We recently upgraded a couple Dell computers at the office with Rambus memory from 512M to 1G. It cost us $400 per computer for the added 512M. Not sure what that's all about.

FE_pilot
03-09-2007, 10:13 PM
You can increase Anisotropic Filtering to 4x, 8x, or 16x. With 8 and 16 the ground textures look much more detailed.

Deedsundone
03-10-2007, 12:48 AM
I got a pair of 128 mb rambus memory left over from my Dell when I upgraded to 1 gig. Samsung 128/4 800-40.Swing by Sweden and they┬┤re yours,or maybe I can send them to you depending how much the P/P are.

Lurch16th
03-10-2007, 09:28 AM
Thanks for the tips. Definitely going to check out the Open GL setup.

If I'm reading my manual correctly, I think the problem with RAMBUS is if you upgrade, they have to be in pairs. I've heard that they are considered obsolete now.

Yeah Deeds, Thanks for the offer. What is P/P ?

Gonna go try the Open GL now.

VW-IceFire
03-10-2007, 09:41 AM
Yeah...RAMBUS not so good. But Dell/Intel went crazy with them in the beginning.

I think P/P means price versus performance. Always a key thing when under a budget http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Deedsundone
03-10-2007, 10:31 AM
P/P is meant to mean postage and package http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Lurch16th
03-10-2007, 05:16 PM
Deeds,
I'd be more than happy to send you a check or cash for P/P. you can email me if you like.
Thankss