PDA

View Full Version : STuck on mission



RichardFF
10-14-2006, 12:59 AM
USN
bomber pilot
May 6 1942
First bomobing run on carriers

first view after it loads is of sky and ocean. After to clickon the mouse once which takes me to an external view of a plane and from there can only get external views

The engine never starts even if I press auto and it then says autopilot automation. That leads me to believe I am in the gunners position but pressing C does nothing.

I think I am in this plane and it never takes off...<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

Freetime = The Pacific Theater on my 8' wide 16:9 screen http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
HD on the brain? Visit HD Library (http://www.hdlibrary.com)

RichardFF
10-14-2006, 12:59 AM
USN
bomber pilot
May 6 1942
First bomobing run on carriers

first view after it loads is of sky and ocean. After to clickon the mouse once which takes me to an external view of a plane and from there can only get external views

The engine never starts even if I press auto and it then says autopilot automation. That leads me to believe I am in the gunners position but pressing C does nothing.

I think I am in this plane and it never takes off...<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

Freetime = The Pacific Theater on my 8' wide 16:9 screen http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
HD on the brain? Visit HD Library (http://www.hdlibrary.com)

zbw_109
10-14-2006, 04:13 AM
I don't think any aircraft was assigned to "Player"
Just a guess<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

Deutsche Zentralbibliothek fur Wirtschaftswissenschaften

Chuck_Older
10-14-2006, 07:21 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by RichardFF:
USN
bomber pilot
May 6 1942
First bomobing run on carriers

first view after it loads is of sky and ocean. After to clickon the mouse once which takes me to an external view of a plane and from there can only get external views

The engine never starts even if I press auto and it then says autopilot automation. That leads me to believe I am in the gunners position but pressing C does nothing.

I think I am in this plane and it never takes off... </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I'll bet you a dollar you can't fly a P-40B, either

The "sky and ocean" glitch in my experience has been traced back to incorrect patching sequence in 100% of the cases

I made a campaign in which about 2 dozen players described exactly what you describe- "I see the sky, I can't influence what the plane does, I'm in a 3rd person view, I can't start the engine."

They all told me that they had the right patch sequence. In every case, when they re-loaded the sim with the patch sequence that was really the right sequence, they had no more troubles

What version of PF do you run, and is it merged with FB?

RichardFF
10-14-2006, 08:33 AM
I have played the USN campaign as a fighter with an F4F without incident. I then started a USMC campaign with a P39 starting at Midway engaging incoming fighters. I mistakenly deleted that first campaign and decided to delete the USMC campaign and restart it but then it begins with P39s going out to try and sink flat tops. What the ... That is how I learned how dynamic the game can be and how campaigns can interact with each other.

So I decided to start all over again but do USN as a bomber. First mission was to find flat tops and then I thought why not play as both a fighter and bomber so I started a USN fighter campaign and the first mission, find flat tops, I found them and the next mission was to escort bombers to them so I switched over to that campaign and sure enough, first mission was to go sink those flat tops I just found. Then I was inspired to play all campaigns for all friendly forces by date and found USAAF fighter with a P40 beginning at Pearl with the surprise Jap attack so I played that next instead, no problems, next battle was Midway. The next date then was Coral Sea so I went back to my USN bomber campaign and that is my problem now. BTW, is there a campaign out there that automatically follows this format I am creating?

I?ll also add that in my sky sea view when I press map I am in the middle of the ocean with no indicator plane of me.

If necessary I can give you software details tonight when I fire that system up. I bought the 3 game package of IL2, PF and some modern jet game. I installed all three but the third is not associated and is independent of IL2. Per my son, if a game does not have a patch it is broken, I went on line looking for patches and found a complicated string of them at Ubisoft. Will have to check but I recall selecting the most current version and was under the impression there was not a building of patches, one patch had everything to bring it to that version. The complexity as I recall had to do with different versions being incompatible causing online gaming problems so all the different versions were posted for online compatibility. There was also a bit about requiring inbetween releases of other expansion packs, some no longer available, but I was led to believe that the package I bought had me covered.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">They all told me that they had the right patch sequence. In every case, when they re-loaded the sim with the patch sequence that was really the right sequence, they had no more troubles </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

ARGH... So what is the correct sequence...

Thanks<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

Freetime = The Pacific Theater on my 8' wide 16:9 screen http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
HD on the brain? Visit HD Library (http://www.hdlibrary.com)

FoolTrottel
10-14-2006, 08:41 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">ARGH... So what is the correct sequence... </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Correct Patch Order - Make sure you do it right! (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/26310365/m/5581083643)
(See 'For standalone Pacific Fighters:' there)

notamuppet
10-14-2006, 12:30 PM
You really need Ace expansion pack as well or the new complete DVD out in November http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif

Chuck_Older
10-14-2006, 02:21 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by RichardFF:
I have played the USN campaign as a fighter with an F4F without incident. I then started a USMC campaign with a P39 starting at Midway engaging incoming fighters. I mistakenly deleted that first campaign and decided to delete the USMC campaign and restart it but then it begins with P39s going out to try and sink flat tops. What the ... That is how I learned how dynamic the game can be and how campaigns can interact with each other.

So I decided to start all over again but do USN as a bomber. First mission was to find flat tops and then I thought why not play as both a fighter and bomber so I started a USN fighter campaign and the first mission, find flat tops, I found them and the next mission was to escort bombers to them so I switched over to that campaign and sure enough, first mission was to go sink those flat tops I just found. Then I was inspired to play all campaigns for all friendly forces by date and found USAAF fighter with a P40 beginning at Pearl with the surprise Jap attack so I played that next instead, no problems, next battle was Midway. The next date then was Coral Sea so I went back to my USN bomber campaign and that is my problem now. BTW, is there a campaign out there that automatically follows this format I am creating?

I?ll also add that in my sky sea view when I press map I am in the middle of the ocean with no indicator plane of me.

If necessary I can give you software details tonight when I fire that system up. I bought the 3 game package of IL2, PF and some modern jet game. I installed all three but the third is not associated and is independent of IL2. Per my son, if a game does not have a patch it is broken, I went on line looking for patches and found a complicated string of them at Ubisoft. Will have to check but I recall selecting the most current version and was under the impression there was not a building of patches, one patch had everything to bring it to that version. The complexity as I recall had to do with different versions being incompatible causing online gaming problems so all the different versions were posted for online compatibility. There was also a bit about requiring inbetween releases of other expansion packs, some no longer available, but I was led to believe that the package I bought had me covered.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">They all told me that they had the right patch sequence. In every case, when they re-loaded the sim with the patch sequence that was really the right sequence, they had no more troubles </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

ARGH... So what is the correct sequence...

Thanks </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

It's telling to me that you have pacthed PF and you can still fly a USMC career with a P-39. This should have been fixed in one of the patches- the P-39 is a USAAC aircraft, the Marines didn't fly them

RichardFF
10-14-2006, 05:09 PM
I was wondering about that but know enough to be dangerous and just wonder about things; seems alot of you guys are historians as well. In the game it sure looked like an Army skin rather than Marines! I remember building the model plane of this as a kid and it being an Army aircraft...

BTW, just watched Grand Prix on HD DVD (into sim racing as well)- who was the Flower of Scotland?

Thanks for the link FoolTrottel

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content"> You really need Ace expansion pack as well or the new complete DVD out in November </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
So my IL2 and PF do not go together without the stuff in between that is coming out soon?

ARGH... guess I will be rebuilding this twice

Please tell me that all I have to do to save my progress is copy the users directory and then drop it in any rebuild?

Thanks Guys!<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

Freetime = The Pacific Theater on my 8' wide 16:9 screen http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
HD on the brain? Visit HD Library (http://www.hdlibrary.com)

Chuck_Older
10-14-2006, 08:24 PM
There was nobody nicknamed that as far as I know. It's from a song. The only nickname the man in my signature pic had, to my knowledge, was the Wee Scot

The man in the picture is the great Jimmy Clark, of Kilmany Scotland, two time World Driving Champion and Indy 500 winner. He is in Grand Prix breifly, I think at the party after the race. His real-life team-mate Graham Hill can be seen staring at the camera while talking to James Garner. Clark was killed while racing at Hockenheim in '68 while fulfilling a Lotus F2 commitment. There at least used to be a corner named for him there. Hill was killed in '73 I think, in a plane crash. He ws also a World Driving Champion. His son is Damon Hill, Champion racer

Do you have Grand Prix Legends, by the way? It simulates the '67 GP season. The film grand Prix uses footage from the '66 season if I recall

RichardFF
10-15-2006, 04:05 PM
I thought might be Jimmy since his name came up over and over again in the special features.

Never played that game but did look it up. Appears to be an oldy from the late 90s... does it still hold up? Have had a ton of fun with IndyCar Series and wondering about GTR 2. Would like to find an open wheel F1 game for PC like my xbox F1 2000 with feedback support for my Logitech Pro wheel.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

Freetime = The Pacific Theater on my 8' wide 16:9 screen http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
HD on the brain? Visit HD Library (http://www.hdlibrary.com)

Chuck_Older
10-15-2006, 07:19 PM
Until GTR came out, GPL was still the best, even though it's from 1998. For open wheel, it's probably the most challenging still, since there's no aero at all. I would say that today, GTR-2 is probably best, but GPL still ranks with the best driving sims available, and for open wheel, it's simply the last word in my opinion

It's a very good sim. It's a very diffrent type of sim than most players are prepared for. It's not designed to be simply hard. You will not be able to get the car around the track the first time you play. 1600 pound cars, rock hard tires, no aero, and 400 bhp

You'll need hours of practice just to string together a good enough set of laps to finish the races.

GPL is very hard to find retail now. Best bet is online. Have you tried places like RaceSimCentral?

click link:
http://forum.rscnet.org/forumdisplay.php?s=57dc1fe262e0...6798f983df2ff01&f=36 (http://forum.rscnet.org/forumdisplay.php?s=57dc1fe262e0adc6a6798f983df2ff0 1&f=36)

GPL is best judged not by the year it came out, but by what it gave sim racing then- solid physics

Grapchics-wise, well, it's not 1998 anymore! the sim community did a truly outstanding job modding the sim to update it

One catch though- you need a CPU-speed patch for it, there's an 'all-in-one' patch available. You'd have to ask folks at RSC

GPL is still going strong. Lots of things available for it- new sounds, new tracks, updated tracks, better graphcis for tracks, really beautiful new graphics for the cars

To see what GPL looks like now, here's a good link. Click one of the images at this site:

http://www.kann1sto.com/games.php?game=gpl2004

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

RichardFF
10-22-2006, 02:21 PM
I wondered if that might be Jimmy as his name came up many times during the movies special features.

I think I may have a new addiction...

Thanks for the links! Now that I have watched the movie Grand Prix the game is far more intriguing and based on the link they did a great job reproducing the car and their cockpits.

Does GTR allow open wheel racing out of the box or do I have to achieve something within the game to get that?

Thanks<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

Freetime = The Pacific Theater on my 8' wide 16:9 screen http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
HD on the brain? Visit HD Library (http://www.hdlibrary.com)